We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Had we had the accommodation we had booked we might have felt very differently about our stay. Instead we were lied to and too much time was spent sorting out the problem. Our two night stay was spent in two different rooms and consequently we lived out of a suitcase and never relaxed or felt comfortable about being there. Surprisingly the pillows were foam. We would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Call ahead to make sure that you have what you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Manager at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
We were so disappointed that you did not like the Double Upgrade we had given you to our Premium Suite for your entire stay. As you refused to stay in our Premium Suite we managed to make a plan for the first evening in giving you an alternative suite. We did advise you that we were unable to give the Suite for two nights and that we could move you to the room category you booked the following day. As we realized the upgrade was not for you we did offer you a lunch on a wine farm with our compliments. We hope the rest of your trip was happier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    79
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
82
342
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Le Quartier Francais in Rm#10 Feb 28th- Mar 2nd. Simply put, it was amazing. The service was exceptional, we were upgraded to a junior suite with our own private courtyard. The room was so nicely appointed. It was like being in our own private chalet. :)
We also had the pleasure of eating at their exceptional restaurants, " The Common Room" and "The Tasting Room". The food was presented in a innovative fashion, and it didn't sacrifice taste vs. presentation. The food was local, with an out of this world taste. My meal at the "Tasting Room" was the best i've had in quite some time.

I also can't say enough about the staff. They were extremely attentive to the varying food needs of my sister & I ( Vegetarian & food allergy to tomatoes ). They also went above and beyond to make sure we had breakfast the day we departed despite the fact that we were leaving at 7:00am before the restaurant would be available for breakfast. They also took time to inquire about our trip to South Africa & experiences. We also had the pleasure of meeting the management & social media team. We follow them on Twitter. :)

Again, I can't say enough about Le Quartier Francais. Simply amazing does not do them justice. I can't wait to tell everyone about this wonderful jewel. I also look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Room#10 was exceptional. Also, follow them on Twitter @lequaf to find out great information about up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is the place to stay! Service and ambiance of the establishment is second to none. Rooms furnished to a very high standard around the swimming pool. Going to this hotel is a very special treat. Local restaurants are surprisingly good value considering the up market area but you should eat in the hotel at least once

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulC2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,008 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed two nights here, plus three nights at the Franschhoek Country House. Le Quartier was by far superior. The staff was friendly and engaging, with very personal service (no checking in at the lobby; they take you directly to your lovely large room). Beautiful grounds with lots of flowers and plants, plus an inviting swimming pool. Directly in the town of Franschhoek so you can walk everywhere - shopping, restaurants, wineries. This place is managed extremely well. Breakfast is nicely done.
The restaurant was a highlight, with the South African tasting menu an outstanding evening. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with our one year old. The rooms are beautifully furnished and they really think about all the added extras - different types of pillows, homemade biscuits and smoothies every day. They even provided a welcome baby pack with bubble bath, toys etc. the pool was lovey and the garden area with views over the surrounding mountains. We ate in both restaurants and the food was outstanding and probably the best breakfasts we have ever had. Staff were really friendly especially with our son and they also provide a baby listening service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

What a wonderful place to spend a couple of nights in South Africa's beautiful winelands. The accommodation at Le Quartier is superb and surrounds a lovely pool area with attractive gardens. The rooms/suites are spacious, well appointed and really classy.
An evening in their world class restaurant The Tasting Room is a gastronomic experience to savour and even the more modest Common Room provides delicious meals in a lovely setting. The breakfast table was so colourful, and pretty as a picture - irresistible! We really can't find a single thing about this excellent little hotel to criticise and highly recommend a visit.
It's worth asking the staff about a visit to the nearby Victor Verster Prison. This is where Nelson Mandela spent his last two years in detention in a house within the prison grounds and from where he finally walked as a free man through Freedom Gate. A tour of the house is truly moving and a much more intimate experience than a trip to Robben Island.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geminitrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haywards heath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

two nights spent as part of our memorable trip to South Africa and two days and nights of great memories.
We stayed at Le Quartier last week and enjoyed 2 great nights with a superb room , spacious, quirky and luxurious and enjoyed the friendliness that abounded throughtout the resort.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, from recommending and finding restuarants, arrranging a wonderful guide for a day in the wine country. the list could go on

We enjoyed the food in the Common Room and in their sister place Bread and Wine and both were wonderful.
Breakfasts were great too and the location just off the main road, but seemingly a million miles from it was just perfect.
A great place to relax and chill out and a place to revisit as soon as we can

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussextraveller042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
647 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Property: Le Quartier Francais
Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing