We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal at this well-known Franschhoek classic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haute Cabriere Restaurant

Haute Cabriere Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 75 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Franschhoek's iconic Haute Cabriere Restaurant & Terrace is well known for its unique location, set into the side of Franschhoek Mountain and overlooking the Valley. Soaring arches and the view over the cathedral-like Pinot Noir Barrel Maturation Cellar below offer an experience which is not to be missed. On sunny days, guests can enjoy the beautiful vistas over Franschhoek from the terrace, while on cool days a roaring fire creates a cosy atmosphere. Haute Cabriere's menu revolves around seasonal availability of produce, which is mostly sourced locally or even grown organically on the farm. The flavours and textures on the plate are specifically designed to complement the range of Haute Cabriere wines and Pierre Jourdan Cap Classiques - all of them served by the glass and by the bottle at cellar door prices. Bringing all of these elements together, Haute Cabriere offers the complete marriage of food and wine.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great meal at this well-known Franschhoek classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We did the Winelands Wine Tram and this was our first stop. Kids were ravenous, so it was hard to say no, especially at this unique winery where the cellar & restaurant is built into the side of the mountain. The freshly-baked bread served (with rolled butter, olive-oil/balsamic & salt) on being seated was absolutely delicious, often a good sign of great food to follow. The kids each had a half-portion of the Pork Belly and then Lamb Loin, which were both absolutely sensational. It is a fine-dining experience with prices to match at R90 for a half-portion of a main course. However the service was very attentive & snappy. The view from the few tables outside is incredible, as it spans the entire Franschhoek valley, but on this gorgeous day there was no hope for an outside table. Inside there is a huge fireplace, which makes the cellar restaurant a great place in winter. I had not been at Haute Cabriere since 1998, so it was great to see that it was still a quality experience 15yrs on!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LodgeLover888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi LodgeLover888,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for visiting. The Winelands Wine Tram is a great asset to the Franschhoek Wine Valley and naturally to us by bringing visitors to our door. We take a great deal of pride in our wine, food and staff we're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. Look forward to seeing you, and your family, in less than 15 years time!

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    150
    42
    38
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
flobie7
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience, Delicious Food, Excellent Views and Tremendous value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We ate here at the recommendation of a local and had lunch outside. it was a beautiful day and there are gorgeous views over the valley and very romantic (the only unfortunate thing is that it does overlook a main road, but you don't really notice it). We did the wine tasting first, and then went to lunch where we had champagne, four courses with paired wine (which went together PERFECTLY), and coffee and the bill was approx. £50. This is out of control good value given the quality of the food. It was one of the nicest meals that we had on our trip. We also ate at the Tasting Room and Le Petite Ferme in Franschoek and this was hands down our favourite meal. I would recommend to anyone, and will definitely come back. Fabulous. Great that we could get there on the wine tram too (which we enjoyed) so that whilst it is out of town, we didn't have to drive, walk or cycle there - great idea. A real delight.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flobie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi flobie7,
It was great to receive your tripadvisor review and very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to South Africa and Haute Cabriere sometime soon in the future to experience more of our wonderful food and wine and of course the stunning views over the Franschhoek Valley.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sensational culinary experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The presentation of every course was breathtaking, and so was every mouthful. Beautiful setting, friendly and attentive staff and excellent service. A definite must!

Compliments to the chef!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yolande P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi Yolande P,

Thank you so much for your kind words we take a great deal of pride in our food, our wine and our staff so your comments really are appreciated. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Total let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I had waited a long time to eat here and I very disappointed. Good service was spoilt by the quality of food and the presentation. I ordered rare beef as a first course. It arrived rare however the plate was so hot that by the time the explanation of what I had ordered had been given to me it had cooked itself to medium to well done. My second course was lamb, overcooked. Desert awful. Dry strawberry Swiss roll, bland ice cream, etc etc. the wine tasting experience offered here is very good but why are you charged more per bottle to drink a house wine with dinner than you buy from there own cellar. Having been asked to pay our tip in cash I have to question whether the waiting staff receive their tips. Eat at Ryan's kitchen instead.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DRWLeeds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauteCabriere, Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear DRWLeeds_UK

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are deeply sorry that you were disappointed by your meal at Haute Cabriere. Firstly we would like to assure you that as a reputable and caring organisation we naturally pay our staff their tips - in fact, apart from other benefits we even offer free daycare and tuition for the children of all our employees, because we care for our community. We apologise that you were approached about cash payment and will address this with the team.

Your comments regarding the food will be discussed with our Chef. As you know we set ourselves the highest standards and will take your input into consideration during the ongoing training and menu development process.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Well received”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

The hospitality was excellent on arrival and throughout the visit. The wine tasting was informative. We tasted a couple of wines and sparkling wines. With lunch two options were given on the menu; half or full portions. It's ideal if you do not want to overdo your meal. The food was excellent as well as the service. We did not wait long for our food to arrive.

Helpful?
Thank Renske M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hi Renske M,

Thank you for visiting and taking the time to post this review as it's always good to receive feedback. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Franschhoek Valley soon.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haute Cabriere Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Haute Cabriere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing