We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fransvliet Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our stay at Fransvliet was nothing but a true pleasure. The Franshoek mountains and vineyards create the perfect phraming for this little piece if heaven! The rooms are spacious and very tastefully decorated. They are equipped with all you possibly want; even nespresso machine, iPod speakers, luscious shower gels etc. The breakfast is just insane - fresh fruit salad with yoghurt and home made granola, eggs and bread in whatever form you can imagine and freshly squeezed juice from the fruit garden. Last but not least the staff are all super kind and helpful with anything from a restaurant reservation to just a nice little chat - especially a big thanks to Vicky who made our stay extra memorable! I wish I was back already...

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you very mich for your generous praise. Everyone connected to Fransvliet is totally comitted and I am proud of my incredibe team. We look forward to your next visit.
Shirley Kilian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed here 2 nights mid december. Great place for exploring Franschhoek, spacious rooms, nice private veranda and a good pool area, serves a very good breakfast.
Next door La Maison is a must for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I went to SA for our wedding and we needed a place to stay that would accommodate our immediate family before the wedding. Well, what we didn't realize is that we were in for a real treat. All the rooms were magnificent and so incredibly large from the norm these days.
Shirley and her team made us feel at home and each night was incredibly memorable, and were professional and friendly throughout our stay.
We couldn't have been luckier to have chosen Fransvliet as our pre wedding relaxing stay and I words do not describe how fantastic it is.
Lastly, the breakfasts... Every BnB needs a good breakfast, and this was above 5 star. It was incredibly delicious and fresh. I love that the products were fresh from the region and it was so so tasty, hearty but so beautifully presented it looked like art.
It was hard to say goodbye and we hope that we will be back soon

Room Tip: Everyroom is equally as beautiful as the next!Stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

After 5 weeks of travelling through S Africa with incredible experiences and hospitality, we thought it would be hard to top, but Shirley and her team managed just that! We arrived at Fransvliet after a 26-hour-train journey from Johannesburg and it was like coming home (but the breakfasts were better, excellent in fact!) We wish we could have stayed longer - next time can never come quickly enough!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinandtuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

It was a pleasure to be able to "place the cherry ontop" of your marvellous adventure. Thank you for choosing us, and we too look forward to your return visit, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

At the end of our trip through Namibia we arrived at Fransvliet Guesthouse. South Africa. Everyone told us that there was a bad flood and windstorm the day before. But the staff was so unstressed and warm-hearted, either we could see that they had many work with the signs of the flood. Vicky and Victor...the whole staff were the so gorgeous! They recommended a lots of wine estates and restaurants! Vickys recommendations were absolutly fabulous and awesome. They payed attention without being importunately. The rooms were really comfortable and luxury especially room Shiraz. The position of Fransvliet Guesthouse being situated in the Franschhoek Valley is particular great. The breakfast is an experience and we felt like friends not like guests. Vicky and Victor thanks a lot for receiving us like friends.(Kisses at Washington) W´ll come back - sure!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Wow, thank you so much for your fantastic comments and praise. Fransvliet is fortunate to have a dedicated team, and fortunately the resuts show this. We are glad that you felt so at home, and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Fransvliet is an exceptional B & B experience in the heart of wine country, S. Africa. The reviews are more than accurate. Besides rooms with top of line emenities, incredible breakfast, & peaceful, yet convenient location with stunning views on a working farm, the staff adds the "plus" to the "A" we give this property. Victor and Vicky were helpful and informative without being intrusive. They made you feel like a friend, not a client. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A beautiful guest house in the most beautiful setting, beautifully decorated rooms with the finest attention to detail,delicious breakfasts and outstanding service!Will definetly be back!Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
3.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
3.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Boschendal Cottages
Boschendal Cottages
#5 of 43 in Franschhoek
124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#19 of 64 in Franschhoek
312 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
#7 of 43 in Franschhoek
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fransvliet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fransvliet Guest House

Address: R45 Huguenot Road | opposite La Motte - Leopards Leap, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: £125 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fransvliet Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fransvliet Guest House is a tranquil, luxury retreat, only 4 kilometres from the heart of Franschhoek.It is situated on a working farm, growing grapes, olives and figs. Wake up to the call of the birds and in the evening perhaps hear the resident owls calling as they contemplate the night's hunt. Breathtaking mountain views are all around, each one more spectacular than the last. The individually decorated suites are pure luxury, with absolute attention to detail. Soft wineland colours set the tone for a perfect stay. Breakfast is an occasion, every day. Spend time in the newly renovated 65 year old house, either inside or on the veranda, enjoying the view of the pool and the vineyards. Celebrate "the best meal of the day" with either a Continental or a full breakfast that will include seasonal specials. The sparkling pool is at your disposal for those hot lazy afternoons. Relax in the shade with a magazine and an ice cold drink, before you cool off. Lazy winter days are a treat too. Snuggle up in your suite in a comfy armchair with your own personal fireplace - the perfect way to enjoy one of the local bottles of red wine. Meander through the garden, (both indigenous and other) on your way to your suite. Something special will be flowering at all times. In season, luscious figs will be found on the trees, and the scent of lemons may be in the air too. Take an early morning walk around the farm in December. The vines will be green and laden with fruit. In July, a few burgundy coloured leaves and bare sticks have their own attraction. Soak up the 360° view, especially the powerful Simonsberg mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fransvliet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing