We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely base from which to explore Franschhoek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House
Ranked #22 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a lovely stay- crisp linen, delicious rusks, filter coffee in the room as well as hot soup and bread alongside a roaring fire when we arrived. The breakfast was simple but delicious.

As it was our anniversary we received a gift of olives and olive oil and a discount on the rate.

The only draw back is that it is nearer to the main road than I expected (so one has traffic noise) but this means it is conveniently close to the town.

All in all it is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are probably more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyJoyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed (solo) for two nights last week, unfortunately having to hammer the laptop to complete a tight project. Cathy and Bruce seemed to understand intuitively, supplying an extension lead so I could work on the beautiful stoep, and offering glasses of wine in the evenings - as well as coffee through the day. Ideally, you wouldn't want to be cracking numbers at Goodings, but lazing around the rustic garden pool and losing yourself completely amongst the flowers while gazing at the surrounding mountains, russet vines (Autumn) and eponymous olive groves. Rooms beautifully prepared, cosy and comfortable, and also with stunning views. Excellent breakfasts offered; but the main point for me was the quiet and unobtrusive warmth of the hosts - and other staff members - that immediately made the place feel like home. Good people = good management = attentive staff = "I (we)'ll be back". Thanks to all...

Room Tip: Try Room East 3 - spectacular views up the vine-clad mountainside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Cathy and her team were extremely welcoming and the personal touches from the way your gorgeous room was prepared, to the homemade rusks and scones at the breakfast table all made for a surprisingly indulgent solo trip for me. Being a Capetonian myself, I felt enough of a sense of luxury at Goodings Groves to feel as if I was on a proper break, but importantly without breaking the bank. I'll definitely be back. Thanks Cathy and team.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarynvH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The guest lodge is a wonderful place. Good service and very quiet. Spending the day in Cape Town and coming back in the evening to this charming quiet place, is holiday pure.
The breakfast was good. A special highlight was the owner lady which was very friendly and special. She managed to give this place a special touch, also in the selection of the colors.
At our next visit, we would any time go back to this guest lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This place is so easy to find - on the left, 3km before Franschhoek on the R45.
A drawback is the long potholed drive through the olive forests, with the branches overhanging the drive, and almost scratching the paintwork of my rented car. I would have preferred to be within walking distance of the many restaurants, but this was mitigated by Cathy booking us a lovely restaurant, with a shuttle service. However, that's the end of my issues.

Everybody was so helpful, and Cathy was such a lovely and obliging hostess.
She gave us a chilled bottle of their own wine, with a bowl of the tastiest olives I've ever eaten, and when I wanted to pay, she wouldn't accept anything from us - compliments of the house.

We got a gorgeous big room with lovely views of the farm, mountains and the setting sun. The bed was very comfortable, and the silence was bliss.

Room Tip: We were upstairs on the west side, and had a fabulous view of the olive farm, with the sun setting o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinCOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We arrived into Franschhoek and found the B&B easily on the dark road into the village, situated around 5 mins out from the centre by car. 

Having drove up to the main house, we were greeted by Cathy with wine and olives, then shown to our room. The bedrooms are all accessed externally from the house, our room was on the first floor with small Juliet balcony and views across the adjacent vineyard. 

The room complemented the rustic setting, with: large comfortably furnished bed with cushions and Egyptian cotton sheets, coffee making, TV and nice touches like chocolate and fresh lavender on the pillows. 

No wardrobe, but a clothes rack sufficed, plus small safe and writing table with hair dryer.

The compact en-suite bathroom comprised a great walk-in shower with lots of fluffy white towels. 

Ths is a former working farm with high ceilings and lots of character. The main house, used as a sitting area, comprised TV and wood burner plus free WiFi, great connection but not strong enough to cover the bedrooms. 

Externally there was a small dip pool and sun loungers positioned on the rear lawn, plus a comfortable veranda seating area. Great for a glass of wine and a WiFi signal. 

This is a B&B and therefore the lack of a room fridge and room air-conditioning was not an issue. The high bedroom ceiling with roof fan meant that we didn't miss the a/c, despite the very hot February weather.

Cathy was exceptionally friendly and the breakfast was brilliant. As for Franschhoek itself, it was a small town with an abundance of amazing restaurants and coffee shops. No taxis, but Cathy organised a car for us in the evenings at a cost of £14 return, so we could take full advantage of the local wine over dinner. The best restaurants get full, so book.

We borrowed Cathy's bikes for a day and cycled over the hills and back through the town. Great. 

We would return to this great friendly setting. 

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I was at Goodings Groves in December January when the Owners and there family were staying there I cannot help but say we
all felt very uncomfortable as though we were invading someone's
private home the place was never neat and tidy we could only have a
quick dip in the pool as the family were always around the pool area
or braaing , there was no consideration for guests having a rest as
the family would shout at each other across the lawns or staff would
be  called loudly form the veranda. Impossible to watch the big screen
TV  in the lounge area for a bit of sport it was always occupied by
the family .  This experience was most uncomfortable for us and other
guests staying there at the time.
I had booked my stay already for the beginning of March this year and
paid the deposit I confirmed with the Manager that the family would
not be present. What a complete difference, greeted with a lovely cool
glass of wine and some olives shown to our beautiful clean rooms with
delicious home made goodies for us to enjoy we felt quite relaxed and
at ease being able to sit in the lounge in peace to read or out on the
veranda's with  freshly squeezed orange juice and crushed ice to cool
us down, lazing by the pool while Cathy saw to our every need making
all our reservations which were excellent choices and ensuring our
comfort at all times In my position I do a lot of travelling after the
attention we received form Cathy and her excellent eye for detail I
will most definitely be back . She is very professional and sincere in
her approach to guests . Thank you very much Cathy for making our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeukbronyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
530 reviews
1.9 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#16 of 64 in Franschhoek
294 reviews
4.0 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 64 in Franschhoek
299 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Maison d'Ail Guest House
#23 of 64 in Franschhoek
285 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#30 of 64 in Franschhoek
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House

Address: Goederust / La Motte | Main Road, R45, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £104 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gooding's Groves is an idyllic retreat, surrounded by mountains and vineyards, mere moments from the Franschhoek high street. This boutique 4* get-away is the ideal venue for anyone who wants a break from the norm, but still close to the hot spots. There are 8 beautifully appointed bedrooms in the loving-restored Manor House. Each room benefits from breath-taking views, a well-proportioned bathroom suite, Wi-Fi, DSTV, tea/coffee facilities, fans & air-conditioning, in-room safe and more. A combination of King/Queen and Twin bedroom set-up are available. There are 3 further suites in "The Cottage" and "The Barn". Tastefully decorated with high ceilings, dining areas and kitchenettes, these larger studios also benefit from private gardens and patio areas, ideal for families or independent travellers. Children & Pets: Unfortunately we cannot accommodate children in the Manor House, however well-behaved children & some dogs are always welcome in the self-catering suites!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing