We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Galiniere Guest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The cottage was exactly as described and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is conveniently located within an easy walk of the restaurants and shops and although on the main road is quite quiet. A complimentary bottle of red wine from the vineyard was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for La Galiniere Guest Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Lovely atmosphere around the property. The owners left us a bottle of their own wine in each of the cottages we rented. Good value for money compared to the more central establishments but you can still comfortably walk to and from Franschhoek. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pavel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We spent a very relaxed weekend in Franschhoek, particularly enjoyed the swimming pool and shady verandah for sundowners.Would recommend particularly for self-catering, proximity to the town centre and for its privacy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janine_RSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have a number of complaints regarding our recent stay at this property.

Although the main house does have wifi, this is not on offer to visitors unless as an emergency.

There is no safe provided and the owners accept no responsibility for anything stolen - understandable, but surely a safe would at least make guests feel able to leave their valuables rather than being expected to keep them with them at all times.

We were met with 15 rules and regulations!

The note regarding the dogs and cleaning is almost offensive "If you let them in, we'll need to charge you for the cost of cleaning afterwards."

We were very upset at the state of the floors in this cottage.
As you can see from the attached photos, the living room carpet was disgustingly dirty, the floor tiles in kitchen and bathroom also very dirty, you can see a small circular patch which I cleaned with washing up liquid to show just how dirty they were. Also the bedroom carpet was very dirty particularly on each side of the bed. The runner on the dressing table also marked.

The swimming pool was green and so totally uninviting. There were only two loungers available, these were occupied when we went to the pool or had no cushions on them so not suitable for use.

On a style note, which you may or may not want to count, there was absolutely nothing in the cottage to reflect the fact it was in South Africa, it could well have been a bungalow in suburban Britain.

We strongly feel that the two organisations which recommend these cottages should re-visit them.

It is most disappointing to stay in these conditions in what is the most beautiful area of the Cape. We have been to South Africa on a number of occasions but never before been upset with our accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyAnnBroer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagaliniere, Owner at La Galiniere Guest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Wendy,
I'm sorry you felt the need to post your concerns on TripAdvisor after I had already responded to the issues you raised by email.

As indicated in my email, our property does not offer internet access on our website or in any other literature (printed or online). I therefore feel that it is unfair to criticise us for not providing a service we never offered.

We also do not state on our website or in any literature that we provide safes. Many accommodation establishments do not provide safes and this has only, this year, become a requirement of the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.

Like many other accommodation establishments we request guests to abide by a number of rules. Unlike other establishments, we chose to be transparent with these logical and reasonable requests. The rules are in place to protect us, as owners of La Galiniere, who live on the property, as well as other guests who want to ensure they are not disturbed by others.

One of the rules is that guests should not allow our dogs into the cottages. As I am sure you will understand, in inclement weather the damage caused to furnishings and carpets by wet dogs can be significant. Despite verbal requests to some guests, who have chosen our property because of our dogs, they have let the dogs into the cottages and let them lie on beds and sofas. To consider the interests and enjoyment of future guests we need to be strict in this regard. In more than three years, no other guests have commented on this request.

I already apologised by the condition of the floors and carpets in your cottage. We do our best to ensure that all carpets and brick floors are kept clean, but as you yourself should be aware, we cannot prevent spillages made by guests. I understand from our cottage manager that she had to actually clear up a spilt beer caused by someone who came to visit you at our farm. We wash all carpets on a regular basis and replace them when feasible. Two of our cottages have already had carpets replaced and the cottage you stayed in is scheduled to have new carpets this year.

Again, as explained in my earlier email to you, we were let down shortly before Christmas by the company that services our swimming pool. The majority of guests have been able to enjoy the pool on our farm and I again apologise that you were unable to on this occasion. I have received an apology from the pool servicing company and am told that it will be back to normal this week.

Regarding the loungers, we do not offer use of pool loungers on our website or in other literature. These are our personal pool loungers that guests are welcome to use. Cushions are not kept out overnight as the dogs roam the farm and we do not want them to get damaged. They were available on an unlocked stoop for your use had you wished to use them.

You booked our Merlot Cottage through our website. You therefore saw the style of the cottage before booking. I don't understand why you would comment on the interior decoration and furnishings as you had selected to stay with us based on the photos on our website.

We are fully compliant with AA and Tourism Grading Council of South Africa requirements and display our current certificates in all three cottages. As I mentioned to you before, I welcome AA and TGCSA to visit at any time during the year.

Perhaps when you stayed in South Africa before you stayed in more expensive four or five star accommodation outside of the winelands region. South Africa provides a wide range of different types of accommodation. We consider that we remain one of Franschhoek's best value for money self-catering accommodation establishments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was a comfortable place to stay. The bed in the cottage we stayed in was very good. The kithen was well equipped and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The dogs, which I was slightly concerned about (not being a dog fan) did not cause any problems and were placid. The cottage is possibly too far to feel comfortable walking back from a Franschoek restaurant in the late evening. However, we got a taxi back and it was fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The only thing I would change is the bed and pillows. Situated in very good location close to everything and very nice town and wines estates are excellent. The owner of B&B was very welcoming also the staff people. Beautiful views of the Mountain


  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank premontstjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagaliniere, Owner at La Galiniere Guest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Chantal,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a response. We appreciate the feedback. We were unaware until recently that the quality of the bed in our Cabernet Cottage had deteriorated. Another guest commented to us directly that the bed was creaking. We purchased and had a new bed delivered the same day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

loved the place needed more time to stay tho :)
heated bathroom floor was the high light for my wife and myself
combatable beds and lounge.
will definitely stay there again if I ever venture back to Franschoek

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.4 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#14 of 64 in Franschhoek
288 reviews
3.2 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#19 of 64 in Franschhoek
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Galiniere Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Galiniere Guest Cottages

Address: La Galiniere | Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: £62 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Galiniere Guest Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Franschhoek Valley on a secluded boutique wine farm, La Galiniere Guest Cottages provide clean, comfortable and affordable high quality accommodation ideal for overnight and longer stays. Both self-catering cottages have two bedrooms and provide twin or king size beds. Just 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Franschhoek, you're always close to the range of shops, restaurants and attractions of this premier destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Galiniere Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing