We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place, gracious service”
Review of La Petite Dauphine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Petite Dauphine
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming place, gracious service”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

French charm among the vineyards - this is what people visit Franschhoek for. Spacious rooms, palatial and super-clean bathrooms, extremely comfortable beds, and every comfort at your fingertips. Breakfast the next day was really great - generous and delicious. Service at both reception and in the breakfast room/cafe was warm and gracious. Not far from the centre of town and they will help you arrange transport to and from dinner at local restaurants so you don't have to worry about drink driving!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notjacobscreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    25
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
119
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

La Petite Dauphine is a beautifully kept wine estate / fruit farm conveniently located from the shops and restaurants on Franschhoek’s main street. The cottages are spacious as well as nicely decorated and well appointed, with a cosy, homely feel. We had a small balcony overlooking the gardens with plenty of privacy. We felt like we were in our own little holiday home! The breakfast at Café Bonbon is a delight. The hot chocolate is to die for! The whole place is picturesque and we enjoyed walking around the estate and taking photos. I didn’t get many occasions to interact with the service staff so I can’t really comment on the quality of service. However, the servers at breakfast and the gentleman who helped with our check out were all perfectly pleasant. Honestly I feel this place is excellent value for money. La Petite Dauphine is the perfect base to explore the nearby wine estates of Franschhoek, as well as the cute shops and gourmet restaurants in town. My only regret is that I was too busy eating, shopping and wine tasting to spend more time in the cottage!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wagamamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTown,South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We joyfully returned back to La Petite Dauphine and it did not disappoint. The Estate is looking glorious and very green. The pre-visit communication was excellent, including Dinner recommendations and bookings for New Year's Eve. We travelled with our pet who was given a special welcome. It is these touches that make Perfect Stays memorable. We stayed in one of the newer suites and it was awesome. Beautifully and subtlety decorated. Loved the Loccitane Products in the bathroom. The mini bar is well priced and a nice departure from some of the rip off prices charged in a lot of establishments. La Petite Dauphine is great for Farm Walks, Pool Lounging, Leisurely Breakfasts and Luxurious touches. In terms of location, it is in the most picturesque part of Franschooek and seriously great value for money. You get what you pay for! We felt rested after our stay and ready to tackle our next adventure.

Room Tip: We tried one of the new suites and it was awesome and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamWilcox-Diedericks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A working vineyard and orchard so there are tractors and workers and - occasionally - some noise, but we felt that added to the charm. It's not made to look like a winery, it IS one.

We were in a little cottage with a spacious bedroom, massive bathroom, and cozy sitting area with a wood fire. Outside was more sitting space both in and out of shade.

The cottages are fairly close together but we didn't see anyone else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenjbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, south Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at La Petite Dauphine for 3 days and it was fantastic in every way. The moment you enter the property you realize that everything has been done to make this establishment a cut above the rest. The grounds are immaculate, the reception warm and the cottages stylishly decorated with every single thing to make your stay special. We loved the stylish interior, comfortable beds with crisp, white linen, soft pillows and the spacious bathroom. The cottages are private and the location perfect. Breakfast at Cafe Bon Bon was a treat with homemade muesli, croissants and an interesting variety to select from for the hot breakfast. The staff were attending and friendly. Hendrik the rooster adds to the country and homely feel of the establishment. We loved this place. The owners created a getaway in the country with atmosphere and an understated luxurious lived-on look that will be hard to find elsewhere. We will be back again for the La Petite Dauphine experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I have found heaven!

Franschhoek was the last stop before heading back to reality. What trip to SA would be complete without it !

We booked at La Petite Dauphine. The room was immaculate with sophisticated touches. I loved the pillow-topped bed. And in general the whole feeling of the estate.

My partner and I are quite picky when it comes to coffee so the Nespresso machine in our suite was such a relief after the horrid sachet coffees in our previous hotel rooms.

We had lunch at the Café. It was so good we went back for dinner too!

Thank you to the owners and staff at La Petite Dauphine for making our stay so special!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ObserverOf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed in a group and took 4 rooms, average is all I can really say, the views are very pretty and the town is a must to visit.

The staff are really not that polite.

breakfast was ok, but they do not do room service BUT its a hotel ?
they have a very miserable Cockrill who needs a mate and then he would be happy or maybe he thinks its average like me.

Would I go back NO

Would I recommend it NO

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JillyB371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontvangs, Owner at La Petite Dauphine, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear “JillyB”

The most appropriate response for your malicious review is that we are not able to agree with you.

Hendrik, the cockerel, a simple farm animal also not escaping your harsh observations, merely reflects the manner in which he is approached.

We are a Country House, not a Hotel. An obvious difference for the experienced traveler.

Room service, considering the layout of our estate, is not a practical option. Food would reach our guest suites cold and unappetizing.

Surprising that you failed to mention that our staff arranged with Café BonBon to remain open past the hours of service (without prior notice)to serve a very late lunch to you and your group.

Furthermore, you had been offered to be collected from your suite and transported to the restaurant. Not the act of unfriendly staff in our opinion.

All the best to you and the any establishments yet to be reviewed.

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.3 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.6 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
522 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
12.0 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Dauphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Dauphine

Property: La Petite Dauphine
Address: Excelsior Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Petite Dauphine 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Petite Dauphine is a picturesque estate set among vineyards, olive groves and fruit orchards. The historic working fruit and wine farm has superior accommodation on offer. An archway formed by cypresses, white roses and agapanthus lines the long driveway and leads to manicured lawns and garden beds bursting with colour and fragrance. The Nine Suites are superbly decorated with views over dams, sun kissed orchards, vineyards and the breathtaking Franschhoek mountains. Guests will be pampered with soft gowns and fluffy towels, other amenities are also provided to make the stay truly comfortable. Suites are climate controlled, with under tile heating, heated towel and wood burning fireplaces for chilly winter nights. Addiitional features include complimentary WiFi, Nespresso Coffee Makers and Blu Ray DVD machines. Breakfasts are served at the Café BonBon, a 200 year-old restored wine cellar, set amongst old oak trees. The Cafe is also open for lunch and intimate dinners on selected evenings with a menu featuring seasonal ingredients. The Studio at La Petite Dauphine is the perfect location for intimate weddings the farm is able to host.Veruska's Wine Bar at La Petite Dauphine exudes a relaxed rustic ambience within exposed brick walls and offers exlusive wine tastings for neighbouring Haut Espoir Wines estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your La Petite Dauphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing