We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could it be as good as BICCS in Pretoria”

BICCCS Die Ou Pannekoek Huis
Ranked #41 of 75 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“could it be as good as BICCS in Pretoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

we love BICCS in Pretoria and BICCS in Franschhoek is just as good but with such a lovelier setting. Could have sat here for hours enjoying. Well done the BICCS team for this Cape outpost which is fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    34
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Chip off the old block”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Deja Vu: Waterkloof transported to Franschhoek. All the same favourites are available and the service very attentive. Try the pain au chocolat. Forti's place in the foothills needs to be a stop when entering the town. Shady off-street parking at the rear. Esspreso a must. VFM.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tkirkbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth getting up for breakfast here....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Friendly service, very clean interior, external seating under a lovely shady tree or on the couches on the terrace watching the world go by. Excellent granola, yoghurt and fresh fruit (although could do with slightly more fruit per serving if i was to grumble...) The scramlbed eggs on toast or croissant was excellent - had this twice and each time the eggs were nicely prepared. Staff very friendly and the daily news papers just help you to while away the time as you warm up to the day. Staff were very pround of their '5 Roses' teabags too. Nice looking pastries although we didn't try them ourselves.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACKC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

On holiday we stopped because we know BICCCS in Preoria! What an excellent experience, the food is even better than at the Preoria BICCS! Specials which we ordered included hake with a provencal sauce, burger (huge), roast beef sandwich (huge), authentic italian spagetti with meat sauce as well as crisp belgian waffles with wafer thin sliced fruit and gelato with maple syrup!

The food was extremely tasty, well presented and really good value for money! Service was efficient in tranquil surroundings under a large willow tree.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pangeaPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely lunch under the trees”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We had a super lunch with good service in the garden. My hearty beef soup was delicious as was the home made bread. Very good value for money - I would go back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andzgoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BICCCS Die Ou Pannekoek Huis also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to BICCCS Die Ou Pannekoek Huis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing