We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, friendly hosts and amazing value. Would return!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape Vue Guest House
Ranked #46 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning location, friendly hosts and amazing value. Would return!”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We couldn't believe what good value Cape Vue offered - we stayed in Room 4 and had stunning views, and a large terrace overlooking the pool.
Our hosts were friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts lovely. There was a communal fridge that guests were welcome to use - important after you've purchased some local wines during the day!
It's a short walk from the centre of the village, and the views of the mountains and the local vines are spectacular. We took many trips out to the local wine estates and restaurants, which were consistently wonderful - it's a really magical place.
Our room was enormous and extremely comfortable. We'd definitely come back, and highly recommend it!
We actually travelled over New Year's Eve 2010-2011. We're just late reviewing!

Room Tip: Room 4 has the best view, a large private terrace and access straight on to the lawn and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    25
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seaford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Grace and Michael will warmly receive youinto their beautiful positioned house in Franschhoek for what promises to be a peaceful stay.Fantastic views and lovely surroundings on the vineyard will make you wished you had booked in for a few more nights,yet easy walk to shops and amenities and a cool pool to refresh yourself afterwards.We loved it.
Nick and Ros Jan 2012.

Room Tip: ask for a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed in the Rose room and the guest house certainly lived up to our expectations, it's in the most beautiful setting. The garden is full of flowers and you see the mountains all around you. The pool is small but you can still swim in it, unlike some splash pools. We found it to be excellent value, there's no air con but in November with temperatures in the mid twenties we found the fan quite adequate. It's a 5 min walk into town but if you're coming back at night take a torch as it's a couple of mins on the dirt road and it's quite dark. We walked both nights but had a torch fortunately!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrspink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stumbled across this place a little by accident on Trip Advisor because it isn't listed under hotels. I'm very glad I did though as the location was stunning. It's only a few minutes walk into the town centre but feels a world away. Swimming in the pool was one of the most picture perfect moments of the trip, if not my life!
We were given a warm friendly welcome by Grace who walked us around and gave us some leaflets for local drivers, restaurants and so on. As someone else said, they don't necessarily clean the room daily, but we were asked whether we needed this and said we didn't as we were only there two nights and it seemed unecessary work for them. I'm sure if you say you want it cleaned they will do it!
Breakfast wasn't the best we had on our trip, but was perfectly adequate and served on the decking overlooking the mountains, again, beautiful.

My only disappointment was with the room outlook - most of the rooms had decking seating outside, but none of these were avaiable when we booked (two months in advance!) which was a shame, as coming from England, sitting outside in the sun was a priority!! The guesthouse's website has a good page on room details which will tell you which do and which don't have verandas - my advice would be to use this and pay the extra 50 rand for a room which has one.

Room Tip: Go onto their website and chose your room - one of the slightly more expensive ones with verandas wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozzie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Lovely accommodation close to the centre of Franschhoek. Nice big room, nice pool and lovely vineyard surroundings and very helpful and lovely hosts

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiaadamopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed here for one night only but we were so impressed by the whole experience. The location was perfect, very close to the Huguenot memorial and the lovely gardens there, within easy walking distance of the town, yet it felt as though we were way out in the country.
We received a warm welcome from Grace, who showed us the available rooms and let us choose a lovely one with a big porch/balcony overlooking the mountains then proceeded to offer us pots of tea. Breakfast was served in the large dining room which had vases of amazing fresh orchids and roses on the sideboard, we were offered fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, freshly baked pancakes and maple syrup plus a full cooked breakfast, everything was delightful and well presented and Grace was around to chat if you wanted to but was in no way intrusive.
The guesthouse has very high ceilings and the rooms are large and imposing with a traditional decor that some may find old fashioned but we found charming in this context.The bed was incredibly comfortable with crisp white linen and duvets.
We felt comfortable browsing the selection of books and leaflets dotted around the house, some people may find it cluttered but it was so right for the traditional property and really added to the experience.We were also encouraged to walk around the vineyard and garden which had lemon trees, orchids, proteas and many beautiful plants. Grace brought out cushions for the loungers by the pool in case we wanted to relax.There was a large fridge by the front door for residents use.
If you are looking for sleek modern decor then this is not for you but if you want to experience a traditional country house and hospitality then this is worth seeking out. A unique experience with amazing mountain views. Thank you Grace and Michael for sharing your home with us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheaptrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed two nights with Grace and Michael our friendly hosts, we had a great room with a private veranda overlooking to mountains
An adiquate breakfast was served outside in the shade or the sunshine, your choice
We found the swimming pool to be very welcome on a hot sunny afternoon after visiting the vineyards!
Excellent location next to the Monument

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
8.1 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#16 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#27 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
3 on Roux
3 on Roux
#44 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cottage on 55
The Cottage on 55
#38 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.6 mi away
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
#51 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Vue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Vue Guest House

Property: Cape Vue Guest House
Address: 1 Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Vue Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing