We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So unexpected, so beautiful, so tasteful and so near to everything.”
Review of The Ivy Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ivy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Just as our title says! A little bit of EXTRA paradise in wonderful Franschoek. Attention to detail exceptional. Everything of the best and more. Could not fault it. Look forward to going back

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seapoint57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2010

I took my boyfriend away to THE IVY as a surprise birthday weekend- ~Each room was more exquisite than the next and champagne and chocolates awaiting us upon arrival!
It was just perfect -right in the hub of things in franchhoek and we could relax on the balcony and watch the buzz! Or enjoy the luxurious elegance of it all. So much so that my boyfriend surprised me a few weeks later and we enjoyed a second weekend there in our next favourite room. I highly recommend you treat your partner to a weekend here soon!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilderl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

A one night getaway in Franschhoek, 40 minutes from home in Cape Town, was extended to enjoy the full weekend away in private. A home away from home, this apartment had all the mod-cons imaginable and simply put our last evening we cozied up and watched a movie in the lounge. Facilities to cook, a champagne breakfast with lovely music in the background. Relaxing bath and a second bedroom (with separate bathroom and shower) so as not to crowd one other's space. The perfect escape.
Franschhoek can be a "hotel mill" and this was the perfect way to enjoy the freedom of the quaint village in situ.
Perfectly situated in the heart of the sleepy village, long sultry walks after dinner, the car stayed in the garage most of the weekend.
Brand new this apartment is clean, modern and very reasonably priced (no per person catch). Crisp sheets and fluffy pillows - no budget spared on all in sundry. A hidden gem. Even the lovely owner lives in one of the apartments! A personal touch.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We have been going to the Ivy Apartments since it opened last year for weekend getaways and would not stay anywhere else. If you're looking for a quiet romantic getaway or a relaxing weekend with friends, then look no further than the Ivy. The apartments are huge and decorated with impeccable taste. It literally feels like home away from home - plush beds, flat-screen tv's with satellite, self-contained kitchens with top notch appliances, designer furniture (by Moorgas & Sons), ensuite bathrooms, double volume ceilings and balconies. If you call ahead the manageress will arrange for any niceties that you require (we ordered wine and cheese which was there on arrival!). Situated in the heart of Franschhoek, the only time you'll need a car is to visit the many vineyards that produce some of South Africa's most famous wines.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We absolutely loved our stay in Franschhoek at the Franschhoek Ivy. The apartments are like a five star hotel, except they are huge, gorgeously decorated, brand new and completely self sufficient. Very tastefully decorated.

Very good service, we lacked for nothing. Highly recommend to anyone visiting the stunning town of Franschhoek in the middle of the wine heartlands.

John and Amanda Thoreaugh

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debtsettler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEIVYAPARTMENTS, Director of Sales at The Ivy Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fritzs672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEIVYAPARTMENTS, Director of Sales at The Ivy Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Apartments

Address: 1 Kruger Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: £124 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ivy Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Apartments are a collection of 9 luxury self catering one- and two- bedroom apartments, (breakfast by prior arrangement) situated uniquely on the main strip of Franschhoek Village. The apartments are fitted with bamboo flooring, air conditioning, modern integrated appliances and every convenience you could require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ivy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing