We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I lost money after staying in the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I lost money after staying in the hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Apparantly, it was very stupid of me to have left my bag in the room while we went to the Tasting room and the common room for 2 consecutive nights. I didn't realize money was lost till the end of the trip, when we need to use my stack of 1000 Rand. What was left was only 8 bills of 100 rand. Lesson learnt and a reminder to anyone staying in the hotel. NEVER LEAVE UR MONEY IN THE ROOM. Otherwise the room cleanliness and service was ok.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Manager at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
All of our rooms are equipped with safes to ensure that our guests valuables can be stored securely, we are sorry that you did not make use of the one in your room. We unfortunately cannot find any record of the incident being reported but have send you message to contact us so that we can follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    77
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
81
339
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We really enjoyed our brief two night stay at this charming and cozy hotel. Our room, with fireplace on the second floor was beautiful, the bed most comfortable and the bathtub very long and deep. A lovely extra added touch was the chocolates on the beds each night and the little memos taped to the bathroom mirrors wishing us "sweet dreams". The breakfast buffet was a luxurious spread served graciously by a courteous, helpful and friendly staff. We loved the location as we could walk everywhere. We did not eat at the Tasting Room but did enjoy drinks and tapas at the Common Room. All the staff were most helpful and went out of their way to resolve anything we requested. We definitely recommend staying here. We loved it and would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us. The little touches are special and we enjoy doing them and surprising you whenever we can. Our staff pride themselves on being attentive and helpful. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We booked the restaurant several month in advance, we did not stay in the hotel.
The restaurant is ranked No 2 in Soouth Africa and 36 in the world!!!

And the nine dish dinner including wine was beyond all our expectations, just go there.
You will have a four hour experience worth every rand.

Room Tip: Book in advance otherwise you will hardly get a table!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had a super dinner in the Tasting Rooms.The meal was imaginative , the ingredients super and the cooking almost perfect. Not the best restaurant in the World we have been to but certainly the best we went to in South Africa. Yes we thought it superior to the Greehouse in Constantia because of the subtle flavours and construction/plating of the dishes. All courses had interesting accompanying wines.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

A lovely hotel in a very good location. Our first floor room overlooked the pretty gardens and swimming pool, and was huge, bright, clean and very comfortable. All staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. Bottled water was on hand at the pool and reception areas at all times which was most appreciated. We didn't eat in the restaurant but breakfast was good with plenty of choices. We would happily return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff.

Our colourful breakfast display is extremely popular and a firm favourite of guests from far and wide.

We look forward to welcoming you back, for a stay, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

As good as we have come to expect
This hotel is very well run an always pleases
Ross Long

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosslong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
167 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is a little piece of heaven in the middle of Franschhoek. As a Relais & Chateau resort, one expects a certain level of luxury and this place has it in spades. From the moment we were greeted in the parking lot, the level of service was incredible. We stayed in a room overlooking the pool with its own courtyard. There was even a resident cat that came to visit! Our large room was tastefully decorated and the bathroom was lovely. At night they put a sticky note on the mirror wishing you a good night’s sleep. A substantial and delicious breakfast was included in our rate and it was worth every calorie – fruits and scones and sticky buns to remember, hot dishes too that were delicious and different from the usual fare. My only complaint is that our room did not have a King bed – instead two twins pushed together – I did not complain about it so not sure if or how it would have been remedied. We ate dinner one night in the amazing Tasting Room… very expensive but worth every penny. After two nights I really did not want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingnurse50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Property: Le Quartier Francais
Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing