We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here. That is all.”
Review of The Ivy Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ivy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stay here. That is all.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

You know when you walk into a place and go "Somehow, past me made an accidentally fantastic decision"? This happened to me when I walked in.
There is off street, covered parking (which is very important in SA) with a electric gate. The actually apartment is split into two levels, with a mezzanine floor with one bedroom, and another one below it. Decor was impeccable, there was cable TV and (importantly) a huge air-conditioner. Also a fridge stocked with chocolates and mineral water and a nespresso coffee machine. All in all, I was VERY happy.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisMikeEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    88
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
154
225
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

It was a great place to stay with short walking distance to a nice shops in Franschhoek. Above average apartment size. A/C working fine. Secured parking spot. Internet connection was very poor. Okay price level.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Beyond our expectations. Great value for money. Excellent team with a special mention for Wellington. The location is superlative with no need to take the car out as everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Montagu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a great place to stay. Just off the Main Street but nonetheless very quiet. The parking is just below the apartments and with secure entry. Caretaker on site all the time. The apartments are very well furnished and gives the freedom to come and go as you please. Given the excellent restaurants in and around Franschhoek, self catering is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

WOW! Brilliant accomodation, very well furnished and comfortable!
Very friendly staff, and were always willing to help.
Location was excellent as well.
Staying at The Ivy made out trip very memorable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nigel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

if you want reasonable spacious accommodation in the centre of franschoek this is a good option. the apartments are spacious, but the finishing and the decor is pretty naff which is a shame as the style of the apartments (high ceilings etc) would welcome a really well furnished and decorated place but instead the cushions, curtains, and furniture is very plastic and the type you might find in a style bar in the 1990s. imagine black shiny cushions with cheap silver studs in it.

when we arrived the internet wasn't working, we called lisa (managing the property) twice but she didn't respond to our calls. we eventually got through to wellington who was very helpful.

great powerful showers, but curtain design not thought through as light floods in. very quiet in rooms 8 & 9 at the back of the plot.

Room Tip: 8 or 9 at back, quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We rented two apt's at The Ivy #1 and #3. #1 being the largest and most special. However, both were very nice and well appointed. We were 4 girls from the US and we felt very safe. They have a gated area where you can park your car securely but we always felt safe. We were only there for 2 nights but the area and the people were beautiful. Wellington, the gentleman who managed the property, was fantastic, eager to help and was always available if we needed anything at all! i would highly recommend The Ivy.

If you're in the area for wine tasting Stellenbosch has some beautiful wineries too!

-Elyssa West
Boston MA

Room Tip: #1 was the largest and had a great patio. #3 the air con didn't get all the way up to the loft a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qt314Boston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 63 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Apartments

Property: The Ivy Apartments
Address: 1 Kruger Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ivy Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Apartments are a collection of 9 luxury self catering one- and two- bedroom apartments, (breakfast by prior arrangement) situated uniquely on the main strip of Franschhoek Village. The apartments are fitted with bamboo flooring, air conditioning, modern integrated appliances and every convenience you could require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ivy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing