We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome addition to the Franschhoek scene!”
Review of Rendezvous Bistro

Rendezvous Bistro
Ranked #40 of 75 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: GlenWood's lunchtime bistro invites guests to enjoy light, original, imaginitive cuisine whilst taking pleasure in the unparalleled views of GlenWood's secluded valley and the surrounding mountains. Located next to the winery, Rendezvous offers seating for 40 people in an intimate setting, tables either inside or outside.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A welcome addition to the Franschhoek scene!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

At the breath taking setting of the Glenwood Wine estate this is a welcome addition to the Franschhoek food scene. There is no more perfect a spot for a relaxing lunch.

An uncomplicated menu with a mix of light and more substantial dishes.

We started with a complimentary tasting which helped with our choice of wine.

Wines are available at a modest corkage on top of cellar door prices.

For starters, we had a Prawn Lasagna – excellent home made pasta; and tomato and melon soup.

Mains; an excellent home made wild mushroom tagliatelle and fresh fish of the day Asian style with sticky rice.

Desert – “berry tiramisu” something quite different and very enjoyable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAtraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, food and service”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have eaten here several times now. Very relaxing and peaceful with of course beatiful views. There are many choices between a very light lunch or more substantial offerings. We will be returning.

I am not sure why - now that is no longer a sushi restaurant, the earlier reviews are here? Ignore them.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijswijk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and delicious lunch”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

It is a bit out of the village and you have to go about 2 km on a dirt road but it is worth the effort. Because it is a little bit out of the way it is quiet which suites this restaurant. We had two items from the lunch menu (seared tuna and pasta with sliced prawns) and they were excellent. While eating we enjoyed the view of the mountain opposite the restaurant. We tasted the unwooded chardonnay and it is top. I understand that the bottles for 2012 are virtually sold out and it is easy to understand why. The perfect summer wine. An added advantage it that the lunch can be combined with wine-tasting afterwards.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rijswijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Little Gem”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Living in Franschhoek it is always wonderful to discover a new dining experience and last weekend we did. A new Le Bon Vivant at Glenwood winery - we have always been big fans of Le Bon Vivant in Franschhoek and of Glenwood wines so how wonderful to enjoy them together. Great menu - whether you are looking for something light to pick on while you enjoy a Glenwood wine tasting or a full lunch- you will not be disappointed as it has the same high standards as it's big sister in the village.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vernice27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rendezvous Bistro also viewed

 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Rendezvous Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing