We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Galiniere Guest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Could not fault the cottage at all. What a lovely home away from home. The fireplace and DSTV really makes a huge difference. Service was great everyone (including the dogs) were very friendly and helpful. If I HAVE to fault in any way, I'd say some extra bedding or an electric blanket would make the colder nights a bit more bareable though. But all in all one of the best cottages in the price range we've stayed at. Cannot wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jaci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Thank you for a magical weekend break. We were in desperate need of a get-away with our 8 month of baby. Beautiful setting, friendly people and when the extra mile. Specially bought a portable braai for us after our request.
Thank you! The Saaymans

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aneen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Weekend away,just a fun trip with girlfriend.really had an amazing time.greatvvalue for money and we will go backnthere in flash.friendly service and very nice cozy cottage with fireplace,neat and clean

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hugo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Location is Great.
Spacious...Kids loved the dogs and nut tree outside
Private....
Clean....love the white sheets
Just the shower needs to be modified as the curtain messes alot of water on the floor.


  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had a very comfortable two nights. The fireplace added to our fabulous experience. Perfectly situated to explore the town and wine farms. My children enjoyed the friendly dogs, who welcomed us every time we returned to the cottage. Will see you again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lucille V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Very peaceful, friendly, affordable and Ideal for Family.
It is clean, private and has large rooms.
Great Red Wine is included.
Suggestion: Need to get bigger TV screens.
Great Place
Highly Recommended.





  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike_99710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Everything was perfect for the stay we had at La Galiniere. Service, rooms, location, and they even gave us a complimentary bottle of their estate wine. Really enjoyed the stay.Close to Franschoek, on a wine farm, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Xander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
526 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ivy Apartments
The Ivy Apartments
#2 of 42 in Franschhoek
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Galiniere Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Galiniere Guest Cottages

Address: La Galiniere | Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: £62 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Galiniere Guest Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Franschhoek Valley on a secluded boutique wine farm, La Galiniere Guest Cottages provide clean, comfortable and affordable high quality accommodation ideal for overnight and longer stays. Both self-catering cottages have two bedrooms and provide twin or king size beds. Just 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Franschhoek, you're always close to the range of shops, restaurants and attractions of this premier destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Galiniere Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing