We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Place”
Review of La Chataigne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Chataigne
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a Place”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

A fantastic location, next to the river and in the pear trees. What a wonderful time we had sampling the wines of La Chataigne and the wonderful ambience at the cottages.
The cottage was well equipped and very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
57
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Well we're do I start. The wines tasting and the boules was brilliant. Then the cottages, they are absolutely beautiful! We loved every minute we spent on the farm and we will return when we are next in South Africa!! Thank you to the staff who were very kind and helpful!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2012

These cottages are the best value for money and most beautiful setting next to the river. Very relaxing and romantic. We bought all their wine varieties and would recommend La Chataigne to everyone looking for affordable, modern and scenic accommodation!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed at La Chataigne with family a couple of weeks ago and all of us loved it! Being in the beautiful pear orchard and positioned alongside a charming stream were idyllic. The cottage was well-equipped, clean and very comfortable. The managers were exceptional too! It's definitely a great place to base yourself for a winelands visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaSontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This cottage is lovely to say the least! I did an extensive search of affordable accommodation in the Franschhoek area and I found it quite expensive. When I finally found La Chataigne I booked it immediately! The location is perfect and the noise of the river behind the house was fabulous. I just wish we could have spend more time at the actual cottage!

At the front of the cottage you look over a vineyard and you have a lovely little stoep and at the back you have a build-in BBQ and a good size verandah with the river meters away.

The kitchen is perfect and well appointed, the bathroom has a stunning shower with good pressure and the beds are comfortable with good quality linen and duvets.

We will definitely go back in summer when the vineyard is green, with the mountains in the background it is definitely worth a return visit.

The wood for the fireplace was cut a bit too big and thick so it took all the fire-lighters to get the fire going. Might be good to request that the wood is cut a bit thinner.

Room Tip: We stayed in Oak Cottage and sleeps two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AneliGerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Gorgeous little cottages nestled on the estate. Extremely peaceful and relaxing. Furnished to an exceptionallyhigh standard and with all the facilities you could want. Definitley for a couple after a relaxing "us" stay. Owners are fantastic and friendly and I highly reccommend you buy at least a case of the rose from the vineyard which is lovely. You will need a hire car as its a little out of town but so worth it and somewhere you will want to return to again and again. On another note stunning swimming pool!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiddleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chataigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chataigne

Property: La Chataigne
Address: PO Box 7 | La Motte, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Beautiful Self-Catering Cottages, between the vineyards, and next to a river. Lovely views, excellent wines and perfect setting for total relaxation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing