We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Ranked #10 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I thought the customer service offered was excellent. A very rustic lodge if not a little tired in places. Would not like to stay in the very hot summer months with no air conditioning. Also further out from Franschoek than first thought meaning car was required as local taxis/transfers are very hard to find. Would certainly stay again if only for the great service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Stephen,

Thank you very much for the review on TripAdvisor.
I’m so glad that you mentioned our customer service. This is Klein Waterval 1st priority.
There are a few areas that need attention at the guesthouse that is why maintenance will be done this winter. 6 of our 12 rooms are thatched; I can highly recommend these rooms in summer if it is too hot. Summer evenings are nice and cool and the ceiling fan creates just the perfect temperature. We would love to have you here with us again and offer you one of our thatched rooms overlooking the Franschhoek mountains and vineyards.

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    120
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
212
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naarden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Beautiful scenery , lovely cosy rooms, great location near top restaurants and wineries. Very friendly staff and lovely full english breakfast. Been here many times and just keep going back. Absolutely worth the stay. Good price for what you get.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Winnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Winnie,

It was so good to have you back here with us!
Thank you so much for the excellent and special review.
It is much appreciated.
See you soon!

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed at Klein Waterval for one night and didn't have much time to explore the property. The room I stayed in was clean and pleasant enough, however nothing exceptional and quite small. The bed was comfortable (double) with clean sheets. Basic amenities were provided and the room had a small tv. Doors led out to a small balcony overlooking the river, which I'm sure would make a pleasant spot for sundowners.

One thing I found very surprising is that there is no wifi in the rooms, although complimentary wifi was available in the breakfast area. Nowadays wifi internet is an essential tool for travelers, and I have come to expect it to be available in my room.

One aspect did detract from my short stay - and that was the close proximity of the accommodation to a busy main road. The traffic noise was not intrusive at night, however it was very noticeable from early the following morning. Since I live in a big noisy city, when I escape to the countryside I want to get away from the noise as much as possible - for a short stay it was ok but if I were looking to unwind I would want to stay somewhere quieter. It is possible some of the other rooms are better positioned facing away from the road, and I am very noise sensitive so others might not find this an issue.

Breakfast in the morning was good, with the usual cereals, cold meats and cheese etc. Eggs, sausage etc were made to order and served with toast and coffee and were delicious. Service was attentive and the breakfast / sitting area had a nice atmosphere.

Overall Klein Watervall met my needs and offered reasonable value. However, I did feel it lacked that extra attention to detail that I have experienced at other lodgings in the spectacular Franschoek valley.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letswingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor, your time and effort is much appreciated.
Check in procedure is very important to us at Klein Waterval. We like to do it thoroughly, giving advice of what to do and which restaurants and vineyards are good. It makes it difficult if we are pressed for time, I couldn’t show you our big, well secluded swimming pool, bar area with the veranda outside where guests can have sun downers.
The less expensive, smaller rooms are closer to Route 45. These rooms all have 24 inch flat screen TV's and fit perfectly to the decoration of the room. 90% of our guests are overseas, leisure guests whose priority is not to watch TV but rather enjoy the beautiful views, quietness and peaceful surroundings. That is why we didn't feel Wi-Fi is necessary in our guestrooms, (but definitely something we have to look at in the near future.) We have a strong and good coverage in our reception, breakfast area, bar and lounge area. It gives us the opportunity to get to know our guests and assist them with any other further enquiries.
To avoid disappointment please read carefully our information on Booking.com/Expedia before confirming a booking. Our room size, TV size and position, and distance from Franschhoek are mentioned under information.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback, we always like to improve on our standard and satisfy most of our guests.

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I found the lodge clean, neat and tidy. Ezna was very kind and caring and helped make our stay really memorable. We would stay there again without the slightest hesitation. Somehow it feels like home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ekow D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Ekow,

Thank you very much for the excellent review.
So glad that you've mentioned that it feels like home, that is exactly what we trying to do.
Looking forward having both of you here with us again!

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were very impressed with Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge as a bed and breakfast. The farm setting was something different and good for the mind and soul. The rooms, breakfast and service were first class.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annamarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you very much Annamarie, this is a very very special review!!

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Driving into Klein Waterval and being met by Ezna was our first introduction. She booked us into a restaurant in Franschoek before we had even been allocated our rooms.She was on leave for the rest of our stay ,but Tevor, the owner was an able assistant
The rooms were lovely with spectacular views of the mountains.Trevor's restaurant recommendations were spot on and his breakfasts were delicious.
I would recommend anyone doing the wine route to stay here.

Room Tip: Overlooking the mountains. The ones above the swimming pool dont have as good a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Martin,

Thank you very much for the review on TripAdvisor.
It is much appreciated.
I'm glad that you had a fantastic stay with beautiful views of the mountains and good breakfasts.
Hope to see you in the near future again!

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broek Op Langedijk, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Already for fourteen year, it feels like coming home. Great people who are paying a lot of attention to their guests. The KWR Lodge is located in a beautiful area, from where you easily can make a lot of (daily) roundtrips.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret & Egbe... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dearest Egbert and Margaret,

It still feels like you've left yesterday!
Missing your company breakfast times and in the afternoon before closing time!!!
Thank you so much for the excellent review on TripAdvisor!
You are already like family to all of us at the guest house, but this time it was just more special.
All the best to you for the rest of the year and....can't wait for your next visit!!!!!

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
6.6 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
5.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
6.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
6.0 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge

Property: Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Address: R45 | Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7680, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Franschhoek Valley on the banks of the Berg River, surrounded by vineyards and dramatic mountain views, Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge offers friendly country hospitality in a relaxed farm atmosphere. Comfortable double bedrooms, each with their own entrance and private terrace, overlook tranquil gardens and vineyards. A delicious wholesome farm breakfast is served, and for dinner, nearby Franschhoek buzzes with bistros and restaurants. Enjoy the magnificent swimming pool or unwind on the peaceful deck alongside the stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing