We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Franschhoek”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This the second time we have stayed at these delightful cottages. The warm welcome by management and beautifully prepared rooms are a great drawcard. The rooms are well equipped with fine linen on the beds and were warm & cosy upon our arrival. Under-floor heating in the bathrooms and additional heaters broke the cold. The kitchenettes are sufficiently stocked with cutlery & china. A wood fire created a wonderful ambience for a mid-winter Franschhoek weekend stay. As a family group of 16 we rounded off a superb getaway weekend with a wine, olive & olive oil tasting. Besides the wonderful accommodation, we can highly recommend their superb products. We'll certainly come back to this little gem in franschhoek.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goawayindecember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBourgogne2014, General Manager at Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

It was a pleasure having you and your family with us, thank you for your great comments and boosting Issy's confidence like you did. She is very proud.

Hope to see you agian soon

Regards
The Riverside Cottages Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We arrived late from Cape Town on a Friday evening before the Bastille Festival on the weekend. Inge had waited kindly for over an hour to let us in and show us to our cottage. We were in Oak Leaf cottage which is a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom self-catering cottage with large kitchenette with all the necessary facilities and utensils. Although no oven - so don't plan on any baking. There is a 4 seater dining room table inside with a small living room area with a lovely jet master fireplace. The fireplace works very well and is not smokey at all (which we have come to discover is a problem amongst many other Franschhoek cottage fireplaces!). The cottages are freshly painted, clean and the bedding is to die for! Underfloor heating in the bathrooms and mounted wall heaters to keep the cottage cosy whilst you're out and about. There is a lovely quaint tasting room just across the wooden bridge where we were offered free wine and olive tasting. The owners friendly dogs will likely come and pay you a visit. There is a pool too which is nicely hidden from small prying eyes (the little ones) and well protected. Just a 2 minute drive will take you to the hustle and bustle of the town centre with many good restaurants - our favourite being Roca Restaurant at Dieu Donne. Book an early dinner and DON'T miss the amazing sunset opportunity from up there! It's breathtaking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoleBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBourgogne2014, General Manager at Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely reveiw we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for the great pictures you uploaded.
Hope to welcome you to the farm again in the future.

Kind Regards
The Riverside Cottages Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in Plum Cottage -
we arrived very late but was greeted by the very friendly manger that made us feel welcome, and a very friendly dog that welcomed us with a ball in his mouth and wanted to play!
we could start a fire in the livingroom as wood was provided to warm up the cottage within a short while....
cottage was cleaned daily and perfect when we arrive back after exploring the area daily.
underfloor heating in bathroom with a heater fan till the fireplace provided enough heat
wine tasting on the farm was a plus
Great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsabie789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBourgogne2014, General Manager at Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review,
Hope to welcome you to the farm soon!
Kind Regards
The Riverside Cottages Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a fabulous spot to unwind and relax. Beautifully located, surrounded by mountains and vineyards. The farm wine, olive oil and olives are delicious. Lots of stunning wine farms nearby. We stayed in Oakleaf, a two-bedroom en-suite bathroom cottage in winter, was very cosy and warm with the fire place, under-floor heating in bathrooms and fan heater. Highly recommended and great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capetown101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBourgogne2014, General Manager at Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Wow thank you very much for your great review we are very proud
Regards
The Riverside Cottages Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The cottage is very simple with concrete floors, which are too cold for winter time. Our en-suite bathroom was very basic with a single basin and no space to put your toiletries. And not sufficient warm water for all 4 of us to shower.There was no door in between the bathroom and bedroom, so no privacy.
Luckily we got a basket of wood the heat the fireplace otherwise we wouldn't have been able to warm the place, because the heater on the wall wasn't very useful.
This must be a very nice place to stay in summer when you live mainly outside, because there is a braai and a pool for only4 cottages.
There is free wifi, but the reception in our cottage was very poor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karlien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights but a week would be better to fully appreciate the peace and quiet and to see more of the area. There are 4 cottages, that appear to be identical, situated along the Breede River bank. Our cottage was spacious, offering two bedrooms, one en-suite, plus a loft area with 4 beds and there is a second full bathroom. The sitting room has a open fireplace but situated in the corner of the room so it is not possible to sit around it on a cold night. There is also a television and guests can bring their own decoder but that was the last thing we wanted. The cottages have enormous stoeps, overlooking the river and a huge built in braai. I am reluctant to criticise anything but the interior furniture was not particularly comfortable and the stoep was strangely devoid of comfortable seating, only a table and dining chairs. Our cottage was also surrounded by cows so even though the weather was on the cool side, we had loads of flies in the cottage and on the stoep. The water for washing, showering etc was very dirty and smelly but our host explained that there had been a problem with the municipal water supply before the weekend and it takes a little time for the water to clear again. There was a separate water supply for drinking, cooking etc.

I would not want to put off anyone from booking at Asher Riverside Cottages. It is perfect if you are looking for peace and quiet, like to mess about on the river, or to explore the beautiful countryside, small towns and wine farms in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for a night at Riverside Cottages for a family birthday. The location is great, close to town so very convenient. The cottages are very comfortable and family friendly. There's a river and swimming pool and the cottages all have patios and garden areas. They are quite close together so nice if you're travelling with friends. The cottages don't have TV's but our cottage had a fireplace and a place to have a braai. Would definitely recommend for families or friends travelling together.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capetownjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
2.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.9 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
#7 of 42 in Franschhoek
136 reviews
6.6 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Petite Dauphine
La Petite Dauphine
#6 of 42 in Franschhoek
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne

Address: La Bourgogne Farm | Riverside Cottages, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: £45 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Cottages at La Bourgogne 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing