We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place”
Review of Franschhoek Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Franschhoek Manor
Ranked #4 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This place is truly amazing, accommodation spacious, gardens exquisite, large swimming pool, my husband and I could not fault this place, we will certainly be going back next year.

The hospitality was very friendly, Wolfgang and Christina were very helpful and Wolfgang cooked a lovely breakfast. The view from the rooms and gardens was truly stunning, gardens huge and there is also another swimming pool with self catering accommodation.

Room Tip: All rooms of good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debandbob16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    19
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
34
277
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our southern African holiday. had a superior room- it was enourmous. Big comfortable four poster bed. Zebra skin on the floor. Large bathroom with plenty of amenities. The gardens are amazing and immaculate. Super pool too. Excellently prepared breakfasts which you can have on a patio by your room. The staff are all helpful and friendly. One of the best places I have ever stayed in.
It is a 15 mijute walk to the town so its better to have a car when you go out for your evening meal

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviddocklands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in March. This was our 5th visit to Franschhoek and definitely our best, which was made special by our stay at the Manor. A very special place in a very special setting. The hosts Wolfgang and Christiana were very welcoming, and we were very impressed with the attention to detail to everything. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedalpower H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

What an absolutely fantastic gem. It's the perfect combination of comfort and sophistication. The Purple Room is not as small as you may think and is actually quite large. The whole house is beautifully decorated, the gardens impeccably well kept, the views breathtaking and the service first class.

Christina and Wolfgang are the perfect hosts and we were welcomed from the moment we stepped out of the car. Breakfast each morning was magnificent. We will definitely go again and stay longer. Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlexDClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranschhoekManor, General Manager at Franschhoek Manor, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Alex,
thanks for your review, it was a pleasure to accommodate you here. You are right, the Purple Room is not as small as someone may think but frankly, it is the smallest of our rooms.
We would love to have you back again soon.
Best Regards
Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I'm just back this morning from South Africa and I wanted to make sure that I gave Franschhoek Manor the wonderful review it deserves, as soon as possible. When someone has put this much effort into creating a magical place then they deserve all the success they get. The owners have taken a beautiful Manor House within a stunning setting and turned it into the most perfect place to relax and enjoy. I won't repeat all the plaudits from previous reviewers, just go and experience the place for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranschhoekManor, General Manager at Franschhoek Manor, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
It is my need to comment this review immediately as most probably non of the previous reviews was given faster than your one. Thank you very much for this.
All the best to you.
Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This was the final stop for my husband and I during our tour of South Africa and we were both very impressed with Franschhoek Manor. The location is wonderful, the house is beautiful and gardens are just stunning. If you ever get a chance to stay in Franschhoek, make sure you try to stay here! Christina and Wolfgang were great hosts and went out of their way to help us settle in. They also offered us great restaurant tips and gave us good idea's for the wine tour. We definitely plan to return here soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndseyMc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranschhoekManor, General Manager at Franschhoek Manor, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Lyndsay,
thanks for your review, it was a pleasure to accommodate you here. We would love to have you back again soon and I promise, with some new restaurants tips.
Best Regards
Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We loved our stay at Franschhoek Manor. The gardens, buildings and pool are absolutely stunning - postcard-beautiful! We stayed for two days and found everything so relaxing. The owners are so hospitable and friendly: they helped us book restaurants and made some suggestions for the area. Our room was huge, pretty and modern. Everything in the guesthouse is very well looked after and you can tell the owners take enormous pride and attention to detail to everything: from the gardens to breakfast, which is served on the patio. My one comment would be that the room we had wasn't that private as it was next to the patio - but that could be fixed by closing the curtains.

Other that that, it's a true oasis - if you get a chance to stay in Franschhoek overnight, stay there :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starfruitsalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranschhoekManor, General Manager at Franschhoek Manor, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for writing this review. We always appreciate comments when confirming our efforts in order to make everything comfortable for our guest.
Thanks again
Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Manor

Property: Franschhoek Manor
Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Franschhoek Manor is a heaven of tranquility for all those looking for some rest and peace in luxurious surroundings with discreet service. We are not a hotel but a private Guest House five bedrooms and a Cottage to ensure top privacy for everybody. The Cape Dutch style Manor House in the form of an E is set amidst 7000 square meters of landscaped gardens with numerous intimate sitting areas and river frontage. It is located about 12 minutes walking distance of the village of Franschhoek and has lovely mountain views. Franschhoek Manor is eclectically luxuriously furnished with great attention to detail, service is discreet, and breakfast is sumptuous. It is served in the dining room. In warm weather, guest may also have breakfast on the main terrace overlooking the main garden. Our gardens are done in different colour schemes with 2 swimming pools, two gazebos, a trellises walkway and about 10 different sitting areas, some of them overlooking the river.A free shuttle service is available at 7pm or 8pm to restaurants within Franschhoek. For your free return we ask to call the service 20min. ahead! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Franschhoek Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing