We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Holiday Accommodation in Franschhoek”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for a night at Riverside Cottages for a family birthday. The location is great, close to town so very convenient. The cottages are very comfortable and family friendly. There's a river and swimming pool and the cottages all have patios and garden areas. They are quite close together so nice if you're travelling with friends. The cottages don't have TV's but our cottage had a fireplace and a place to have a braai. Would definitely recommend for families or friends travelling together.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capetownjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

A great place to relax. Nice cottages with a terrace and small garden in front of it. You have a pool to swim on warm days. The dog Joey is everybodys friend and we enjoyed seeing him every morning in front of our cottage.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

2 minutes away from the main street of Franschoek, you get a small beautifully located wine farm that has wine, olive and olive oil tasting. Very hands on staff, that make you feel comfortable and relaxed, while you take in the history and wine, whilst enjoying the beautiful gardens. We stayed over at the riverside cottages for 3 nights while on honeymoon, while roughing it the previous few night, it was wonderful to stay in some luxury accommodation. Big bed, heated floors fully stoked kitchen and a wonderful little garden to enjoy our complementary bottle of wine that was provided for the honeymoon couple. I left some clothes there by mistake, and when back we got back in Johannesburg, one email later , everything was sorted out and bag of clothes is on its way back to us. Thanks for the amazing service and friendly faces. Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dierot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Riverside cottages are part of La Bourgogne farm a family owned fruit and wine farm. The cottages are very idyllic located by the river that runs through the farn hence the name. So peaceful and quiet. The best cottages to ask for are apple and plum, both are closest to the pool and river. The cottages are very well equipped and if something is missing just ask. The staff are super friendly are helpful. Their farm dogs Joey and Sacha are lovely and will be more than happy to play fetch. Do the wine tasting followed by the cheese platter best follow up ever. Riverside cottages are a must in Franschhoek .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Aatraveller03102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The riverside cottages at La Bourgogne were recommended to us by friends and we stayed for two nights. We stayed in Apple cottage, which is closest to the pool. The cottage was fairly small and basic but very clean and had everything we needed. The real beauty of La Bourgogne is the picturesque riverside location, the lovely pool and the wonderful dogs that accompany the guests almost all the time. We wanted to stay in self-catered accomodation for a bit of a change from hotels/B&Bs and for an opportunity to have a barbeque (or braii I should say). It was one of the highlights of our trip to start the braii in the early evening and sit in the garden with local wine bought on our wine tour awaiting the mouthwatering feast. Having explored Franschhoek during the day our evenings were blissfully relaxing sitting in the garden outside the cottage with the dogs. We took advantage of the complimentary wine tasting, which was lovely. We were also offered daily cleaning of the cottage during our stay, for which there was no extra charge. There was wifi internet but as it was a bit temperamental during our stay, we were not charged for it. This was a wonderful base from which to explore Franschhoek. My only reservation is that there is no airconditioning in the cottages, even in the bedroom, so it can be a bit uncomfortable during the night if the weather is very hot. There was a fan but we did not use it as it was noisy. However, this was only a minor issue for us and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maliha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed for just one night and loved it!! We were greeted by Issy with a big smile!!! Check in was a breeze! Our room was very nice and clean, had everything we needed! My 4 year old son made friends with the well trained and oh so sweet dog named Joey, the dog just made my little boys stay a blast!! We then had a complimentary wine tasting and because I am pregnant and couldn't do the wine tasting, Issy included me so much with the olives and pear tasting :) I would definitely stay again and next time for longer than just a night ;) thank-you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carey-Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed in januari 2014 two nights; cottages are cosy, well equipped and spic and span.
But I have a view points of criticism:
-The welcoming was hurried; the lady was talking in her cell phone during the reception
-We quickly unpacked and left la Bourgogne 10 min after check in for the village: when we
returned, a party of three employees waited for us in the cottage to point out that we
hadn't turn off the fan; witch they had turned on before our arrival, we never noticed!
It felt very uncomfortable to be received by such a committee.
- The web site and the Greenwood Guide refer to a complimentary olive/wine tasting:
no idea: never mentioned or offered.
- The "roof” over the terrace is (lovely) covered by vines, but during and after rain showers:
(yes it happens) you are forced to stay inside because the terrace is sodden
- You have to pay extra for the use of wood incase you use the BBQ and .. pay for the use
of internet, every time you log in!…… who wants to pays for internet these days??!!!
Every bar/terrace in Franschhoek offers free Wifi, even when you only order a glass of water
(witch you don’t, because of the great SA wines!)
Summarized: La Bourgogne is a nice place, but with a little bit more attention and service: it could be perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeaTexel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
716 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne

Address: La Bourgogne Farm | Riverside Cottages, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: £47 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing