We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
Ranked #51 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Somerset West
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We had such a amazing stay. Alta and her husband are more than accommodating and it felt like we were at a home away from home.The price is fantastic and so affordable and it is situated in the peftect part of town. Thank you so much again

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbivanzyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

A friend and I just stayed here in November 2009 - it was such a find! The location is amazing right in the heart of the town and the owners are so friendly - they went above and beyond to help us and this was such a value for Franschhoek. Would highly recommend this.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alrdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Really enjoyed my stay. Alta and her husband were really helpful and teh B&B is walking distance to all resturants. No frills but enjoyable stay.

I would recommend it

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamanshul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

I think this place is truly a hidden gem, can't believe I am the first to review. It is a guest house with 2 rooms. One has private entrance, both with private baths. Decor is very nice - dutch farmhouse type style. And decor of second room is very modern. The owners are wonderful people, so welcoming and helpful. And our favorite part (aside from the inexpensive price) was the great location - it is just one block off Franschoek's main street with all the restaurants. So after a day of wine tasting it is great to just walk downtown. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, cute place to stay in the wine region without paying a lot of money this is the place for you! Also there is secure parking. We booked it at: http://www.hostelworld.com/hosteldetails.php/22-Van-Wijk-Street-Accommodation/Franschhoek/37670
But don't be alarmed - it is truly NOT a hostel. It is a guest house but at hostel prices. Perfect!
(Note: the in keeper told me she was not too familiar with Travelocity perhaps because they do not get too many Americans. But if you stay there and enjoy it please do leave a review for their sake!!)

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ACMC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Ballon Rouge
Le Ballon Rouge
#20 of 63 in Franschhoek
304 reviews
8.5 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#14 of 63 in Franschhoek
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 63 in Franschhoek
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Franschhoek Travellers' Lodge & Group Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Mont d'Or Franschhoek
Mont d'Or Franschhoek
#37 of 63 in Franschhoek
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Alouette
Auberge Alouette
#47 of 63 in Franschhoek
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms

Property: 22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
Address: 22 van Wijk Street, Franschhoek, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUALITY AT A BUDGET ACCOMMODATION IN FRANSCHHOEK:Four lovely rooms in a pre 1910 house right in the centre of the town, walking distance from all amenities.We have a basic room (Verandah) with a double bed, toilet, bidet, basin and shower in the room. We have a standard room (Passage Room) with a double bed, shower, basin and toilet en-suite. We have a Luxury room with a kingsize bed which can be made into two single beds if you wish with a large complete bathroom consisting of bath, double basins, bidet, toilet and large shower en-suite. We also have a family room for bigger groups or single travelers or those who do not wish to share a double bed. This section of the house consists of a room with a king or two single beds and two single beds in the adjoining lounge. The room has a shower, double basin, bidet & toilet en-suite. This section can be booked by 3/4 people provided they are prepared to share the bathroom. One person may book a single bed and will not be expected to share with anyone else.Your Hosts Addey & Alta Malherbe would like to invite you to the Food and Wine capital of the Cape Winelands in South Africa. A town made for wine tasting, eating, hiking, cycling, walks, sightseeing, etc. NB This is not a B&B and not self-catering,Situated in the center of the town, 1-minute walking distance from the main center of town, shops and restaurants. Easy access to private entrances. Secure parking.No smoking allowed in the rooms. Cash/ Electronic Fund Transfer or "peble" credit card payments. ATM's available just around the corner from us. A complimentary breakfast snack consisting of a muffin and coffee/tea is included in the room rate together with tea and coffee.Great South African Hospitality by Addey and Alta, your hosts! IN:14:00 - OUT:10:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing