We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just stylish!”
Review of The Ivy Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ivy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just stylish!”
Reviewed 18 November 2010

What a wonderful establishment you have in Franschoek!! You were right – all the apartments ARE stunning! We felt so spoilt with the white gowns on our beds, the warmth of the heaters after a Very Wet & Cold day on our Harley Davidsons!! You cannot imagine how wonderful it was AND felt!!! Thank you very much and we will for sure, make use of Ivy Apartments as much as possible in days and years to come.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    86
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
145
211
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2010

My family & I stayed at the Ivy Apartments in Franschoek at the beginning of this month and had a wonderful time. The apartments are gorgeous and spacious. They offer one everything you would need and want. Situated in the heart of Franschoek, the Ivy is placed next door the famous Colcaccios restaurant making dining very convenient! There are plenty more great restaurants situated approximately a 3minutes walk down the road. The Ivy is perfect for couples, families or solo travelers! I definitely recommend the Ivy to anyone interested in staying in an amazing apartment, oozing style & comfort in the center of Franschoek.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ivy Apartments last weekend. Not only is Franshhoek an incredible place to visit, but the Ivy Apartments made it that much better! I HIGHLY recommend it! Not only are they as central as you want to be in the town, but they are incredibly modern, with a 'homey' touch. They are also spotless-clean with a full cleaning service as well as very spacious - more than I could have expected! If you want a special, romantic stay in Franschhoek with your partner or even a relaxing weekend with your friends and family, I truly recommend the Ivy Apartments!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

i was fortunate enought to have spent time at The Ivy apartments in Franschoek. Situated in the leafy heart of the town, a stones throw from the restaurants, shops and main road, it can only be described as utopian. Attention to the most minute detail is clearly in evidence from the creative decor to the homely touches making you feel pampered, relaxed and instantly uplifted. From the white fluffy bathrobes waiting on the exquisitely made beds to the views from the apartment, one could be forgiven for not wanting to ever set foot out the unit.
Individually decorated, each unit has its own particular style, all are modern thoroughly beautiful and very romantic.
we cant wait to return and in fact have already made arrangements to do so.
The perfect getaway from bustling city life, its reassuring to know that its just a mere 40 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmollyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We've stayed at the Ivy twice and both times we could not of been happier with our choice of stay, The apartments are exquisitely decorated and the owners have considered every luxury. The apartments are in the centre of Franschoek with all the excellent restaurants on your doorstep.
I would highly recommend The Ivy to anyone visiting the beautiful town of Franschoek!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2010

what an absolutely awesome weekend we had..... The Ivy has left us with an awesome memory of Franschhoek, ... been so conveniently situated... parked the car and walked wherever possible.
we enjoyed every moment that we spent indoors and on the glorious little balcony, hopefully making many others, in the street, jealous and inquisitive!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed at the Ivy for two nights initially on our arival in Cape Town. All I can say is, thank goodness we did. In fact it was so good, we stayed there again pre departure from Cape Town.
I would like to thank Lisa, Wellington and in fact all the staff at the Ivy for making our stay so pleasant and extremely comfortable.
The apartments themselves are wonderfully kitted out with all the ammenities you can think of. Awesome rooms, beds and linen. Lovely bathrooms and all done extremely tastefully. For the same price as a manky hotel room in the city you can get a two bedroom apartment in one of the most fantastic places on earth.

Being a bit fussy as to where we stay, we were not in the least disappointed. With anything in fact. My simple advice is just go and see for yourself....now!

Stop reading this and go, .......now! Go on.....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philfamdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Apartments

Property: The Ivy Apartments
Address: 1 Kruger Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ivy Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Apartments are a collection of 9 luxury self catering one- and two- bedroom apartments, (breakfast by prior arrangement) situated uniquely on the main strip of Franschhoek Village. The apartments are fitted with bamboo flooring, air conditioning, modern integrated appliances and every convenience you could require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Ivy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing