We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Ranked #22 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed only one night at Maison d'Ail, but we wished we had booked to stay for longer! Lovely upstairs room with large balcony and excellent view. The rooms are very nicely done up, modern, clean, a fresh colours. Very comfortable beds and great breakfast! All in all one of the best guesthouses I have stayed in for many many years!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaraBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Everything about our stay was lovely. Our room had a beautiful view and was equipped with everthing that one could need during ones stay. The beds are luxurious and comfortable, the bathrooms are spacious and clean and the interior is done very stylishly.

The guesthouse is far enough from town not to be too noisy, but close enough for a brisk walk to the centre if town.

Breakfast was delicious and staff were friendly and attentive.

If there is one thing I can comment on, that is on the negative side, it would be that the dining area is a bit stuffy and smells of the food prepared the previous day. This may be because the house was kept closed due to the cold weather.

Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolande P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Traveling with my daughter through South Africa and made this Bed and Breakfast our choice in Franschhoek. Beautiful property with large comfortable bedroom and spacious bath. Extra reading room and grounds for relaxing. Immaculate, very good location and wonderful breakfast. Enjoyed the conversation with the owners . Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Very quiet, I would think any room is wonderful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marti2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

From start to finish a great experience. Don't know if I will be staying at another guest house again unless this one is full (A worry of mine). Close to main road, great rooms, great service, great breakfast and great owners.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Like I said, you cant go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spent 3 nights in this lovely, quiet guest house. The rooms were immaculate, staff friendly and helpful and the breakfasts absolutely top notch. Nice spacious bathrooms and lovely linen too. The owners were great, giving us excellent restaurant recommendations. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarienM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dail05, Owner at Maison d'Ail Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thanks for the nice review.Hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Maison d'Ail. The room was spacious, well-decorated and clean. We hardly ever saw any other guests, which felt a little eerie, and the location is quite a long walk to the main drag in Franscchoek. Our room (room 1) had no view, which was a bit disappointing. The pool is really small and unfortunately the side that has the sun chairs (other side is a walkway into the B&B) hardly ever had sun. The breakfast was pretty good, but nothing to write home about. Overall we were satisfied by our experience, but not blown away. We'd probably try someplace else if we ever returned as there are so many beautiful guest houses in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed 3 night in Maison d'Ail in December and it was wonderful, the location is great - walking dsitance to the main road in Franschoek, where there are great restaurants. The service was excellent and the breakfast was really outstanding. On our last day we had to leave really early and they prepared a packed breafast for us which we really appreciated. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable.

The only thing I woudl not recommend is the transport option - we asked a transfer back from dinner and it was really expensive - so we just walked which was safe and free

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaCawdry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.7 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 65 in Franschhoek
664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Calais Guest House
Calais Guest House
#21 of 65 in Franschhoek
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#9 of 65 in Franschhoek
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Auberge Clermont
Auberge Clermont
#18 of 65 in Franschhoek
211 reviews
4.6 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#19 of 65 in Franschhoek
318 reviews
6.7 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 65 in Franschhoek
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison d'Ail Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison d'Ail Guest House

Address: 77 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £85 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison d'Ail Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquility of this newly established guesthouse, Maison d’Ail, owned and run by the Garlick family. Nestled under the Franschhoek mountains, this guesthouse will enable you to relax and unwind in the most tranquil surroundings.Spend your days relaxing at our pool or step out onto the bustling streets of Franschhoek and enjoy top class cuisine and wine at one of the many restaurants and wine farms in the valley.Luxury...amazing views...peace and quiet...who could ask for more? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maison d'Ail Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison d`Ail Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing