We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fransvliet Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Thank you to Shirley and her team for a wonderful stay (4 & 5 January), we found everyone at the guest house incredibly welcoming and attentive. Rooms were incredibly comfortable and the food was exceptional - lovely tasty breakfasts that were a little different from the normal 'eggs, sausage & bacon' that you usually get. Shirley made a special effort for our kids breakfasts - pancakes & French toast :-). Thank you.

The setting and location was perfect and Shirley had a HUGE amount of local knowledge to share, which was very useful!

We would love return sometime soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClanKernahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    36
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
241
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and stayed at the Fransvliet Guest House in September 2013 for 3 days and 2 nights at the end of our 2 week honeymoon. We used a travel agent based in South Africa that recommended several guest houses in the area (not Fransvliet) but after stumbling upon the Fransvliet online and after reading the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor and Facebook, we knew we just had to stay there and we are so glad we did!

The rooms are as gorgeous as the photos and the owners and staff are just as nice or even nicer than the reviews say. As foodies and Winos, we really appreciated Shirley's tips on where to eat and where to drink and her breakfasts were top notch - simple market to table ingredients prepared with love. We especially loved all of Shirley's homemade jams and preserves.

Franschoek and Stellenbosch are magical…with all the mountains and rolling hills and beautifully manicured vineyards and estates, there is truly no place like it. This guest house offered us all the comforts of a 5 star resort. The accommodations were beautifully appointed with a luxurious and comfortable bed and a large spa bathroom. We especially loved the heating pads fitted into our bed for those cold nights during winter.

All this to say, just book it, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for "stumbling upon us". We so enjoyed having you both and your food and wine enthusiasm. We also loved the fact that we were able to make your very special holiday perfect.
Do come back again to the Cape -soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nl
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We visit South Africa twice a year for almost a month, and since october 2012 we stayed many times at Fransvliet, with Shirley Kilian, her competent staff and manager Victor and John.

We love to be there, it is like feeling at home, but in a more exciting way; Shirley is a really caring person, who wants you to have a wonderful time, and she does not rest before you are happy. The breakfasts are famous now, the moment you arrive at your breakfast table, with the most wonderful view on the mountains, and the sun shining, you relax, the staff is taking care of you. everyday they make a new taste in the fresh juice, and Shirley then starts cooking for you a wonderful breakfast from the freshest eggs, fish or prosciutto you ever tasted.

All served in a very tempting way. Then she informs you about everything really worthwhile to visit, and makes the arrangements for you. It is a wonderful, a beautiful place, very nice and comfortable suites, a beautiful garden and fantastic food and hospitality.

We really wanted it to stay a secret, but we recommended Fransvliet now to so many friends, there is no secret anymore. We will visit Fransvliet in a week from now, and are looking forward to it; it will be Paradise again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eriknl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for always being marvellous guests -and we love having you, as much as you enjoy being with us. We really are looking forward to welcoming you again next week.
We have some new places to send you to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for six days at the beginning of our trip in South Africa and wish we had just stayed put for the duration. The farm is small and intimate and gorgeously located on the sandy banks of the Franschoek river about 5 minutes outside of town. A bit too far to walk into town but ideal for the many excellent wine estates that surround. Also perfect for getting in and out of Stellenbosh, Paarl, Sommerset W. and other surrounding communities. It's a small place so you won't be overwhelmed with other guests. Breakfasts as per other reviews are superb. Everthing is simply prepared, farm fresh and decadently rich. You won't want to be eating lunch after the morning feast. Other reviews have expounded at length on the friendliness of the staff so I won't add to it other than to say they go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant. We had several logistical problems and a cranky toddler efficiently sorted and looked after by them. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Maison next door is a great place for lunches or dinner that can be accessed by cutting through a gap in the fence. Not a bad way to get to a world-class farm-to-table restaurant. The property is still a working farm although it's had a tasteful and thoughtful re-design and renovation to make it into a proper guesthouse. This was done with style and taste and the results speak for themselves. The courtyard garden is a delight and if you take the Shiraz bungalow unit attached to the main kitchen you basically have the run of it to yourself. Book well ahead as this place seems to be exceedingly popular.

Room Tip: If it's not busy the owner might let you have a sneak peak at his vintage car collection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanghaiJululu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulloxhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a wonderfully relaxing few days over Christmas at Fransvliet and our thanks go to Vicky, Victor and the team for making our stay so enjoyable. The service was really friendly, and they really went the extra mile to make sure everyone enjoyed Christmas - we even had Christmas crackers at the breakfast table, Christmas cake and a glass of bubbly!

The rooms are just lovely - beautifully styled, very well equipped, with great views across the garden and vineyard. Breakfast is fabulous and the pool area is a wonderful place to relax in the sunshine.

The location is around 4Km from Franschhoek (5 minutes drive), but there is an excellent restaurant (The Kitchen at Maison Estate) literally next door (through the fence) which is open for lunch and some evenings and several wine estates are within a few hundred metres.

Overall, I was hoping that Fransvliet would be as good as it looked, and it was!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for your comments, and we are delighted that Fransvliet lived up to your expectations.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this bed and breakfast. The guest house is set on a wine farm with a beautiful setting. It has a wonderful pool to sit at. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NooneyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Fransvliet. We are delighted that you really enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again. Come in the winter, it is so different and the fireplaces work extremely well. There is alwaysq good red wine to drink too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our stay at Fransvliet was nothing but a true pleasure. The Franshoek mountains and vineyards create the perfect phraming for this little piece if heaven! The rooms are spacious and very tastefully decorated. They are equipped with all you possibly want; even nespresso machine, iPod speakers, luscious shower gels etc. The breakfast is just insane - fresh fruit salad with yoghurt and home made granola, eggs and bread in whatever form you can imagine and freshly squeezed juice from the fruit garden. Last but not least the staff are all super kind and helpful with anything from a restaurant reservation to just a nice little chat - especially a big thanks to Vicky who made our stay extra memorable! I wish I was back already...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you very mich for your generous praise. Everyone connected to Fransvliet is totally comitted and I am proud of my incredibe team. We look forward to your next visit.
Shirley Kilian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
3.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
476 reviews
8.7 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
3.3 mi away
La Providence Farm
La Providence Farm
#3 of 41 in Franschhoek
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fransvliet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fransvliet Guest House

Property: Fransvliet Guest House
Address: R45 (Hugenot Road 4km before Franschoek) | opposite La Motte - Leopards Leap, Franschhoek, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fransvliet Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fransvliet Guest House is a tranquil, luxury retreat, only 4 kilometres from the heart of Franschhoek.It is situated on a working farm, growing grapes, olives and figs. Wake up to the call of the birds and in the evening perhaps hear the resident owls calling as they contemplate the night's hunt. Breathtaking mountain views are all around, each one more spectacular than the last. The individually decorated suites are pure luxury, with absolute attention to detail. Soft wineland colours set the tone for a perfect stay. Breakfast is an occasion, every day. Spend time in the newly renovated 65 year old house, either inside or on the veranda, enjoying the view of the pool and the vineyards. Celebrate "the best meal of the day" with either a Continental or a full breakfast that will include seasonal specials. The sparkling pool is at your disposal for those hot lazy afternoons. Relax in the shade with a magazine and an ice cold drink, before you cool off. Lazy winter days are a treat too. Snuggle up in your suite in a comfy armchair with your own personal fireplace - the perfect way to enjoy one of the local bottles of red wine. Meander through the garden, (both indigenous and other) on your way to your suite. Something special will be flowering at all times. In season, luscious figs will be found on the trees, and the scent of lemons may be in the air too. Take an early morning walk around the farm in December. The vines will be green and laden with fruit. In July, a few burgundy coloured leaves and bare sticks have their own attraction. Soak up the 360° view, especially the powerful Simonsberg mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fransvliet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing