We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic setting to explore Franschhoek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Ranked #12 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic setting to explore Franschhoek”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Kleinwaterval was recommended to us by a friend for our honeymoon and we found it an extremely romantic, comfortable and reasonably priced place to stay for our two nights in Franschhoek.
Ezna who ran it could not have been more helpful, rearranging and booking taxis and restaurants for us (we went to the Grand Provence and Le Bon Vivant and both were excellent), she really made our stay there relaxing and ensured that we maximize our time in the area.
The rooms were comfortable in a beautiful setting, with a pool to relax by when it gets hot. Excellent breakfasts as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Robert,

That is all that we want...such special memories to take back home!
Glad you had a fantastic stay!
All the best for the two you!

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    122
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
217
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Nothing is too much trouble for the Guys running this place. Recommendations, booking tables and just general great advice on what to do whilst in Fraschoek. Great breakfast and honesty bar both nice touches as was the superb pool and the lovely Arti and T(jack Russell's). Can't wait to go back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Dan,

Thank you very much for your excellent review!
It simply says everything in a short description!
So glad you enjoyed the doggies.
Can't wait to welcome you back with us.

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in Klein Waterval during our two days in Frankschoek and enjoyed it a lot. The location is extraordinary - slightly outside the village and right within the vineyards - stunning! Our room was right at the end of the buildings in dutch style with high ceilings and traditionally furnished. Everything was tidy, breakfast was good and with variety. Ezna is really lovely!
We found Klein Waterval a really good spot with good value for money - as Franschoek definitely is generally high priced...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Christine,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on TripAdvisor.
And pointing out all the facts that are so important to us.
I’m very happy that you had a wonderful stay with us!

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spent two nights in Klein Waterval. Absolutely lovely setting, amazing views of the vineyards and mountains from our rooms. Perfect place to lay our heads after exploring Franschhoek and the winelands.

Home cooked yummy breakfast was served on the terrace by the stream, which was a lovely way to start the day. Esna was so welcoming and helpful with finding us places to have lunch and dinner, which made the stay all the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: We wanted to ensure we had lovely views so requested it in advance, we weren't disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Helen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a good review!
Klein Waterval's priority is to provide excellent service, homely and comfortable guestrooms with stunning views and I'm so happy that you appreciated all of it!
All the best to both of you in Dubai!

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was our first accommodation in South Africa, and it was amazing, to say the least. The rooms were beautiful and clean. Breakfast was made fresh to order every morning and there were plenty of options. Also the hospitality was fabulous!! Esna was amazing and provided us with tips on good restaurants in town, things to do and see - also called tour companies and restaurants for us to make reservations and book tickets. As tourists totally new to the area, this was a huge help in planning our few days in Franschooek - she made it easy and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Sarah,

What a special review!
Thank you so much!
I'm so happy that you enjoyed the restaurants, wine tram and vineyards so much!
Your selection of restaurants were great! And everything worked out so well for you.
Hope to see you soon again!

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anapolis, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I went with friends, but would be a wonderful place for honeymoon!!!
Wonderful place, view of the mountains, rooms, breakfast and specially the people that works there are so kind !!! It's better to arrive first there, because they have advices!


  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kenia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Kenia,

Thank you very much for your excellent review!
Such a pleasure if guests return home with such special memories.
Would love to have you back here with us!

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Only spent one night at the Klein Waterval Lodge but it was a very pleasant stay. Beautiful scenery overlooking the vineyard, pleasant and cheerful service and a nice swimming pool (though it was too cold for us to swim. However you will need to drive the 10 Ks to town for dinner and drinks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Valentina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Valentina,

Thank you very for your time to write such a good review.
I'm very glad that you had a cheerful, happy and pleasant stay!
Hope you had a fantastic holiday.

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
5.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
6.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
6.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
7.0 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
5.6 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#4 of 63 in Franschhoek
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge

Property: Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Address: R45 | Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Franschhoek Valley on the banks of the Berg River, surrounded by vineyards and dramatic mountain views, Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge offers friendly country hospitality in a relaxed farm atmosphere. Comfortable double bedrooms, each with their own entrance and private terrace, overlook tranquil gardens and vineyards. A delicious wholesome farm breakfast is served, and for dinner, nearby Franschhoek buzzes with bistros and restaurants. Enjoy the magnificent swimming pool or unwind on the peaceful deck alongside the stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing