We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Vue Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape Vue Guest House
Ranked #45 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
POULTON .LANCS.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

It is several years ago now since I called at the tourist office in town and asked for a place with the best views with comfortable accommodation
Have been staying at Grace and Michaels property annually ever since .
The all round views are really spectacular .
Satellite tv and wi-fi .
Literally 200 metres from the monument and thus easy walking distance to the main street , shops etc .
A warm and friendly welcome awaits .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    25
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Plumped for Cape Vue based on previous reviews and we were not disappointed. If you like swish, ultra-modern accommodation this will not be for you, but it very much was for us. The guest house has a sense of "old school" about it, almost as if it belongs in a bygone age, and that is meant as a compliment. Grace welcomed us warmly and immediately offered us tea on the veranda where we were blown away by the setting and the surrounding views, stunning.
Our room was spotlessly clean, there is no TV in the rooms, which didn't bother us, however there is a TV in a lounge area which is available for guests to use. Private bathroom was quite small but beautifully clean and with a good shower. Room had a door out onto a veranda outside which we could use freely, bench seat available.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, and in a beautiful setting. We only stayed one night but could quite happily have stayed longer.
Grace gave us a good eating out tip for Franschhoek, Café des Arts, hidden away down a little passageway, was inexpensive, good food and a very relaxed informal atmosphere.
A tip - Cape Vue is mere minutes away from the town on foot but there is little or no lighting for most of the way once dark, so either take a torch, be prepared to drive the very short distance, or maybe just grab a taxi back. It did get VERY dark.

Room Tip: We had a veranda room which was fine for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fully1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Having stayed here for two nights I felt compelled to encourage you to do the same. Grace looks after this ex farm house meticulously, ensuring you have all the comforts you need. The setting is unbeatable, mountain views in all directions which can be appreciated from all rooms as they all have individual patios. The location is equally impressive being only 10 min walk from central Franschhoek and several wineries. Rooms are large, comfortable and airy giving the feeling of staying on a farm. The grounds offer a swimming pool for guests and ample parking. Breakfast is a bit basic but considering the amount you eat in this beautiful valley it is completely adequate.

Room Tip: We had the 'Patio room' which was quite secluded and large enough for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pulldontpush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We enjoyed the experience of staying in this spacious family farmhouse amongst fields of grapes with guinea fowl running around. It is well located close to the centre of Franschhoek near the Huguenot memorial but extremely quiet with beautiful mountain views in all directions. Grace was very helpful and kind in answering our many questions about the area. Guests have use of a fridge and there is plenty of comfortable seating both inside and out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

A great quiet place to stay with the most magnificent breakfast view I think I've ever had. Loved the hosts who were chatty and very hospitable. Room, for 4, was most comfortable and very easy access at the end of the night without disturbing others. Easy walk to town and we found a great restaurant for dinner. Dom Pedro's (recently discovered by us Aussies) all round, what a lovely drink. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in December and had a fantastic stay. The location of the guesthouse is really convenient and is a stones throw from away Franschoek. We were staying with another couple and 2 young babies and the owners of the guesthouse went out of their way to help us with the little ones.
The breakfast was fantastic, tea/coffee, yoghurt, muesli, cereals, pancakes and eggs of your choice served with bacon and toast!! All in all a wonderful place to stay, great value for money and a wonderful view make this an awesome place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ClintSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

A welcoming guest house in a great position in Franschhoek - this last weekend was my 6th stay here. The beds are comfortable, the rooms very clean, and the views from gardens are wonderful. It is easy walking distance to the main street and all the great restaurants that Franschhoek has to offer - and don't miss out on a glass of their home made lemonade.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HES664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#16 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
3 on Roux
3 on Roux
#46 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#24 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Ville Lodge
De Ville Lodge
#34 of 43 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.2 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#18 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Vue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Vue Guest House

Property: Cape Vue Guest House
Address: 1 Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Vue Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing