We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and relaxed stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Ranked #10 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxed stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

My family and I stayed here just recently, and really enjoyed this lovely B&B. We have been traveling though different parts of Capetown and staying at different B&Bs every night. I must say that Klein Waterval was the best accommodation we stayed at. Location wise, it's convenient to the wineyards, the Franschhoek Motor Museum, and the Franschhoek town, less than a 10min drive. The accommodation was very charming with their Cape Dutch architecture and lovely rustic and warm decor. Great pool access and balconies you can sit and enjoy the beautiful landscape of the vineyards, fruit trees and mountains. The rooms were very clean and very comfortable beds and a quiet outdoors resulted in a very good night's sleep. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable with restaurant recommendations. Their breakfast was delicious as well. I would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    120
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
211
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Lovely laid back atmosphere. Lovely people, very traditional accom with balconies with fab views over vineyards towards the mountains and a lovely pool. Just a short drive from Franschhoek and opposite Graham Beck Wines which is well worth a visit.
No complains, very good value for money. Highly recommended for the price and category.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, Berks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed here in Dec with my partner and we both thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff are warm and friendly, breakfast is very good and very relaxed. The view from our room was quite simply spectacular and we were lucky enough to enjoy the pool all to ourselves one afternoon. The location is a wee bit out of town but perfect for peace and quiet and its just one straight road into Franschoek. Would definintely return and would gladly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank restaurantlover52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Thank you for a wonderful stay! Breakfast was delicious. Views to die for and very good location for our needs. Suites were spacious and comfortable with lovely linen and towels.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaWil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

A beautiful setting overlooking a secluded vineyard with the mountain in the back. We stayed there with another couple during a weekend getaway with friends.

The main dutch-farmhouse type building has three rooms and two other rooms attached like an annex, which is where we stayed. Those rooms were cosy but quite simple; probably the rooms in the main building are nicer (they have high thatched ceilings). However all rooms look out directly onto the vineyard – spectacular in the morning when the mists rise, and the sunset – as well as having an extra back entrance to the courtyard behind where in the summers the pool is open.

The breakfast was a bit disappointing: just your standard b&b fare; nothing spectacular. We would have loved some local touches like local cheese or nice jams (after all, Franschhoek is the culinary capital of SA, and one wonders why the owners didn’t take advantage of this).

However, the dining room is part of a standalone building that also includes a fireplace lounge and an unmanned and well stocked honesty bar – open all night. This was fun if you are travelling with a group of friends because after dinner you can hang out by the roaring fire like it’s your own living room (we had it all to ourselves both nights as south Africans like to go to bed super early) and mix your own crazy drinks. The host Trevor was super hands off (maybe a little too hands off!) and you could do as you like.

Overall a pleasant stay in a spectacular setting, perfect for what we did, but perhaps not as luxurious/fabulous as the brochure and some of the other reviews make out. Undoubtedly, it must be incredible in the summer, but then there are surely no special rates like the ones we paid (350 rand pp pn) :(

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Although we were the only guests at the hotel because it was winter we were treated very well. We arrived late and were shown to our bungalow room overlooking the beautiful Franschoek mountains. We drove into the town which was quite dead at 8pm but had a sumptious meal at Reubens in the town which was excellent and original. Enza the manageress could not have been more helpful to us the next morning as she recommended a place we could stay near Hermanus to see the whales which was stunning. The hotel is simple, clean and well situated. It is near the Solms Delta farm which is really interesting to visit as it is a cooperative venture with an interesting museum giving the history of the farm and its inhabitants. Klein Waterval is a great place to explore this exsquisite area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We celebrated our friends 40th birthday at the Klein Waterval Lodge and I was very impressed with the level of service - Ezna you are a star - and the hospitality on offer.

We thoroughly enjoyed the open fire that was provided and well stocked as well as the honesty bar. Furthermore the full farmers breakfast in the morning was a treat.

The lodge is beautifully located wirh great views and only a few kilometres outside of Franschhoek and very reasonably priced. The rooms are not the most modern ones but very spacious and practical.

Thumbs up for a great experience from a fellow guesthouse owner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GertLInssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
6.6 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
5.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
6.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
6.0 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge

Property: Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Address: R45 | Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7680, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Franschhoek Valley on the banks of the Berg River, surrounded by vineyards and dramatic mountain views, Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge offers friendly country hospitality in a relaxed farm atmosphere. Comfortable double bedrooms, each with their own entrance and private terrace, overlook tranquil gardens and vineyards. A delicious wholesome farm breakfast is served, and for dinner, nearby Franschhoek buzzes with bistros and restaurants. Enjoy the magnificent swimming pool or unwind on the peaceful deck alongside the stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing