We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and well finished”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stony Brook Cottages
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Beautiful setting and well finished”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We are very fond of Stoney Brooke wine and was very pleased to learn that they now have cottages to rent as well.

We stayed over the long weekend and enjoyed it very much.

The cottages are well equiped and very neat and tidy.We would have loved to make use of the fire place but then had fantastic weather!!

We will surely be back as the value for money, the setting and the tranquillity is well worth it.

Thanks Nigel and Joy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WPELSER7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I was recently staying in wine country for a wedding and Stonybrook was recommended as one of the guest venues. I am so glad that it was! The area around the cottages is lovely...very hilly and quite different looking than the more flat land where my friends were staying. There's also a hike behind to a beautiful reservoir. It's close enough to downtown Franschhoek to go for a nice dinner or shopping, but it's far enough that you feel like you're out in the country. The accommodations themselves were great and very affordable. They are each outfitted with the essentials, plus a fully stocked kitchen and several braii stands (we used them, they were great).

I would advise using the GPS coordinate feature to find the place, and once you do, you'll be happy to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Highly recommended and definitely will go back. We, family of 5 (4 adults and 1 child) stayed at Stony Brook Cottages the last week of Dec 2013 to the first week of Jan 2014. The cottages are set right at the foot of the mountain, very neat and spacious and the interior design is fantastic. From time of booking, Joy stayed in touch with us and I am pleased to say both her and Nigel, their staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable and big in both cottages that we occupied and big and none of us ours. Oh and the bathrooms and showers are spacious and luxurious. The wines are great - must have/purchase. Stony Brook is one of the best self-catering venues. Definitely value for money. i loved everything about Stony Brook. Joy, Nigel and team - fantastic job. you will definitely see us again. No TV and radio - heaven.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre and children activities but the walks and swimming pool served the purpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flojoe92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I was simply blown away by the views from the Stony Brook cottages, as well as the value for money that we received on this accommodation. I travelled there with my parents and partner, and we were the only people staying at that particular time, and the sense of solitude was fantastic. The swimming pool was great, with those spectacular mountain views visible from the pool. The owner is very friendly, made even better by the fact that the wine coming from their cellar door is great! The cottage interiors are well finished & furnished in tasteful neutral tones. The bathroom was also a good size. Had good sleep there - will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missechsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at Stony Brook the weekend of 7 & 8 February, & what a hidden gem this place is. The cottage was intimate & the view sublime and our host, Joy, couldn't have been more affable & lovely from the moment I made the booking. The only real suggestions I'd have for the rooms are that of 2 wine glasses, some mosquito repellant & a small offering of long-life milk. We hadn't packed these & I thought they'd be there, but it didn't deter from out stay at all. The bedding is sublime, you don't want to get out - I can only imagine what it's like in winter - AND when one has the fire roaring. Make a point of doing a wine tasting, the 'J' & 'The Max' are 2 of their wines NOT to be missed! All in all, a wonderful, memorable stay...thank you Joy, Nigel, Max & Chelsea, & we hope to see you again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy_Knowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My stay at Stony Brook was extremely relaxing! The setting is gorgeous and secluded, so it is seriously relaxing, especially when all you can hear is the trees in the wind... and nothing else. It is also great value for money. It is situated about 2kms from the town so it is very easy to pop into town. I can't wait to go there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Wonderful views, lovely cottages nestled under the mountain and the most warm, friendly and helpful service imaginable. The perfect place for winter, with a fireplace and snuggly throws but no doubt as good in summer, with a kettle braai on the private veranda and a swimming pool right there. The banks of the stream are beautifully planted with protea and pincushion that were in full bloom when we were there. Would love to go back again and again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
647 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
2.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Auberge La Dauphine
Auberge La Dauphine
#41 of 63 in Franschhoek
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Brook Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Brook Cottages

Property: Stony Brook Cottages
Address: Stony Brook Vineyards | Green Valley Road, Franschhoek, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three of the cottages are single bedroom units that sleep two and one (Cottage 5) is larger with two double bedrooms each with its own en suite bathroom. There are basic cooking and barbeque facilities available in each of the units and there is access to a communal swimming pool. The cottages provide a perfect opportunity to experience life on a working wine farm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing