We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in South Africa .... so far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Great accommodation with privacy in centre of town but the highlight must be the African Tasting Menu which was the second best meal we have ever enjoyed. And service by well trained but also very personable staff with whom we could enjoy a few laughs during the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

I have travelled all over the world, and never have I experienced such phenomenal service. From the moment we entered we were made to feel special. Like a true five star establishment, no small detail was overlooked. It was a romantic occasion and the chef even prepared a small anniversary cake for us, plus there were bubbles waiting in our room after the gastronomic feast we enjoyed in the Tasting Room. There is truly no other place like it in the world, from the elegant yet whimsical décor, to the warmth of the service and the cutting-edge modernist cuisine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLambert_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January. It was a treat, with an upper room overlooking the pool area. Very comfortable and the breakfasts were absolutely wonderful.
We booked The Tasting Room, knowing it was so highly rated.( 3 months waiting list apparently). It was a great experience though an expensive one!
It is well placed for walks around the town, visit the bars and restaurants, shops and sights.
We loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterPhippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you loved your breakfasts and the dinner in The Tasting Room. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I have had the pleasure of experiencing Le Quartier, and all they have to offer, on a number of occasions. The Hotel is a joy with their playful and artistic approach to decor - colorful and happy....makes the place feel alive and I found it refreshing! The Tasting Room speaks for itself - a truly special and memorable experience. The surprise tasting menu w/ wine pairings is a must!! The Common Room never disappoints for casual, tasty bites in a fun and friendly atmosphere. The staff are helpful and I love coming back and seeing the same smiling faces! Can't wait for my next visit....

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

It is a treat to have our guests return again and again and to be able to keep on spoiling them. We hope it won't be too long before you come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I have stayed at many Relais & Chateau's and either they have significantly lowered their standards, are trading on their reputation, or this property should not have their endorsement. We stayed here for 3 nights, the staff is very warm, friendly, accommodating and eager to help, which is a good thing since we found the hotel lacking in several areas. For starters, upon our arrival, nobody came out to greet us or help us with the luggage, until we got to within 3 feet of the front desk, when someone asked if they could help us with our bags.

The rooms are old, poorly designed with shabby furniture, drab colors, 1950's lighting and poorly appointed. I asked if they could provide us with a table, so we could use our computers, to which they told us that there already was a table in the room. It turned out they were right, there was an 18" high coffee table in the room (which would have meant sitting on the floor). In the end they were nice enough to provide us with an old table and chair.....it did the trick (albeit not in Relais & Chateau style).

The shower stall is a bit of a depressing affair, as was the quality of their complimentary toiletries. Worse yet, the shower volume was so low as to make it virtually impossible to wash the shampoo out of your hair in less than 10 minutes. We commented on this and they installed a new shower head which improved things to the level of "barely adequate". Next on our list of complaints were the towels, which are great if you are interested in a pealing. otherwise just ask them for the "good" towels and they will bring them straight away. If you are looking for a hair drier, you have come to the right hotel.....it is located in one of the drawers of the bed-side table and only works outside the bathroom where there are no mirrors.

After the first night, I asked if they had anything other than foam-filled pillows? Once again, they were only too happy to deliver slightly nicer pillows to the room. Had we stayed longer than 3 days, we would have considered asking if they had any comfortable mattresses, but it seemed a bit over the top and we could make due with what they provided.

Bottom line, we came away having had a nice experience in the area, but we were underwhelmed by the hotel. I would say it is 50% overpriced for what you get, old, tired and not a repeatable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omeray2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

We apologise that we did not meet your expectations and we seemed to have got it wrong from the moment you arrived till you left. Possibly the decor and look and feel of the rooms is not to your taste but we will certainly look into all the issues and concerns you raised. We certainly strive to provide a special experience and hope that on your next visit you will love your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Interesting time in this hotel which I think has probably seen better days and rests on its reputation. The location was wonderful especially for us as we didn't have a car. The food was great in the Common Room. The Tasting Room was rather pretentious although very good but extremely expensive for the general prices in SA. loved the pool and area around it.

Room was spacious but surprised there was no fridge. I enquired about the gym and they never came back to me. It didn't matter but I was surprised. I think there should be proper blinds in the room as very overlooked. The note system was very frustrating as three times we missed them!

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed pur time here but I think the place and service should be slightly sharpened up to remain a top hotel.

It was very good that as guests we were able to get in to both restaurants. One could say it is two restaurants with a hotel attached rather than the reverse.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeragLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

One of the best hotels of our Tanzania/SA trip, great service, fantastic rooms, helpful concierge, and fantastically central location. As is to be expected the food was amazing from breakfast (one of the most stunning breakfast buffets you're likely to experience) to dinner in the tasting room, probably one of the best meals ever (between us we've done a few Michelin starred joints in our time!). The bistro is also fantastic with a great range of tapas style bites and good range of wines by both glass and bottle.
The hotel kindly arranged a great days wine tasting, led and hosted by Fanny, who is wonderful...I would highly recommend asking for her by name.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabbitpearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leeu Estates
Leeu Estates
#8 of 11 in Franschhoek
92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £346 - £730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing