We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House
Ranked #21 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My friend and I stayed just for one night in Gooding's Groves Guest House and had an incredible time. Very personal, friendly and went out of their way to help (including picking us up from town when we couldn't get a taxi!). Gave us hints and tips on where we should go in town and winerys which we wouldn't have known otherwise. Highly recommended and only regret is we didn’t stay longer.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent a few nights at Goodings Groves which was the perfect respite. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated with wonderful interesting books to read during your stay.

The breakfasts were five star scrumptious which started every day off brilliantly.

The place is ideally located on the main road but secluded from any street noise.

We shared a bottle of French bubbly with Malcolm & his lovely wife who own the establishment on New Year's Eve before heading out to one of the countless fabulous restaurants/wine farms in Franschoek :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BronnyB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I visited Gooding's Groves over the weekend and were thrilled with the accommodation and sevice. We were welcomed with a huge pot of delicious soup, and an array of accompaniments as well as really good wine. The breakfast was tasty and more than generous. Thank you to Susan, who with her gentle and easy manner, made us feel so comfortable. Mark & Coral, Cape Town. (P.S The olives grown on the farm are amongst the best we've tasted.)

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Coral L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I cannot praise the place and staff enough. Our silent wish is their command ... they seem to know before you even voice a notion. And yet still be non-invasive. Pleasant and attentive without being obsequious. We are enjoying the time of our lives here and within so many wine tastings of short walk or taxi duration (should you over-imbibe!) Extremely well managed and staffed. Highly recommended. A plus is sunshine and snow.

Room Tip: In winter ask for sunshine if you intend staying indoors and working a while, or go to the roaring w...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

What a lovely place. Comfortable and homely. Gorgeous setting and great rooms. Susan went out of her way to make the stay a memorable one. Thanks so much. A pity we could not stay for longer. Will be back and recommend you to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a lovely stay- crisp linen, delicious rusks, filter coffee in the room as well as hot soup and bread alongside a roaring fire when we arrived. The breakfast was simple but delicious.

As it was our anniversary we received a gift of olives and olive oil and a discount on the rate.

The only draw back is that it is nearer to the main road than I expected (so one has traffic noise) but this means it is conveniently close to the town.

All in all it is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are probably more private
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyJoyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed (solo) for two nights last week, unfortunately having to hammer the laptop to complete a tight project. Cathy and Bruce seemed to understand intuitively, supplying an extension lead so I could work on the beautiful stoep, and offering glasses of wine in the evenings - as well as coffee through the day. Ideally, you wouldn't want to be cracking numbers at Goodings, but lazing around the rustic garden pool and losing yourself completely amongst the flowers while gazing at the surrounding mountains, russet vines (Autumn) and eponymous olive groves. Rooms beautifully prepared, cosy and comfortable, and also with stunning views. Excellent breakfasts offered; but the main point for me was the quiet and unobtrusive warmth of the hosts - and other staff members - that immediately made the place feel like home. Good people = good management = attentive staff = "I (we)'ll be back". Thanks to all...

Room Tip: Try Room East 3 - spectacular views up the vine-clad mountainside.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
4.0 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
362 reviews
1.9 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#19 of 64 in Franschhoek
281 reviews
2.5 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#27 of 64 in Franschhoek
198 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Basse Provence
Basse Provence
#42 of 64 in Franschhoek
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House

Address: Goederust / La Motte | Main Road, R45, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £83 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GOODINGS' GROVES OLIVE FARM B&B IN FRANSCHHOEK Surrounded by mountains and olive trees in the Franschhoek Valley is the 4 Star Gooding's Groves Olive Farm and Guest House - an ideal romantic getaway for couples, pensioners and groups of guests who wants to celebrate a special event. Just three km from the centre of the historical village of Franschhoek. The restored manor house built in the Cape Victorian style as a Provencal farmhouse. Here you can relax in the comfort of any one of our eight en-suite guest rooms or semi self-catering units. Enter the warm embrace of the lounge with roaring log fire in winter. In summer the high-ceilings cools the lounge and dining room with folding glass doors that open out on to a shaded patio with our signature view over the vineyards on the mountain ranges. Gooding's Groves offers a bed and breakfast experience with a personal touch typical of the Franschhoek way of life. ROOMS IN THE MANOR HOUSE We have four rooms upstairs and four rooms downstairs. Each room has its own outside entrance and the upstairs rooms each have a julienne balcony and breathtaking views of the mountains and valley. The rooms all have en-suite shower rooms (no baths), airconditioning, heaters and ceiling fans. Three rooms with Twin/King size or single beds, four rooms with queen size beds and one room with two double beds. Free Wi-Fi and DSTV Hotel Bouquet. All rooms equipped with swimming towels, towels, gowns, hairdryer and Tea/Coffee Tray. SEMI-SELFCATERING SUITES: Four Semi Self-catering suiites with views over valley, North-facing spacious semi self-catering suites. Twin/King or Queen size beds, Open plan area with en-suite shower room, kitchen counter, lounge, dining and sleeping area. Air-conditioning or ceiling fan, WIFI, DSTV Hotel Bouquet, towels, hairdryer and equipped kitchenette. SELF-CATERING VILLA: Fully equipped 2 Bedroom House (Child Friendly) No Star Grading: Free-standing Provençal style Villa with private enclosed garden and plunge pool, French doors opening onto north and south facing verandas , spacious lounge, dining room and TV area. Fully equipped open plan kitchen with washing machine and tumble dryer. Free WIFI en DSTV Hotel Bouquet. Air-conditioning in lounge area and panel heaters and ceiling fans in bedrooms. Two en-suite bedrooms with queen size bed in each room. Main en-suite bedroom with shower and bath, Second en-suite bedroom are smaller with shower room only. BREAKFAST: A full farmhouse breakfast with a cold buffet and hot served breakfast included in all rates. CHILDREN: Unfortunately we cannot accomodate children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing