We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic comfortable stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Franschhoek, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

137HelenC...
Burbage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic comfortable stay”
Reviewed 1 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

What a find! Beautiful setting looking over mountains, with beautiful maintained gardens and pool. The cottage itself was well equipped, spotless and very comfortable. We really enjoyed sitting with a cup of tea/wine on the porch enjoying the quiet and watching the birds. Ten minute stroll down to the main attractions in town and an easy stagger back post-wine tram!! Marlicia was very welcoming and helpful and all the little touches were very nice, such as freshly baked biscuits and milk and water already in the fridge, you made our honeymoon stay very enjoyable so thank you!

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2018
:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daddias
Boxworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little Franschhoek cottage.”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Very welcoming little cottage in the grounds of the owners house. Marlicia was very welcoming and helpful during our stay. I can happily recommend this for a short stay in Franschhoek.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daydream6...
2 reviews
“Outstanding comfortable cotttage”
Reviewed 30 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We spent a lovely 2 days at Petit Plaisir on our trip around South Africa and would thoroughly recommend this little " treasure" Our hosts could not do enough to help us by recommending things to do and also booking restaurants and also providing a barbecue for us to try to "braii"Fantastic place and we loved the gorgeous gardens and pool. The home- made biscuits are a treat.We went on the Franschoek Wine Tram and enjoyed a great day tasting local wines with local cheese and meats surrounded by beautiful scenery. We really hope to be back soon.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2018
Thanks! Looking forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanBBB
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Perfect Cottage”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Amazing place to stay and Marlicia was very accommodation. My girlfriend and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I would highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Loved having you, best wishes, M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
937SaraK
Klemzig, Australia
2 reviews
“Most peacefully, relaxing place ever in a beautiful area of South Africa.”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Franschhoek is a very beautiful township. Petit Plaisir is the place to stay while visiting this wine region. If you are looking for a quiet restful place with some of the most beautiful native birds flying freely with excellent hosts, Marlicia & Louis who go out of their way to provide every comfort.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2017
Many thanks, we loved having you. Best wishes, M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall...
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great cottage and location in Franschhoek”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely host at a very well located, secure and pretty cottage in the heart of Franschhoek close to cafes, restaurants and shops. Excellent spot for a wineland getaway.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Many thanks, best wishes!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDSpartan
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Spacious accommodations, nice location”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Originally booked 6 nights but due to flight issues only stayed 4 nights. We were booked in the mountain view unit. The complex consists of the main house where the owner lives and several smaller units (some connected and some not), that share a courtyard/pool area. We had family stay in the larger 3 or 4 bedroom unit and another family member in a smaller unit/apartment like ours.

Our unit was a 1 bedroom with a small kitchen (no dishwasher or garbarge disposal fyi), small living room/dining area (table with 3 chairs), small sofa and chair with TV and coffee table, bedroom had queen or double bed and the bathroom was large with separate tiled shower (with great hot water) and 2 sinks and a separate soaking tub (did not use). No fireplace but a wood stove. The unit was nicely decorated.

Kitchen seemed well stocked with items. We didn't really cook other than some toast and light snacks. No central AC or Heat. We were there in winter and the place did get very cold. We had problems working the wood stove so for 3 of the 4 nights, it didn't work. 1st night was OK - but 2nd night the lighter provided ran out of lighter fluid. Asked for it to be replaced and it wasn't. 3rd night was provided some matches. Wood seemed wet and the place was smoky. There is a mini split in the bedroom area - that worked to get heat while we slept. Bathroom was cold.

Bed had nice down comforter on it, but found bed was a bed hard/firm for my liking. Plenty of closet space and a very small space for your passports. The place was very spacious and quiet. Very clean. Not really much of a view - though out of the side window you could see the mountains.

Did not use the pool (winter) nor the outdoor fireplace - though they looked nice. The grounds are very nicely landscaped. The compound is gated and you are provided with a gate opener. I did find it odd that the only way to look the door to the apartment was with the key (i.e. no deadbolt).

Owner was very nice. Has a cute puppy that was friendly. Cleaning staff - not as attentive to detail as I would have hoped. Not all towels replaced as requested.

Location was great - easy walk to the town. Felt safe. A nice bottle of wine on welcome was appreciated. There are some local craft beers in the fridge 40 ZAR with an honor bar.

It seems there are a lot of these type of guest houses in the area/town. it worked out well for a large family gathering, but still allowed space so you could have alone time if wanted.

Only complaint was that we were not given any discount for missing 2 nights. I know we had reserved them, but since the rest of the units were booked by the family, would have appreciated a small discount. As an owner of a vacation rental myself, I would have probably offered a small discount to my guests.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thanks for taking the time to do this extended review, much appreciated. I will certainly look into the couple of 'negatives" you had.
It was lovely to have you and your family next door.
Best wishes from us all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.