We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway with the kids”
Review of La Chataigne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Chataigne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

So what do you need for a getaway with 2 toddlers? Space for them to run and corners to investigate to help get rid of their daily allowance of energy .What to the parents need ? A braai place for dad, microwave for mom to wash bottles in and a fireplace to relax with once above mentioned tots are in bed. La chataigne was all of this. We stayed in on of the 2 bedroom cottages. Both en suite. The one bathroom has a bath - perfect to clean the tods in ( or get warm in winter) while the other one has 2 showers. The decor is understated elegant. As it being winter we really enjoyed the fireplace. You can walk around on the farm and I am sure the swimming pool must be delightful in summer. It is a short drive to town and to Boschendal were we had picnic. We will definitely visit again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank estiemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

Perfect spot for a peaceful break from city life. We loved being able to relax in beautiful surroundings just a short distance from the village. The fireplace was wonderful in the cold and wet weather and the cottage was well equipped with everything we needed. We will definitely be back when we are next in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren-renb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A really delightful place to stay just outside Franschhoek, we stayed in both the one and two bedroom cottages and both were wonderful, very well equipped and in a most perfect location set amongst the pear orchards.
It was so nice to eat our own freshly cooked food for a couple of days during our six week tour of South Africa, and in such a beautiful setting with the pool close by to relax. We also enjoyed the wine tasting and the home made lemonade and marmalade that was also for sale. It was convenient for visiting the area and other wineries, but coming back to this peaceful place was just magical. Hope to be back.

Room Tip: The one bedroomed "Chestnut Cottage" was very quiet and set away from the other two cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pr_sewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

A fantastic location, next to the river and in the pear trees. What a wonderful time we had sampling the wines of La Chataigne and the wonderful ambience at the cottages.
The cottage was well equipped and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Well we're do I start. The wines tasting and the boules was brilliant. Then the cottages, they are absolutely beautiful! We loved every minute we spent on the farm and we will return when we are next in South Africa!! Thank you to the staff who were very kind and helpful!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

These cottages are the best value for money and most beautiful setting next to the river. Very relaxing and romantic. We bought all their wine varieties and would recommend La Chataigne to everyone looking for affordable, modern and scenic accommodation!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed at La Chataigne with family a couple of weeks ago and all of us loved it! Being in the beautiful pear orchard and positioned alongside a charming stream were idyllic. The cottage was well-equipped, clean and very comfortable. The managers were exceptional too! It's definitely a great place to base yourself for a winelands visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaSontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
2.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fransvliet Guest House
Fransvliet Guest House
#1 of 42 in Franschhoek
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chataigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chataigne

Address: PO Box 7 | La Motte, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Beautiful Self-Catering Cottages, between the vineyards, and next to a river. Lovely views, excellent wines and perfect setting for total relaxation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing