We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Homely Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3 on Roux

3 on Roux
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
3 on Roux
Ranked #48 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Homely Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was a real gem to find in Franschhoek. Previous experience has lead me to expect rooms one can't swing a cat in, and standard breakfasts. This was a pleasant surprise. Warm hosting, very generous room space, very clean and an ample breakfast left us feeling looked after and special. It is well within walking distance of down-town Franschhoek, and we found the whole experience positive and exactly what we needed. On our next visit, we will definitely give them first option. Nothing was too much trouble for our host, and the huge, soft beds were a welcome sanctuary after a day's assault on the surrounding estates and eateries!

Room Tip: There are two rooms and both are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamNoelDobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bonn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed with Mercia and Wessel for two nights and felt right at home. They are extremely nice and welcoming. I've had the pleasure of "residing" in the large room, which was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and made me feel like a princess. I hope I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinchenBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Friendly and helpful hostess. A large airy bright room. Spotless. China tea cups with endless home made cookies. B&B is situated in the suburbs but only a 2 minute drive to town. Very quiet. Stairs are a bit steep for elderly folk but otherwise great. We would stay there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaillac, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Lovely hostess, lovely room, lovely location, great value for money. Need we say more?
OK, we will. WiFi in room. Easy walk to restaurants and wine tram. If you're looking for simplicity and quality just go there. The owner makes her own muesli by the way. Ian and Viviane, France.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a great B&B with a wonderful host. The room is large, super clean with great views over the mountain and very quiet (we had the one two the left - there are only two rooms overall). It felt like a home right away. Breakfast was very nice and plenty. Free WIFI is available. It's an easy 10min walk to the main road of Franschoek (safe at night). I can only highly recommend that place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian_R_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best accommodation establishments we have ever stayed at. The room was large, neat & comfortable. Our host was very attentive and went out of her way to make us feel at home. Room has ALL DSTV channels. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bokkie-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Absolutely perfect! Warmly welcomed by Mercia and Wessel on a last-minute booking while we were enroute to Franschoek. Fantastic room: spacious, sparkling and well-appointed and oh so comfortable. All this and a scrumptious breakfast the next morning for a fabulous price. A real gem of a place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank two_crazy_africans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
0.0 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#12 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cottage on 55
The Cottage on 55
#37 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Ville Lodge
De Ville Lodge
#34 of 43 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Olivos at the Yard
Los Olivos at the Yard
#20 of 43 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 on Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 on Roux

Property: 3 on Roux
Address: 3 Roux Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 3 on Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing