We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leeu House(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Franschhoek(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leeu Estates(Franschhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
239
61
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
61
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseb bgorgeous place to staythe main roadminute walkno hesitation in recommendingyogurtquiet streetevery morninghonesty barhot breakfasthigh streetfirst floorfantastic breakfastlocation is greatstandard roomrestaurant recommendations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We received a warm welcome and although our room was not ready Cecilia and Chico settled us in as best they could. The room was delightful! Amazing views and a huge balcony which was shared with other rooms though we had direct access.
Breakfast always served with a smile with a choice of fruit salad, breads, cereal or eggs.. You could also buy drinks and nibbles from the afternoon if you didn't get a chance to get your own. Fresh coffee in the room always a treat.
A little pool adequate for cooling down in the daytime and a beautiful garden to relax in.
I would stay here again...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

If you are going stay in Franschhoek then this is the place to stay. We spent 5 nights here and were looked after superbly by the friendly staff. As others have said the views from the triple aspect room (Room2) have to be seen although we did have some rain and low cloud on a couple of days which obscured the beautiful landscape that is there to behold once the clouds go away. Everything about the property is lovely and it's really fresh, clean and offers great choices for breakfast - very well presented and cooked. Given the opportunity we'll stay again. Paul & Deirdre S.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed for only a night on our journey from Cape Town to P.E however we would have stayed longer if we could!

Accommodation was superb and very tastefully decorated. Beautiful views from our balcony out across the vines and onto the mountains.

Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Location is slightly out of the centre however it was only a 5-10 minute walk and we found it to be perfectly safe.

Cecilia was great and we found the owner to be helpful when we had a query.

Room Tip: our room at the front of the building had a large balcony and excellent views
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent two nights at Maison d'Ail Guest House and regret not having stayed longer. The house is cosy, yet modern and makes one feel welcome immediately.
The rooms are beautiful with a magnificant view.
Breakfast is served on the veranda and Cecilia and her staff fulfil every culinary wish.
The hotel also has a nice garden including swimming pool and a lounge area should the wheather not permit to sit outside. A Nespresso coffee machine is for everyone's use and guests can help themselves with beverages from the fridge, simply write down your room number and what you have consumed.
In close proximity to Franschhoek's main road, Maison d'Ail is a fanstastic place to stay when visiting the winelands.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel/B&B set to a very high standard. Small hotel which made you feel very homely. Our room was stunning and the views out to the valley made our short stay perfect. The staff were very helpful. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews