We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“central, clean, modern”
Review of The Ivy Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ivy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“central, clean, modern”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

if you want reasonable spacious accommodation in the centre of franschoek this is a good option. the apartments are spacious, but the finishing and the decor is pretty naff which is a shame as the style of the apartments (high ceilings etc) would welcome a really well furnished and decorated place but instead the cushions, curtains, and furniture is very plastic and the type you might find in a style bar in the 1990s. imagine black shiny cushions with cheap silver studs in it.

when we arrived the internet wasn't working, we called lisa (managing the property) twice but she didn't respond to our calls. we eventually got through to wellington who was very helpful.

great powerful showers, but curtain design not thought through as light floods in. very quiet in rooms 8 & 9 at the back of the plot.

Room Tip: 8 or 9 at back, quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    86
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
145
211
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We rented two apt's at The Ivy #1 and #3. #1 being the largest and most special. However, both were very nice and well appointed. We were 4 girls from the US and we felt very safe. They have a gated area where you can park your car securely but we always felt safe. We were only there for 2 nights but the area and the people were beautiful. Wellington, the gentleman who managed the property, was fantastic, eager to help and was always available if we needed anything at all! i would highly recommend The Ivy.

If you're in the area for wine tasting Stellenbosch has some beautiful wineries too!

-Elyssa West
Boston MA

Room Tip: #1 was the largest and had a great patio. #3 the air con didn't get all the way up to the loft a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qt314Boston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed in apartment #3 and upon entering, were amazed at the attention to detail in the furnishings and the spaciousness created by the vaulted ceiling. quite stunning. The daily service was very good and overseen by the obliging and friendly guy called Wellington. Ideal location just off the main street in the heart of Franshoek.
This was our second stay, and would definately return if visiting the wine region again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank neilsidebotham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great central location in Franschhoek. Very well equipped - included starter pack of bottled water, milk, tea, coffee and sugar. Washing machine/dryer.Secure parking and electronic gated access. Clean rooms, spacious


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

What a TREAT!!! I was lucky enough to be treated to another weekend of luxury at The Ivy Apartments in Franschoek!! The best location right off the main road whilst still harboring the tranquility & peace of this tiny town!! I absolutely love the IVY and would stay there indefinitely if my hubby would allow us too ;) What a perfect destination for couples, family & singles just looking for some alone time! I recommend these apartments to everyone & anyone!! SUPER spacious, modern contemporary décor whilst still feeling like a home away from home!! SPOIL yourselves & visit the IVY apartments in Franschoek !!! :D

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

i had the pleasure of staying at the Ivy apartments in Franschoek. The rooms are spacious and elegant and the service excellent. The location is the best in Franschoek and would highly recommend this boutique hotel for any person seeking the best Franschoek has to offer.
I cannot wait for our next return to Franschoek and our next wonderful experience at the Ivy apartments !!

Thank you for making our experience so special!

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent and spacious and of great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A really nice apartment with lots of space!

Fully equipped with kitchen, washing machine, TV, DVD, 2 bathrooms, AC, fan....

A perfect place to stay if you are visiting the wine and food paradise of Franschhoek.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgamårten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Apartments

Property: The Ivy Apartments
Address: 1 Kruger Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ivy Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Apartments are a collection of 9 luxury self catering one- and two- bedroom apartments, (breakfast by prior arrangement) situated uniquely on the main strip of Franschhoek Village. The apartments are fitted with bamboo flooring, air conditioning, modern integrated appliances and every convenience you could require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Ivy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing