We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Ranked #19 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location and accomodation”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a super time at your Maison, beautiful breakfast, room and location. Thanks for all your help with directions to the airport. You and your wife were so friendly towards us. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    47
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
195
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poppel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

we stayed for 4 days at Franschhoek and the room was very nice with beautiful views at the mountains. Comfortable beds and a spacious bathroom. The breakfast is the same every day and strange that the staff is hanging out in the kitchen playing with the mobile phone. The owners feels for us like running a business, not feeling specials guests but 1 one of many.

Room Tip: we had room 5, upstairs with a door to a big (sheared) balcony. Beautiful views from the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girl2Poppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were a group of six ladies. We got spoiled with a great stay. Lovely setting, friendly staff, awesome views, comfortable beds and a scrumptious breakfast. A home from home. The owners, Clive and Jean, were friendly and helpful. Accommodation extremely neat, stylish and quiet. We felt blessed!

Room Tip: Upstairs room with large balcony and super views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ester J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed only one night at Maison d'Ail, but we wished we had booked to stay for longer! Lovely upstairs room with large balcony and excellent view. The rooms are very nicely done up, modern, clean, a fresh colours. Very comfortable beds and great breakfast! All in all one of the best guesthouses I have stayed in for many many years!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Everything about our stay was lovely. Our room had a beautiful view and was equipped with everthing that one could need during ones stay. The beds are luxurious and comfortable, the bathrooms are spacious and clean and the interior is done very stylishly.

The guesthouse is far enough from town not to be too noisy, but close enough for a brisk walk to the centre if town.

Breakfast was delicious and staff were friendly and attentive.

If there is one thing I can comment on, that is on the negative side, it would be that the dining area is a bit stuffy and smells of the food prepared the previous day. This may be because the house was kept closed due to the cold weather.

Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolande P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Traveling with my daughter through South Africa and made this Bed and Breakfast our choice in Franschhoek. Beautiful property with large comfortable bedroom and spacious bath. Extra reading room and grounds for relaxing. Immaculate, very good location and wonderful breakfast. Enjoyed the conversation with the owners . Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Very quiet, I would think any room is wonderful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marti2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

From start to finish a great experience. Don't know if I will be staying at another guest house again unless this one is full (A worry of mine). Close to main road, great rooms, great service, great breakfast and great owners.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Like I said, you cant go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
650 reviews
1.6 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.7 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
566 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison d'Ail Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison d'Ail Guest House

Property: Maison d'Ail Guest House
Address: 77 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison d'Ail Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquility of this newly established guesthouse, Maison d’Ail, owned and run by the Garlick family. Nestled under the Franschhoek mountains, this guesthouse will enable you to relax and unwind in the most tranquil surroundings.Spend your days relaxing at our pool or step out onto the bustling streets of Franschhoek and enjoy top class cuisine and wine at one of the many restaurants and wine farms in the valley.Luxury...amazing views...peace and quiet...who could ask for more? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maison d'Ail Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison d`Ail Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing