We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Galiniere Guest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good price and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We arrived and were let through the gate and parked up. There were three large alsatians bouncing around - we're dog people so it wan't a problem but a warning would have been a nice touch, you never know if a dog is unfriendly or not.

We were let into the Cabernet cottage once the manager arrived, inside was cosy, the kitchen and bathroom were well stocked if a little dated, but the bedroom and lounge were great. A box of matches/lighter to light the little wood burner would have been handy.

The best part for me aside from the price was the location, set in a miniature wine farm surrounded by the mountains around Franschhoek. It was vey wet when we arrived but it was great to wake up the morning after with that view outside. The only negative I have about the cottage was that it felt a bit 'around the back', it's set back behind the others and feels a bit shunned and in the shade. The land around the side of the property needs a bit of TLC.

Don't let this put you off though, a great little option if you're on a small-medium budget.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    59
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We came late by car at half past nine. Had prepaid the hotel. Nobody was there to open the gate. Had to go to the nearest rest to get help. After an hour they got the key and could let us in.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thequeenStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGaliniere, Owner at La Galiniere Guest Cottages, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
La Galiniere Guest Cottages is not a hotel. It is our home, which is why we ask guests to check in between 2pm and 5pm, or at least let us know if they plan on arriving late. If we know when guests plan on arriving, we can ensure we are there to welcome them. We cannot physically be at home 24 hours a day, and with only three cottages, it is impractical to hire staff around the clock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed at the Cabernet cottage and we enjoyed our stay very much. You get what you pay for. La Galiniere is rated three star and that is fair. We have slept in four star hotels that are not up to the standard we met at La Galiniere.
The cottage was fresh and well cleaned. Very cosy indeed. Kitchen was small but it served its purpose. Bedroom and bed was good and the living room/lounge made us fall asleep in the sofas a couple of times. The bathroom was also nice.
La Galiniere must be one of the most affordable places to stay at in the Franschhoek region.
The three dogs were no problem at all. The dogs made the cottage and its surroundings even more cosy and they are very kind. If you tell them to back off they do so, for example when you having a snack outside:).
The pool and the suchairs is a nice touch as well.
The drawbacks were the mosquitos that bothered us at night and that the bedroom was hot some nights. There is a big fan that we used, but it is noisy. We put the fan in the hall and directed the air into the bedroom and it worked out fine.
The distance to the restaurants and shops in town are walkable, but if you go when the sun is still up be prepared to be sweaty. It takes roughly 15-20 min if you walk in a normal pace.
We really recommend to hire bicycles and explore the wineries. Also to do a visit to the wineries on horseback is very nice experience. Outstanding sceneries overlooking Franschhoek.
The Allora restaurant nearby surprised us. Really good food and service. Recommended!
Overall we were indeed satisfied with our stay and will surely recommend La Galiniere to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swede-Johansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Very clean and welcoming. Nice touch with the gift of home produced wine. Cottage well appointed. Perfect for visiting the Franschoek wineries......Lunch at Boschendal is still a treat!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulburchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

These cottages are on a picturesk vineyard in Franschhoek and close to all the attractions on this amazing town. The stay was cheap and the owners were very helpful and friendly. I would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wez-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Wife and I stayed here for a night. Owner was really friendly to us, even lending us her personal DVDs and her WiFi connection! House was clean, which was important to us. Overall, good value self-catering choice.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nemanjavidic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The dogs were lovely, it had a bed and a shower. Well equipped kitchen which was no use in Franschhoek which you visit for the food!

Overpriced compared with other places we stayed. Could do with cleaning the carpets too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAJE1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGaliniere, Owner at La Galiniere Guest Cottages, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Franschhoek is one of South Africa's premier destinations. Accommodation therefore tends to be more expensive than many other locations in the country. We believe that any search through the major booking sites will demonstrate that La Galiniere Guest Cottages provides good value for money accommodation within Franschhoek.
Franschhoek is also popular, as the guest indicates, as a food and wine destination - there are a wide variety of restaurants and wineries offering excellent, good value cuisine. However, many of our guests stay with us for long periods of time and therefore appreciate having a well-equipped kitchen, especially families with children.
We apologize the guest was not happy with the cleanliness of the carpets. The carpets in Cabernet Cottage have now been replaced throughout, as has the hall carpet in Shiraz Cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
1.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
7.6 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#16 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Galiniere Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Galiniere Guest Cottages

Property: La Galiniere Guest Cottages
Address: La Galiniere | Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Galiniere Guest Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Franschhoek Valley on a secluded boutique wine farm, La Galiniere Guest Cottages provide clean, comfortable and affordable high quality accommodation ideal for overnight and longer stays. Both self-catering cottages have two bedrooms and provide twin or king size beds. Just 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Franschhoek, you're always close to the range of shops, restaurants and attractions of this premier destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your La Galiniere Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing