We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High on reputation but........!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“High on reputation but........!”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

There is no doubt this hotel has the highest reputation in Franschhoek but we found it all a bit pretentious and over-rated.
The bedroom was nice but with almost fluorescent green and cerise touches to the furnishings and bathroom. The bed was very comfortable but on night 2 we hardly slept a wink - caused by a branch of a close-by tree banging on the roof in the strong wind. We are quite sure this wasn't the first time it had happened to that room but clearly no action had been taken to lop or top the offending branch.
Dinner in The Tasting Room was a 'work of art' and it boasted the best of South African produce - maybe so but it was so elaborate and required great verbal descriptions by the waiting staff for us to know what it was we were eating. Why produce the written menu at the end of the meal rather than the beginning!!
The award winning chef, Margot Janse, paid a cursery visit to the table - hoped we had an enjoyable meal and moved quickly on before we could respond.
Breakfast was interesting with the buffet table having different fruits in different glasses which the guests then had to empty into other plates to create their own 'fruit salad'. Another guest was taking photographs of the buffet from all angles - that was obviously what he found of greatest interest. Table service was fine but on the first morning my fried eggs were overcooked as was the bacon. A check for the breakfast was given to me to sign but when advised that I was on a Bed and Breakfast tariff I was advised it was simply to provide a gratuity.
The swimming pool area is a nice place to sit (there was no other place for guests to sit other than their rooms) and it was overlooked on 3 sides by the bedrooms.
We had difficulty on checking out - our bill included 2 nights accommodation which had been paid to our travel agent months before. It got sorted and deleted by why included in the first place.
What I would say, however, is that Linda in reception provided excellent service to my sister-in-law who was feeling unwell and which was truly appreciated.
Would we stay at Le Quartier Francais again - with so many alternatives in the town the simple answer is NO. But it was an interesting 'once only' experience.

Room Tip: Not Room 11 unless they have removed the offending branch of the near-by tree which bangs on the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonanneSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    79
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
82
342
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gorey, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We spent 2 days here as part of our honeymoon, while expensive it was WELL worth it.
The rooms were excellent - we stayed in room 2 beside the pool, it was spacious, clean and had an extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom had a great shower and the cleaning lady used to leave us love notes wishing us a good day or a good sleep in the evening.
If you stay here you MUST try the Tasting Room - 8 courses of delicious and varied food - and do go for their recommended wines with each course - well worth it

Take a wine tour - we really like the La Motte Winery - very nice setup and nice outdoor loaction

The Free wine at the pool is a really nice touch

Room Tip: Room 2 is right next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and that you appreciated our little touches.

We hope you'll join us for another stay and culinary surprise soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

A lovely hotel, that really did not feel like a hotel, more like a home. Lovely decor to our room, excellent eye for detail, tranquil colours & interesting object d'art. Nothing stuffy about this hotel, very friendly staff that showed their human side easily.
First night had a meal in the Common Room. Superb tapas style foods with knowledgable & attentive staff. Second night, were lucky enough to get a cancellation for the Tasting Room. Absolutely fantastic African Surprise Menu, 8 courses with matching wines. A must for every foodie. So many technical skills, ideas & quality base ingredients coming together in the most interesting (& whacky!) way. The meal of the holiday / year for the both of us. Staff were all knowledgable, informing & explaining, but also able to answer questions in a helpful & friendly way.
The breakfasts are something else. Such a choice, fantastic quality, & just excellent cooking executionof the hot breakfast.
Throughout our stay we were encouraged to get to know the local wines, local cheeses, sausages, apple juice etc. The menus were created around the available quality local food & drink. Wish more hotels have this pride in their local produce & sense of place.
One word of caution - do reserve a place at the Tasting Room when booking a room. It would be a great shame to stay here without fully appreciating & experiencing their culinary skills.
Will return

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, opening out on to the central garden & pool. If you are nervous ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DapD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Manager at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Thank you for your rewarding review of our hotel and the kind words surrounding our staff. We are very proud of all the aspects you mentioned and are delighted that you found such pleasure in them. Margot and her team create dishes that tantalise taste buds and the result is all the delights we are able offer. We are happy that you were able to experience out local produce and all the Winelands has to offer, it’s a cause we strongly support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

What a stunning place!!
Brilliant location,lovely people,marvellous marvellous food and super comfortable ,unpretentious stylish rooms all situated around a cute pool.
Would like to live there....

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJL802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Manager at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you return home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Such a gorgeous hotel - fantastic service, beautiful grounds and great food in the tasting restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daftlupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Manager at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
We couldn’t be more pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to have you stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We had a blissful stay at Le Qaurtier Francais. The rooms were fabulous and beautifully decorated - in fact I bought one of the pictures off the wall! The staff were outstandingly helpful and friendly and could not do enough for all of us. We did not eat in The Tasting Room, but had several delicious meals in the Common Room - it is a great concept, particularly if you have children. Do not miss the Sticky Bun icecream!

All in all, a wonderful hotel and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrix19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Manager at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we focus our attention on the smaller detail and are pleased that you we able to find something so special that you had to have... a reminder of your time spent with us. We apologise that you missed the pleasure of the Tasting Room but are delighted that you enjoyed the Common Room’s offerings. We hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high peak, derbyshire, uk
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

A lovey place to stay though the weather was such that rather than lounge by the pool we had to have the fire lit in our room (which in the circumstances was very nice). Can't blame that on the hotel though!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
650 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Property: Le Quartier Francais
Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing