We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fransvliet Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$586
US$490
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Franschhoek(Franschhoek)
US$382
US$343
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$301
US$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Leeu House(Franschhoek)
US$517
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$326
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leeu Estates(Franschhoek)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
353
41
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
41
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morninghomemade jamsworking farmdressing areanespresso coffee machineguest houseelectric blanketsb bhuge bathroomla mottehot breakfasttroutfruit saladwonderful weekendvery nice staylovely gardena real treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Franschhoek in late January was astoundingly beautiful. We were blessed with absolutely perfect weather. With Shirley's help we made some advance dining plans at nearby restaurants before we arrived, and after we arrived she helped us considerably further with maps, directions, and touring advise. The breakfasts at Fransvliet itself were fantastic ---- inventive, delicious, as filling as we wanted, just right. We were concerned about one evening meal after a planned late lunch, and Shirley brilliantly suggested that her staff could arrange a cold picnic dinner for us in their dining area, which turned out to be an absolutely perfect way for us to try several bottles of wine we had picked up while visiting vineyards but not having to drive home afterwards. Shirley also advised us on a scenic route back to Capetown that had us stopping at a brilliant new french Bistro enroute. In short, our stay at Fransvliet was exceptional and memorable. We recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I must say that the holiday that my good lady and I enjoyed at Fransvliet was simply superb. It is the personal service that sets this guest house aside from others that we have visited. Shirley, Joe and their staff are the most hospitable people who know how to make you feel comfortable, welcome and relaxed.

The food is something rather special - not surprising because of Shirley's background but the attention to detail for each meal can only be summed up as 'perfect'.

The rooms are extremely comfortable and the setting, exquisite!

I have no hesitation in recommending anyone to visit Fransvliet - you will not be disappointed.

We can't wait to go back!

Guy & Caroline

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMantoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in Chenin at Fransvliet for 2 nights in May 2014 on our first trip to South Africa. Our hosts, Brian and Vicky (Shirley was away) were AMAZING!!! They were so gracious in sharing information and stories about the property and the area itself. We were also treated to a tour of Brian's wine cellar, the garage housing some of his beautifully restored vehicles and finally a tour of their residence. To top it off, on our first night we were invited to join them for a delicious dinner along with some local wines..TOO MUCH...we travel ALOT and have never experienced such hospitality!!
Breakfast each morning was delicious, starting with the fresh juice/smoothie! We ordered the "special" each morning and truly appreciated that they use ALL local ingredients. Along with this, there was a selection of breads, croissants served at the table. Cereals, meats and cheeses, fruits and yogurt all served buffet style in a lovely display. Again, Vicky and Brian were the perfect hostess/host, greeting and chatting with all the guests and offering advice about the wine farms etc in the area.
The property itself is perfection. Convenient to everywhere in the winelands, nothing was more than a 15 to 30 minute ride away. Our room, Chenin was at the end of the lodge building. Nice size patio with a couple of chairs and a table, view to the beautiful gardens straight ahead and the vineyards to the right. The room itself was immaculate..good size with the big comfy bed, a desk and a little sitting area with a couch, 2 chairs, table and the wood burning stove (which we used both nights, not because we needed it for warmth, just because!) The decorations and fabrics all top quality. Off the main room is a dressing area with a wardrobe and coffee/tea making area. HUGE bathroom with shower, large soaking tub and big double vanity (robes, slippers, shampoo etc all there too). Internet worked fine, and there is a large flat screen tv. Also of note, each room has an alarm.
Both evenings we enjoyed walking around the property, exploring their vineyards all the way down to the river. We didn't use the pool, but it looked very nice.
All in all, an incredible stay in an incredible place. Thank you Brian, Vicky, Victor and everyone at Fransvliet for our stay in a truly special place. We know we were "guests" but we felt like we were your friends!! We hope to come back one day! Dan and Suzanne

Room Tip: We peeked in all the rooms, and they all looked beautiful. We did like Chenin because it's at the end of the building, making it a little more private but you can not go wrong in choosing any of the rooms!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smok213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We chose Fransvliet as the real treat of our honeymoon, and we were not disappointed. The room and bed was huge in a clean room with a warm cozy wood burning stove to sit by with a glass of local wine. The bathroom was really big with the difficult choice between a deep long bath and a huge shower for two...lucky we had two night.
Vicky was so helpful, helping us plan our days, making the best of our time there, and finding the most beautiful views and activities to suit us.
Vic's wife is a master in the kitchen, we didn't need to eat again til late afternoon, the breakfast was supreme.
Everyone was so friendly, the room so clean and roomy, the food delicious, we would definitely recommend it to anyone and if we return to SA will be coming back for more!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Luxury friendly and very spacious in an idyllic location without being too glitzy or pretentious. The rooms are well designed suites set in an attractive separate block. You can pay a lot more for a lot less. Do you really want your own plunge pool the size of a bath for twice the price when this place has a fantastic pool you share with 5 other rooms and generally have to yourself! Shirley Victor and the team will make you feel at home with very attentive personal service. They cannot do enough for you. Amazing breakfasts with fresh produce from their own working farm! Tips and recommendations were all spot on and we found delightful places we would never of located ourselves. We cannot recommend this place highly enough and it is excellent value for money. It is a mile or so outside the centre of Franschhoek but everyone has a car and taxis are not a problem. Surrounded by good winery's within staggering distance eg La Motte. We will be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank carparkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are always making small changes, and look forward to sharing them with you on your next visit. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews