We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay In the Vineyards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay In the Vineyards”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights in Milkwood Cottage at the beginning of March and had a wonderful time. The cottage has lots of character and is extremely comfortable. It is well equipped down to the smallest detail. The staff are outstanding and extremely helpful. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
66
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here several times. A fantastic location, amazing views and great service.
Cottages are well equipped and have recently added wifi.
Bo lamotte is very good value, you'd be hard pressed to find a better self catering spot in the area. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The_foodie_police
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed in Oak Cottage. Great for a couple. Quiet, beautiful setting. Attentive staff, love the place, and the dogs. Perhaps could have done with fan in the lounge (37C). And a feather pillow? So close to Franschoek, which is really convenient. The cottage is well equipped, with everything you need. A home away from home, in every respect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Our fourth visit to Bo La Motte. We stayed at Oak Cottage again (ideal for a couple), but on previous visits with another couple we also had Milkwood and Goose cottages. All nice. The farm is about 1 km outside of Franschhoek, but we regularly walk into town and feel it is safe; we also went for early morning runs in the area. Anneke and Lindy are always very helpful and will tell you their recommendations for restaurants and wineries. One of the best meals we had was at the Art Gallery Café – a more casual setting, but the best tuna steak ever.

The cottages are all well appointed and comfortable. We appreciate the self-catering option, because we are not big breakfast eaters, and we can have lunch or dinner in when we feel like it, not to mention keeping a bottle of wine cold. The prices are more reasonable than at some of the more up-market establishments but still include daily service. And best of all, Bo La Motte now has wifi!

We will be back again next year.

Room Tip: If you need laundry doing, save it for Bo La Motte - they charge a bit for this, not very much, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annerose_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great value for money with excellent guest service tucked away on a fantastic vineyard with amazing views. Second time round & this will always be our second home away from Sweden.
It had everything to offer for our family of 5 with the City Centre in walking distance so very convenient in having that glass of wine over lunch time. Even has wi-fi so we could still be in touch with our loved ones via Apples IOS, FaceTime.
Our kids also loved the farms dogs as well as the shaded swimming pool. Wonderful owners & staff, can still smell that barbecued ostrich steaks over the barbecue with a chilled LaMotte Chardonnay overlooking the vineyards!

Room Tip: Fitness centre is a good walk/run around the estate overlooking the vineyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at the Orchard Cottage for two days. Bo La Motte farm is only a ten minute walk from the heart of Franschhoek and the Huguenoten Monument and museum.

The Orchard Cottage is a lovely renovated cottage on the edge of the domain, situated between the vineyard and the orchard. The house has all the necessary facilities but has no wifi. One bedroom was rather small, but the other two are very large.

We were welcomed by the owner and her friendly dogs. She gave us a lot of (honest) tips about restaurants, wine domains, hikes and things to see.

A lovely and quiet place on a very nice domain.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rvdorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoLa M, Owner at Bo La Motte Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thanks for your review, we value all responses as its a great way to gain feedback on our farm and cottages. With regards to the WiFi in Orchard, we have recently installed a farm wide system for all cottages except Orchard which unfortunately fell out of the scope of this system being right at the bottom of the farm. For this cottage we are having to install a separate ADSL line which we are still waiting to be installed. This is unfortunately outside our control as we are in the hands of Telkom the national Telecommunications company, we are however chasing our application daily. I'm sorry you weren't able to use it this time, but hope that if you visit us again it will be available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I am actually a bit reluctant to write this review, as this is such a hidden treasure, I wouldn't want it to become too well known! ;-)
Stayed here for the second time now, in Goose cottage, after renting Goose and Milkwood last year with our family.
Again we were welcomed as old friends, already the email- and phonecontact was very pleasant. The cottages are just lovely, very cosy with comfortable beds, good showers, fully equipped kitchens and a wonderful country decoration. A great place to come home to after a day of winetasting or other activities, be it in summer or winter. Everyday cleaning.
They each have a different feel because of their location, either in the middle of the vineyard, with a magnificent view over the mountains, overlooking the dam, or in a lovely garden with children's playground. But each of very high standard.
Anneke and Lindi are very welcoming and will assist you in any way they can. Wifi is now available in the cottages
Definitely our home away from home in Franschhoek!

Room Tip: Contact the farm to ask advice about the best cottage for your particular needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.7 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.1 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.3 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
3.7 mi away
Fransvliet Guest House
Fransvliet Guest House
#1 of 40 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bo La Motte Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo La Motte Farm Cottages

Property: Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
Address: Bo La Motte Farm | Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bo La Motte Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Middagkrans mountain and only a ten-minute walk from the beautiful village of Franschhoek, lies the historic Bo La Motte Farm, which has been returned to its 'Wine Farm' origins with the harvest being processed in the restored wine cellar. Only ten minutes walk from Franschhoek village, the gourmet centre of South Africa, Bo La Motte Wine Farm has five beautifully furnished self-catering cottages, all in their own unique settings around the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bo La Motte Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing