We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fransvliet Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$317
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ivy Apartments(Franschhoek)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
US$430
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$565
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$482
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
US$861
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
357
42
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
42
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morninghomemade jamsworking farmdressing areanespresso coffee machineguest houseelectric blanketshuge bathroomla mottehot breakfasttroutfruit saladwonderful weekendvery nice staylovely gardena real treatbreakfast was amazing
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I am not really sure what i can add to the rest of the reviews but i think we found the perfect place to spend 3 nights in Franschoek, our last whilst holidaying in South Africa. If you get the chance to book early enough, its worth asking Shirley where she recommends eating locally; she has some great tips not just for that but also which local vineyards are good to visit for a tasting.

Hitting the road at 5am, thanks so much for our freshly cooked croissants and packed breakfast that was left for us in our room.

I felt very comfortable staying at Fransvliet Guest House and would recommend it without a moments hesitation. Next time, for longer!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenofthebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Fransvliet. We pride our selves with the service we offer, it is good to know that our clients rnjoy this.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A home away from home with all the luxuries! Shirley and her team offer great accommodation and amazing breakfasts. The staff are very friendly.. Will definitely be back soon! My husband and travel regularly to Franschhoek and Fransfliet is without question our favourite!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya_RomSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your generous praise. Please visit us again soon - we look forward to spoiling you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We ended our trip in South Africa by staying at the best place we ever visited. Lucky us !
The room, I should say the apartment is absolutely fantastic : fireplace, flowers, Nespresso coffee machine (yes !) .. what else ?
The location is so relaxing and Shirley is always there to give infos for you to enjoy all the surroundings. With the help you get from Victor you are all set.
And let's talk about Shirley's breakfast. Why can't we have the same at home ? We will definitely have to go back to Fransvliet. We promise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schneiderparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Wow, praise indeed from someone who has France at the end of the passage. It is our pleasure to be able to make your holiday are really great experience. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Thank you to Shirley, Victor and staff. We loved every minute. Beautifully appointed comfortable rooms, the most delicious breakfasts including the best croissants I have tasted in ages and home made jams. Friendly and helpful hosts. Can't think of anything else you could ask for including magnificent views .We will be back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Fransvliet. Thank you for taking the time to comment and we look forward to welcoming you back as soon as is possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The perfect setting, perfect accommodation with a fantastic host and team. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Fransvliet and the genuine hospitality of Shirley and her team.
The most enjoyable aspect was the opportunity to get to know Shirley and her SA friends on news years day with a typical SA Braai.......thank you so much for organising.
We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future xxx

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CatherineCheshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you Catherine for taking the time and trouble to send your delightful review. I am also glad that our evening with all the guests was such a hit. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews