We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking views and a wonderful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Franschhoek, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
PaulRxxyy...
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Breathtaking views and a wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were very well looked after by Marlicia and her team. The cottage is superbly set up, grant bathroom and comfortable bed, with a wonderful swimming pool. The Franschhoek valley is a delightful area to spend time, walking, wineries, great food and golf. We do hope we shall return for more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel A
Devon UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Franschhoek”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We spent a lovely week at Petit Plaisir cottage . The cottage was very pretty and well equipped for self catering although we ate out at the many wonderful restaurants in Franschhoek . Malicia and her staff were excellent .We hope to return and will certainly have no hesitation as to staying at Petit Plaisir again.
If you haven't been to Franschhoek GO you will love it and be sure to stay at Petit Plaisir and have a trip on the Wine Tram.
Kind regards Malicia
From John and Hazel Allen

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingha...
nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The makings of fantastic memories”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Thank you Marcia for being so helpful without being intrusive. We will remember out first stay in Franschhoek with fondness and would love to return one day. Your accommodation is ideal in that it is far enough from the town to be quiet yet just a short and easy walk into the town. We felt very safe.

We could not recommend the whole experience highly enough.

The showers are beautiful, the white crisp cotton and the firm beds so comfortable. The little touches such as the cookies, filter coffee, fresh fruit, bottle of wine, milk and water were so welcome. Even a valentine gift was such a lovely touch.

You have lovely happy and welcoming staff.

There is a good selection of reading materials and the television service allowed my husband to catch up on his sport. The wifi was strong.

We were lucky enough to try both properties and they had everything we could need. The swimming pools and gardens are excellently kept. Because there are a few tables and chairs outside it means that each family staying can have their privacy. In the larger property there was a washing machine which was an added bonus. We will be recommending your stay to friends and family.

There are so many homely touches such as plants, pictures and everything one could need in the kitchen. We just stayed two nights but could have happily stayed for much longer.

Thank you again - money well spent.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Homeliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil, safe and beautifully presented with stunning views to the mountains”
Reviewed 13 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is the fourth time we have stayed here and it is just like returning to see family. Marlicia along with husband Louis go to great lengths to make you feel welcome and ensure that your every need to catered for, they really do go the extra mile for their guests. A very large part of the pleasure in returning to SA and Franschoeck in particular is seeing them and having the chance to share their free time, a great privalige.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby2
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What can we say, it was fantastic. Great apartment, very comfortable and well equipped, and use of a lovely swimming pool. It’s a short walk (about 10 minutes) into town, which meant that it was beautifully quiet and peaceful. Or hostess, Marlicia, was so helpful, taking us to a local restaurant and collecting us. All the little touches meant a lot - a bottle of wine in the fridge, fresh coffee, fruit and homemade biscuits.
We also visited Paarl and Stellenbosh and felt that Franschoek was by far the most attractive of the “Wineland towns”; the Wine Tram is also recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall welcome
Liked least: All good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willows6
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean accommodation and lovely friendly people”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This small property is absolutely ideal for two people. Maid service is provided and this includes laundering and ironing of clothes. The property is secure and there is access to an outdoor pool where one can lounge in a very pleasant area. The garden is beautifully maintained. Nothing is too much trouble for Marlicia, the owner, who lives across the courtyard. Wireless internet is available but we found it to be intermittent. I think the owners are keen to get this sorted out. It is a 15-20 minute walk into town which we found to be ideal for shopping and an array of good restaurants. Our favourite was Le Bon Vivant which is slightly more expensive than others, but worth the difference. There are so many wine farms within a 20 minute drive that one is totally spoilt for choice. Many have restaurants most of which are very good. A super property for two and would thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pleasant atmosphere and cleanliness of the property
Liked least: Intermittent internet access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Thanks for taking the time to do the review. Just want to inform you that the wifi is perfect now. Some incorrect setting!
Best wishes, Louis & Marlicia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David E
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Petit Plaisir Cottage for a night as we passed through Franschhoek. The cottage was great and one of the highlights of our trip. We were sad that we did not stay another night! The cottage was spacious, had a great bathroom, bed and clean kitchen. The hosts were warm and helpful.

Whilst not set on a wine farm, Petit Plaisir is perfect if you're looking to experience the little Franschhoek village being ideally located 3 blocks from the high street.

We will be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing