We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect.....loved the Four Quarters Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Almost perfect.....loved the Four Quarters Suite”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I booked this through Amex Platinum Travel Service under the Fine Hotels and Resorts programme and got a fabulous upgrade to a 110 sq m Four Quarters Suite.

Just 4 rooms (2 up and 2 down) around a courtyard pool and for 3 out of our 4 nights there was only us so we had the pool to ourselves. There is also a cabana like room with extra drinks in and where they serve the early breakfast items (including their famous sticky buns). The suite was gorgeous and I can imagine it being lovely in winter with the wood burning fire lit. The Four Quarters Suites have butler service, a complimentary bar (with full bottles of wine and decanters of spirits) All the staff were pleasant, our butler was outstanding - he was always around when we needed something but wasn't intrusive.

Breakfast was good but the Common Room menu wasn't really to our taste - we like tapas style food but some of the dishes don't translate well to this kind of dining.

The only let down was the Tasting Room. The food was interesting and a lot of it was technically clever but I didn't have one single WOW moment. Service was well paced for the first hour and a half but then really dragged - we knew to allow up to three hours but felt it could be comfortably reduced by half an hour - we waited twice for at least 25 mins in between courses.

Margot herself wasn't in the kitchen the night we visited. And we were there for "earth hour", which involved all of the lights going off for an hour during our meal. So a lot of the visual aspect of the meal was lost, and I am a person who also "eats with their eyes". I think these two factors combined to make it less than a perfect experience, which I expected for around £150 a head.

Location is perfect, grounds are tranquil and I will certainly go back if in Franschhoek. I recommend a drive over the top of the Franschhoek Pass in the direction of Betty's Bay for an ever changing landscape and spectacular views.

Value rated as excellent as the suite upgrade was tremendous for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedVeeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    79
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
82
342
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We spent 3 nights in LQF and had a really fabulous experiences since the beginning. The service and everything even exceed other Relais & Chateaux properties we have visited. We arrived near midnight and found out that our room was upgraded to a suite. Its atmosphere is very cozy and homey. Color tone, fabrics, amenities and facilities all together form a haven for us.

Initially, we aimed to be there to have opportunity to dine at the Tasting Room where Grand Chef Margot casts her spell every night. However, the date we arrived was the last day before its winter closing. The Quartier coordinator, Louise kindly arranged us to dine at the Owner's Dinner where we could see Chef Margot cooked the food and explained details of ingredients, her aspiration as well as the local influence on each course.

The Quartier sister restaurant, Bread and Wine, is also one of the best in town. We had lunch there and my wife had one of her best pizza. Choices of wine parings are very impressive.

Franschhoek itself is very charming small town with many top class restaurant. It is the city that you can find around 80% of South African 5-star chefs as well as unique boutique wineries. Some wineries really produce outstanding wines, particularly the whites, even though their names are not so popular.

We really had our great time there. Thanks for such a wonderful experiences.

Room Tip: Try Suite 1 of Quartier 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoda72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

My wife and I checked I at the Le Quartier Francais on 24 June 2012 to celebrate her birthday which was on the 25th. We were treated very warmly. I booked our stay there literally 2months before and everything was ready up to the last detail-the birthday surprise, mini tour of Hugenot chocolate factory, lunch at the Moreson Bread and Wine restaurant, dinner (24th) at the Common Room and dinner at Ryan's Kitchen (25th). I take my hat off to the hotel staff for the attention to detail. We both think the hotel experience and stay there was out of the ordinary. Well done guys, keep it up!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reagile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We loved Le Quartier Francais on our visit last year - it is still a benchmark in many ways, mostly for the food experience but the accommodation was equally impressive.

Accommodation:
1. In the hub of lovely Franschoek but private, quiet - a real retreat.
2. Large, tasteful 'room' (more like a mini cottage) with it's own 'garden' and 'courtyard'. Lovely staff bringing exquisite tea, aperitifs to your room.
3. Evocatively decorated in that 'African', 'Cape Dutch', 'colonial' melange of wood, redolent with mod cons.
4. Good bathroom, with the requisite number of lotions and potions
5. From the breakfast room/pool you could see up beyond the walled retreat to the range outside Franschoek. For us that meant white cloud spilling over like a table cloth, while all else was in sunlight. Exquisite.
6. Breakfast was everything fresh you could hope for plus all the hot staples and more.

The Tasting Room:
Fantastic. A fun, fun experience.
1. The food was clever, delicious, generally really well thought out flavour - AND it was fun performance art - we loved that aspect of inventiveness (if you're wanting a good, large laksa, or hearty steak, this is NOT the place for you!). The bread baked in the can was wonderful.
2. The accompanying wines, were well chosen and generally as much of a joy as the food.
3. The staff were wonderful - and I'm sure had plenty to deal with from the customers (see warning below). They were open, friendly and helpful - not at all pretentious, which often accompanies such cleverness.

WARNING: The 10 course tasting menu included 10 tasting wines. In Australia (certainly at the Royal Mail, Dunkeld) the tasting wines would be offered in a 'tasting' glass - a 'sip' or two would be the norm. Not so at LQF on our visit. Each wine glass was the size of a goblet and filled to the brim - a sight that correspondingly filled us with glee as we enthusiasticlly downed each one. By about course 3 I was '3 sheets to the wind' and definitely 'living in the moment'! Luckily we took photos of each of the following courses - a memory prompt! Equally fortunate was that we were staying in the hotel - by the end that 3 minute walk to the room was looking an awfully long way. It was a hoot and a joy on every level - I for one hope this hasn't and doesn't change!

A little expensive (happily not with the Australian exchange rate) - it was more than worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Whilst the hotel is a nice boutique hotel with a lot of characteristic and good service, it is for me just an average. In terms of the pricing, I felt it is overpriced. Actually, what made us disappointed was the meal served at the Tasting Room. I can see the executive chef is trying really hard but they just tried to be bit clever & creative and forgetting what real good food is. I however liked the small restaurant operated by the same proprietor nearby for lunch.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This Hotel is very friendly and beautifully decorated. Artists would love this hotel and Franschhoek of course. Our room was a large suite, lots of space, lovely toiletries, coffee/tea making facilities. Did not know how much it cost as our friends that own AfricaTravelResources.com booked 5 of us in for one night. The intricate details in the decor and colours used made our stay a wonderful and eyecatching experience. The pool is located in the middle of the garden around the rooms with sun loungers and the gardens are perfectly landscaped with sculptures scattered among the undergrowth. The restaurant food was varied and very tasty. The beauty room did an excellent massage. Breakfast is the best display I have ever seen in any hotel, you would want to take a picture of this. A purchase from the art studio next door is a must for a quality souvenir. This Hotel is located write in the middle of town so access to Franschhoek is easy. Visit the Saturday morning market at the church.

Room Tip: Ensure a garden view not a car park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

We loved this place. Our room was beautifully located with a view of the mountains, very spacious (we could have moved in to the bathroom quite happily) and a short walk to breakfast, which was everything you would expect from one of the top 50 restaurants of the world! The hotel, although situated at the end of Franschoek's main street, is very peaceful inside, yet within 60 seconds you are strolling down Main Street seeing the sights and shopping. We were lucky enough to try the restaurant's tasting menu on our second night, which lived up to all expectations. A fabulous experience which we can recommend wholeheartedly!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Property: Le Quartier Francais
Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing