We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“S.A. pastoral paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fransvliet Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for six days at the beginning of our trip in South Africa and wish we had just stayed put for the duration. The farm is small and intimate and gorgeously located on the sandy banks of the Franschoek river about 5 minutes outside of town. A bit too far to walk into town but ideal for the many excellent wine estates that surround. Also perfect for getting in and out of Stellenbosh, Paarl, Sommerset W. and other surrounding communities. It's a small place so you won't be overwhelmed with other guests. Breakfasts as per other reviews are superb. Everthing is simply prepared, farm fresh and decadently rich. You won't want to be eating lunch after the morning feast. Other reviews have expounded at length on the friendliness of the staff so I won't add to it other than to say they go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant. We had several logistical problems and a cranky toddler efficiently sorted and looked after by them. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Maison next door is a great place for lunches or dinner that can be accessed by cutting through a gap in the fence. Not a bad way to get to a world-class farm-to-table restaurant. The property is still a working farm although it's had a tasteful and thoughtful re-design and renovation to make it into a proper guesthouse. This was done with style and taste and the results speak for themselves. The courtyard garden is a delight and if you take the Shiraz bungalow unit attached to the main kitchen you basically have the run of it to yourself. Book well ahead as this place seems to be exceedingly popular.

Room Tip: If it's not busy the owner might let you have a sneak peak at his vintage car collection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanghaiJululu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a wonderfully relaxing few days over Christmas at Fransvliet and our thanks go to Vicky, Victor and the team for making our stay so enjoyable. The service was really friendly, and they really went the extra mile to make sure everyone enjoyed Christmas - we even had Christmas crackers at the breakfast table, Christmas cake and a glass of bubbly!

The rooms are just lovely - beautifully styled, very well equipped, with great views across the garden and vineyard. Breakfast is fabulous and the pool area is a wonderful place to relax in the sunshine.

The location is around 4Km from Franschhoek (5 minutes drive), but there is an excellent restaurant (The Kitchen at Maison Estate) literally next door (through the fence) which is open for lunch and some evenings and several wine estates are within a few hundred metres.

Overall, I was hoping that Fransvliet would be as good as it looked, and it was!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for your comments, and we are delighted that Fransvliet lived up to your expectations.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this bed and breakfast. The guest house is set on a wine farm with a beautiful setting. It has a wonderful pool to sit at. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NooneyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Fransvliet. We are delighted that you really enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again. Come in the winter, it is so different and the fireplaces work extremely well. There is alwaysq good red wine to drink too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our stay at Fransvliet was nothing but a true pleasure. The Franshoek mountains and vineyards create the perfect phraming for this little piece if heaven! The rooms are spacious and very tastefully decorated. They are equipped with all you possibly want; even nespresso machine, iPod speakers, luscious shower gels etc. The breakfast is just insane - fresh fruit salad with yoghurt and home made granola, eggs and bread in whatever form you can imagine and freshly squeezed juice from the fruit garden. Last but not least the staff are all super kind and helpful with anything from a restaurant reservation to just a nice little chat - especially a big thanks to Vicky who made our stay extra memorable! I wish I was back already...

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you very mich for your generous praise. Everyone connected to Fransvliet is totally comitted and I am proud of my incredibe team. We look forward to your next visit.
Shirley Kilian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed here 2 nights mid december. Great place for exploring Franschhoek, spacious rooms, nice private veranda and a good pool area, serves a very good breakfast.
Next door La Maison is a must for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I went to SA for our wedding and we needed a place to stay that would accommodate our immediate family before the wedding. Well, what we didn't realize is that we were in for a real treat. All the rooms were magnificent and so incredibly large from the norm these days.
Shirley and her team made us feel at home and each night was incredibly memorable, and were professional and friendly throughout our stay.
We couldn't have been luckier to have chosen Fransvliet as our pre wedding relaxing stay and I words do not describe how fantastic it is.
Lastly, the breakfasts... Every BnB needs a good breakfast, and this was above 5 star. It was incredibly delicious and fresh. I love that the products were fresh from the region and it was so so tasty, hearty but so beautifully presented it looked like art.
It was hard to say goodbye and we hope that we will be back soon

Room Tip: Everyroom is equally as beautiful as the next!Stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

After 5 weeks of travelling through S Africa with incredible experiences and hospitality, we thought it would be hard to top, but Shirley and her team managed just that! We arrived at Fransvliet after a 26-hour-train journey from Johannesburg and it was like coming home (but the breakfasts were better, excellent in fact!) We wish we could have stayed longer - next time can never come quickly enough!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinandtuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

It was a pleasure to be able to "place the cherry ontop" of your marvellous adventure. Thank you for choosing us, and we too look forward to your return visit, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
3.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
692 reviews
3.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Providence Farm
La Providence Farm
#3 of 42 in Franschhoek
133 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Petite Dauphine
La Petite Dauphine
#6 of 42 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
3.4 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fransvliet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fransvliet Guest House

Address: R45 | opposite La Motte - Leopards Leap, Franschhoek, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: £114 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fransvliet Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fransvliet Guest House is a tranquil, luxury retreat, only 4 kilometres from the heart of Franschhoek.It is situated on a working farm, growing grapes, olives and figs. Wake up to the call of the birds and in the evening perhaps hear the resident owls calling as they contemplate the night's hunt. Breathtaking mountain views are all around, each one more spectacular than the last. The individually decorated suites are pure luxury, with absolute attention to detail. Soft wineland colours set the tone for a perfect stay. Breakfast is an occasion, every day. Spend time in the newly renovated 65 year old house, either inside or on the veranda, enjoying the view of the pool and the vineyards. Celebrate "the best meal of the day" with either a Continental or a full breakfast that will include seasonal specials. The sparkling pool is at your disposal for those hot lazy afternoons. Relax in the shade with a magazine and an ice cold drink, before you cool off. Lazy winter days are a treat too. Snuggle up in your suite in a comfy armchair with your own personal fireplace - the perfect way to enjoy one of the local bottles of red wine. Meander through the garden, (both indigenous and other) on your way to your suite. Something special will be flowering at all times. In season, luscious figs will be found on the trees, and the scent of lemons may be in the air too. Take an early morning walk around the farm in December. The vines will be green and laden with fruit. In July, a few burgundy coloured leaves and bare sticks have their own attraction. Soak up the 360° view, especially the powerful Simonsberg mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fransvliet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing