We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Franschoek Romance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fransvliet Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We truly enjoyed a wonderful stay at Fransvliet as it provides a perfect combination of Franschoek charm and modern luxuries. Nestled in the breathtaking franschoek valley, one cannot help but be enchanted by the view. We were greeted by the very hospitable Victor who provided impeccable service throughout our stay, always with a smile on his face. Breakfast was delicious- fresh fruit, museli, yoghurt & and an impecable hot breakfast with homemade ham and all. We cannot wait for the opportunity to enjoy another fabulous Fransvliet getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RilPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Maybe the nicest place i have ever stayed in my life. Just casual, elegant, beautiful...so gracious. The breakfast was exceptional, fresh, perfect....i particularly enjoyed the view from my room, up the mountains....a lovely patio to enjoy. We were here three nights but could have stayed...well, is "forever" possible? The surrounding area is fun to explore. Can't go wrong here..

Room Tip: I had shiraz, my adult children had chardonnay...both were beautiful. I think you can't go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Thank you sooo much for your wonderful compliments. You may not be able to stay forever -but we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We overnighted at Fransvliet in December and the memory of it has lingered.... The beautifully equipped rooms, the vineyards, the fynbos gardens, the balance between your privacy and yet feeling as if you are visiting old friends, the dogs, the DELICIOUS breakfasts prepared by food fundi Shirley Guy and her staff ....especially Victor is a star.... This is what heaven will be like one day!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elzane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Fransvliet Guesthouse has the potential to be a great guesthouse set in a beautiful cottage garden overlooking the vineyards and mountains however when compared to the four properties we have stayed in South Africa, the experience was average, flawed by the lack of service and attention to room detail.

There is no security on the main gate however, it appears this may be in progress. The tea tray wasn't replenished at each service. There is no telephone in the room so if you need to contact "reception" you have to use your mobile (which as an international traveller is expensive unless you have a local SIM). Reception was not attended during the day so if you need anything you have to wander around to find Victor. The room guide had little information in it regarding the services/amenities including any information on Franschoek. We found the coffee machine instruction guide on leaving when we opened the draws.

The breakfast is delicious and plentiful, an asset to this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to review our Guest House.
To answer your comments, yes the Gate/security is in progress. Regretably the municipality has prevented us from doing this to date, as they are installing a new pipeline through the farm.
There are 3 staff members around all day until 16h00 - I am sorry if you had to look for Victor, but he too works within the guest house, not just in the reception..
There is a full compliment of information on Franschhoek, and some on Stellenbosh on the display section in the dining area. In fact far to much to place in each unit.
Your tray should have had the tea replaced, but the complimentary biscuits and sweets are not usually replinished during the stay. The large sealed container of fresh milk, is also not usually replinished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Most definitely the most beautifully appointed rooms & holywood bathrooms I have ever seen. The mixture of old and modern architecture on the property works so well and the gardens are absolutely beautiful. The roses were flowering abundantly and the grassed courtyard is beautifully manicured and lush. We had 3 rooms and although they were all beautiful we loved the one on the back of the old building which had a lovely verandah with comfy chairs where we could enjoy the garden. The four rooms in the new section look onto the most beautiful indigenous gardens with so much texture and colour - an absolute delight. We will definitely return to Fransvliet on our next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobnob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed there the weekend of April 5; 2 rooms for 2 adults and 2 children (13, 10). Rooms are very nicely decorated with large bathrooms and well appointed. The rooms face a beautiful garden with the mountains as a back drop. Fantastic ambience. Breakfast is a cold buffet of cereals, fruit and cheese/breads with a special hot cooked breakfast a la Shirley Kilian. Thanks to Shirley for the stuffed mushrooms and eggs - really superb. The kids loved the breakfast juices every morning, freshly prepared. They liked the pineapple and ginger juice in particular. Thanks to Viktor for going out of his way to make the trip memorable. HIghly recommend Fransvliet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on the guest house. We enjoyed having you all for the weekend. Our juices change all the time, so do come back in another season to sample what we offer again.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We booked two nights at Fransvliet Guest House, great experience, comfortable beds with a great breakfast.

The rooms are well done and very comfortable, large bathrooms with a tub, walk in shower with ample space to sort out your luggage.

Safe in the room, wifi is complimentary but this is Africa and the Wifi is slow compared to NA Standards.

The owners great you and they are very pleasant.

I would return again and stay at Fransvliet.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and safe, nestled in the company's vineyard. All rooms are off the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guylangevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you very much for your generous praise. My whole team will be delighted to read your review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franschhoek
3.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
3.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 12 in Franschhoek
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 12 in Franschhoek
729 reviews
12.9 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
La Providence Farm
La Providence Farm
#4 of 49 in Franschhoek
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fransvliet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fransvliet Guest House

Address: R45 Huguenot Road | opposite La Motte - Leopards Leap, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: £127 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fransvliet Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fransvliet Guest House is a tranquil, luxury retreat, only 4 kilometres from the heart of Franschhoek.It is situated on a working farm, growing grapes, olives and figs. Wake up to the call of the birds and in the evening perhaps hear the resident owls calling as they contemplate the night's hunt. Breathtaking mountain views are all around, each one more spectacular than the last. The individually decorated suites are pure luxury, with absolute attention to detail. Soft wineland colours set the tone for a perfect stay. Breakfast is an occasion, every day. Spend time in the newly renovated 65 year old house, either inside or on the veranda, enjoying the view of the pool and the vineyards. Celebrate "the best meal of the day" with either a Continental or a full breakfast that will include seasonal specials. The sparkling pool is at your disposal for those hot lazy afternoons. Relax in the shade with a magazine and an ice cold drink, before you cool off. Lazy winter days are a treat too. Snuggle up in your suite in a comfy armchair with your own personal fireplace - the perfect way to enjoy one of the local bottles of red wine. Meander through the garden, (both indigenous and other) on your way to your suite. Something special will be flowering at all times. In season, luscious figs will be found on the trees, and the scent of lemons may be in the air too. Take an early morning walk around the farm in December. The vines will be green and laden with fruit. In July, a few burgundy coloured leaves and bare sticks have their own attraction. Soak up the 360° view, especially the powerful Simonsberg mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Fransvliet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing