We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Relaxing and comfortable”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne in Franshoek with my husband and our 1-year old son.

Our cottage had a small bedroom (with a somewhat small bed), a nice lounge area, a well-equipped kitchen and a bathroom. The cottages are set in a nice garden with a little creek separating the cottages from the reception and wine tasting area. Riverside Cottages are conveniently located close to Franshoek but in very quiet and peaceful surroundings.

The manager was friendly and helpful - and did our laundry free of charge as we were traveling with a young child.

All in all, the place offers good value for money and even though it might not blow you away; the place offers good value for money and I would probably return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dane-in-Tanzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    21
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night, after ringing on the same day to check availability.

We cannot recommend this place enough. Lovely friendly team looking after the cottages, including a free wine tasting thrown in as part of the nights stay. We stayed in Plum cottage and it was so cosy and peaceful. Had a lovely wander around the vineyards, with Joey the Collie keeping us company the whole way! Pool is very nice, and the setting is quiet and idyllic.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_Dave10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We spent a day traveling through the Franschoek region and stayed for one night at this beautiful farm. The cottages are very well priced, and you get a complimentary wine/olive tasting plus a bottle of delicious wine! The cottages are very comfortable, complete with a lovely fireplace, braai area,a stoep overlooking the river and mountains, a a comfortable bed. Modernly furnished, clean and spacious. The service was very friendly and helpful. A wonderful place to go and rest, take a walk in the orchards and enjoy a bottle of wine next to a fire. Can't be more perfect!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the 4 bedroom cottage. All cottages look the same and has the same amazing views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anzel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Beautiful setting on the river. The cottage was very neat and well equipped, although the kitchenette was quite small. That didn't bother us because if you are in Franschhoek you eat out all the time. I mean, you are in the culinary capital of SA! But we made a braai one evening and it was great. We were four adults and one toddler and the cottage was big enough for all of us. Very comfortable. I will defnitely stay here again. Only criticism was that the couch in the lounge must be replaced with a more comfy one.
Staff and reception very friendly and we had good service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilse Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

These cottages are billed in all the promotional media as "extraordinary". Not sure why. It is cozy - read small, especially the bedroom, but cold - despite the two small heaters. Maybe consider electric blankets for the winter and a few more rugs for the very cold floor - also a hairdryer, usually standard equipment with holiday accommodation. There is little privacy - even a screen between the two cottages would have been appreciated and a blind over the front door window for the evening (privacy and helps to block out the cold) - and the cottages are not soundproof so we heard the couple chatting both in the lounge and later the evening in the bedroom. The shower is awesome and the bathroom floor is heated. Appreciated the complementary bottle of Progeny but could not get to do the wine and olive tastings as they had functions on both the Saturday and the Sunday (in that event, maybe leave tasters in the units together with the wine - we could then have ordered at the office). Super service, especially from Issy, and the morning walks were lovely especially when accompanied by the super friendly dogs and their squeeky hamburger toy. Would I stay there again? Maybe when the weather is warmer

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChazS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Beautiful, peaceful and relaxed venue. We had a mom-dad getaway for 2 days at Riverside. Very cozy self catering set-up. Nice wines and olives - the wine tasting was interesting, and the products from the farm added an extra touch, and so did Issy with her friendly attitude. And the 2 cutest dogs!

Room Tip: Cottage farthest from the road - the road can get busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnelieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivonia, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The afternoon was enchanting as we had lunch up the road at my favourite restaurant, I especially chose La Bourgogne as we did not want to spoil the meal by having to travel after, had a late afternoon swim in a really good swimming bath with loungers to soak up the sun, but had a terrible night as the double bed was just too small (I am 6'4").
The next morning I was trying to catch up on some sleep on my own in the bed whilst my lady was up and about and bumped into the manageress who inquired if all was well, she answered that I had a restless night due to the bed and left it at that, when I arose we decided we could not possibly stay another night and phoned the office to request them to make up the bill, as well cancel our reservation for the following night which they undertook to do.
We packed up and just as I was about to go down to the office to square our bill I received a call from the manageress saying that our stay was on the house, apologizing for our poor sleep the previous night. I was totally amazed and shocked at the fantastic response, I cannot commend this establishment enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KelvinZulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
647 reviews
2.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.9 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge Clermont
Auberge Clermont
#23 of 63 in Franschhoek
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne

Property: Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne
Address: La Bourgogne Farm | Riverside Cottages, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing