We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back to the Ivy”
Review of The Ivy Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ivy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
cape town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“back to the Ivy”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

my third visit back to the luxurious Ivy was more magical than ever! despite the pouring rain which came down in a deluge for all 4 days of our time in Franschoek, the apartment was so warm, so comfortable and so luxuriously fitted out, that there was no reason to leave it. serviced daily, self catering and a decadently comfortable sofa to watch tv on the big screen gave one no reason to have to set foot outdoors. the incredibly comfortable beds with crisply starched white bed linen and warm blankets and throws coupled with the warmest, fluffiest white bath robes meant you didnt even have to get dressed. the luxuriously elegant bathrooms with thick white towels, had all the most delicious bath accoutrements. included in the accommodation were constant surprises of the utmost convenience and no detail was overlooked. there was a nespresso machine complete with pods as well as an iphone docking station and hairdryer. there was also an international plug provided. total attention to comfort and luxury was evident. a perfect weekend getaway that i highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmollyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    86
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
145
211
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

If you ever venture to a corner of the Cape called Franschoek, make the Ivy apartments your place to stay. This is the 3rd time we have stayed here as a family and we are consistently blown away by the accommodation and service provided by Lisa, Wellington and the team.
Exceptional apartments with all you will need. Modern, up to date, beautifully appointed.
Comfort goes without saying and Fraschoek is magical.

Enough said - no faults!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philfamdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This place is a must for any traveller to stay in. It is excellent. Decor is first class. Wellington is very courteous and cannot do enough for you. Lisa is on hand is there are any issues. I would definately recomment this place to anyone travelling to South Africa. The comfort and detail in each apartment is unbelievable.

Room Tip: First Class Accomadation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karratha
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

staying here made us feel like royalty. the furnishings are outstanding and comfortable. Had the best night's sleep. Lisa was exceptional in fitting us in for our stay. should have stayed longer. the location is superb. highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinkarratha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTown,South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed in Apartment 2 on the 11th & 12th May 2012. The location is brilliant and the welcome warm, friendly and professional. The Apartments are situated within walking distance of all the important things to do in Franschhoek - so no drinking and driving after a good dinner out. The apartments are well appointed and individual - and genuinely - a home, away from home. The booking system is seamless and Lisa, Wellington and all the staff are brilliant. Our Fox Terrier travelled with us as this placed is advertised as being Pet Friendly - it really is. We always say that we will return to a great place and then never get a chance to go back or opt to try something different. This place deserves many more visits and we will be visiting again in June. Can't wait.

Room Tip: Book apartments 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamWilcox-Diedericks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I'm a bit late in writing this review as we stayed October 2011, but it was so good that it deserves a good review. Checking into the hotel was flawless. Eventhough we arrived slightly later or earlier then we said we would (I can't remember exactly) it was no problem. There was someone there to meet us at the gate and he then let us in so we could park the car. We nearly fell over when we were shown the apartment (#4), it was absolutely amazing. Everything was spotlessly clean, beautiful furnitire, very light (big windows) and makes you feel right at home. The location is perfect as you're just off the main street. The ladies who take care of the apartments were even kind enough to give us some washing powder for the washing machine. There's a very nice letter welcoming you to the apartment that gives you any kind of info you might need to entertain yourself during your stay. Would no doubt stay again if we ever return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieMark1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Central ... modern .. clean .. well designed ... these apartments are a great find in the center of Franschoek. Secure parking provided. Walk straight out to the restaurants and shops .. its on the main road. Of course the consequence of this is that it can get rather noisey.
We booked the 1 bed apartment (#4) because of the large balcony space advertised .. the outside space was rather disappointing... but it did have a large living room ... the shower room was very small.
The layout is open plan and due to the white colour theme and blinds .. dont expect a lay in .. it gets very bright early in the morning! But more time for wine tasting! ;-)
A great find and would book again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ,,,,
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Apartments

Property: The Ivy Apartments
Address: 1 Kruger Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ivy Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Apartments are a collection of 9 luxury self catering one- and two- bedroom apartments, (breakfast by prior arrangement) situated uniquely on the main strip of Franschhoek Village. The apartments are fitted with bamboo flooring, air conditioning, modern integrated appliances and every convenience you could require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Ivy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing