We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely charming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We chose this place as our lodging for three days in Franschoek (where we generally ate, drank and got fat).

The cottages are all very tastefully furnished and the surroundings (its a working fruit farm) are beautiful. They throw in a free bottle of wine upon arrival, a free wine tasting (all their own label) acompaned with home-grown fruit and olive oil from their own press.

A good pool for chilling when the food or summer heat becomes too much. Joey and Sacha (the dogs) complete the picture.

Only thing I might suggest is if the owners could run a shuttle into/from Franschoek as some of the dinners can get pretty boozy for drivers and the local taxis are exotortinatly expensive (200 rand for a 10 minute drive!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonnyP7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed here for one October night in the Lemon Tree Cottage. It's a 5 min drive from the centre of Franschoek and a working fruit farm. Lara and Loesje took good care of us and the (immaculately behaved) dog even sat guard outside the cottage all night. We had a wonderful log fire (it was a cold night!) and the self-catering facilities, bathroom (inc floor heating!) and living room were all perfect. La Bourgogne wine may not be a household name but they are making some great wines so take advantage of staying here by doing a tasting in the lovely tasting room/cellar in the back. The Progeny Semillon and the Rose were excellent and the Syrah looks very promising. This would be an ideal place to stay for a small group of friends, as there are several cottages, and lots of room in each to eat, drink and compare wine tasting notes. We even got a complimentary bottle of wine to get things started!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsinghabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

From the moment we arrived the staff at La Bourgogne couldn't do enough for us. From showing us around our pleasant 1 bedroomed cottage and turning on the heaters to make sure we were cosy, to driving us into town one evening to a restaurant. We felt they did everything possible to make our stay a special experience, and we cannot recommend them enough. Even Joe-Joe the dog became our guide when we went for a stroll in the vineyard, of course it helped that we were throwing his favourite stick as well!
The cottage had everything you need, including an open fire in the lounge which was very handy as the weather was quite cool in October. We were encouraged to use the facilities on the vineyard, and we enjoyed the wine and olive oil tasting with Lara.
This was our third visit to South Africa so we are used to the good standard of accommodation and friendly people, and this certainly rates among the top places we have stayed. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GLENCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Thank you Lara for a very comfortable stay over Easter. Everything about our two bedroom cottage was perfect and our only gripe was with the weather. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great place to stay in Franschhoek if you want freedom, beautiful surroundings and good value. The cottages are set amongst orchards on a working farm and you're free to roam around, enjoy the pool and take up the offer of free wine and olive oil tastings. Complimentary bottle of wine in the fridge was a nice surprise. We stayed in a two-bedroom cottage which was clean and nicely decorated. Well positioned for wineries but a bit of a walk from Huguenot Street for restaurants so consider driving/getting a taxi once dark as the road is not lit. Secure parking behind an electronic gate.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gby147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
696 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
185 reviews
2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
0.9 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne

Address: La Bourgogne Farm | Riverside Cottages, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: £45 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing