We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Ranked #12 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A beautiful, quaint little spot just outside of town. Perfectly situated for access to all the farms. Very lovely people running the place- great service! Basic amenities, but perfect for a lovely little weekend getaway. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bronibron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a special review.
It is much appreciated.
So happy that your loved it.
And thank you for mentioning Klein Waterval's delicious breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

we found it to be great value for money, with friendly attendance, excellent views and atmosphere.
so peaceful that we felt sorry to have to leave. the people could not have been more accommodating to satisfy our needs and requests. the only thing missing was a bar fridge, but a solution was found and we happy.
very recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuiFragoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Rui,

The photos that you've added are so professional and special!
Thank you so much for adding the photos to our page and taking the time to writesuch a good review.
It is much appreciated.

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

It felt like the farm was our second home. The property is beautiful and surrounded by scenic views. The staff are wonderful and extremely helpful. The breakfasts were great. A wide range of activities and tourist sites are a short drive away. A great place for a relaxing romantic honeymoon in the cape. I highly recommend Klein Waterval.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Andre,

We are missing you already!!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a good review.
It is much appreciated.
Glad you had such a good honeymoon in the Cape!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Kleinwaterval was recommended to us by a friend for our honeymoon and we found it an extremely romantic, comfortable and reasonably priced place to stay for our two nights in Franschhoek.
Ezna who ran it could not have been more helpful, rearranging and booking taxis and restaurants for us (we went to the Grand Provence and Le Bon Vivant and both were excellent), she really made our stay there relaxing and ensured that we maximize our time in the area.
The rooms were comfortable in a beautiful setting, with a pool to relax by when it gets hot. Excellent breakfasts as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Robert,

That is all that we want...such special memories to take back home!
Glad you had a fantastic stay!
All the best for the two you!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Nothing is too much trouble for the Guys running this place. Recommendations, booking tables and just general great advice on what to do whilst in Fraschoek. Great breakfast and honesty bar both nice touches as was the superb pool and the lovely Arti and T(jack Russell's). Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Dan,

Thank you very much for your excellent review!
It simply says everything in a short description!
So glad you enjoyed the doggies.
Can't wait to welcome you back with us.

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in Klein Waterval during our two days in Frankschoek and enjoyed it a lot. The location is extraordinary - slightly outside the village and right within the vineyards - stunning! Our room was right at the end of the buildings in dutch style with high ceilings and traditionally furnished. Everything was tidy, breakfast was good and with variety. Ezna is really lovely!
We found Klein Waterval a really good spot with good value for money - as Franschoek definitely is generally high priced...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Christine,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on TripAdvisor.
And pointing out all the facts that are so important to us.
I’m very happy that you had a wonderful stay with us!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spent two nights in Klein Waterval. Absolutely lovely setting, amazing views of the vineyards and mountains from our rooms. Perfect place to lay our heads after exploring Franschhoek and the winelands.

Home cooked yummy breakfast was served on the terrace by the stream, which was a lovely way to start the day. Esna was so welcoming and helpful with finding us places to have lunch and dinner, which made the stay all the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: We wanted to ensure we had lovely views so requested it in advance, we weren't disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Helen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a good review!
Klein Waterval's priority is to provide excellent service, homely and comfortable guestrooms with stunning views and I'm so happy that you appreciated all of it!
All the best to both of you in Dubai!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
6.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 12 in Franschhoek
733 reviews
6.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 12 in Franschhoek
201 reviews
6.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#9 of 65 in Franschhoek
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
5.9 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#1 of 65 in Franschhoek
147 reviews
6.7 mi away
La Cabriere Country House
La Cabriere Country House
#10 of 65 in Franschhoek
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge

Address: R45 | Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £97 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Franschhoek Valley on the banks of the Berg River, surrounded by vineyards and dramatic mountain views, Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge offers friendly country hospitality in a relaxed farm atmosphere. Comfortable double bedrooms, each with their own entrance and private terrace, overlook tranquil gardens and vineyards. A delicious wholesome farm breakfast is served, and for dinner, nearby Franschhoek buzzes with bistros and restaurants. Enjoy the magnificent swimming pool or unwind on the peaceful deck alongside the stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing