We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden green oasis of calm, luxury and fantastic food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We were surprised once we entered the grounds of the hotel at just how green and peaceful it was. Oursecond surprise was that we had booked an auberge room but for some unexplained reason we were upgraded to The Pool Suite. this was a fantasic suite with a private pool in a private garden. The accommodation was luxurious with two bathrooms, a sitting room, a beautiful master bedroom and on the first floor another bedroom with three beds for children. This was beyond our wildest expectations and we were very happy with this.
The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We found out that the tasting room restaurant is one of the top 50 in the world and wanted to eat there. We were told it was fully booked but then they did manage to get a table for us. I would advise to book a table ahead of your stay if you ant to eat there. If you do manage to eat in the tasting room you will be impressed and amazed at the fantastic eight course meal. The waiters and waitresses explained every cours and made us feel very special. A fantastic experience.
The hotel is situated in a small village which has a lovely feel to it. Lovely touristy type shops with a quaint quality.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great but The Pool Suite was FANTASTIC. (No idea how much it costs though!!!)
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
There are newer reviews for Le Quartier Francais
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights at this boutique hotel. We stayed in an Auberge room - the room was amazingly spacious and beautifully furnished. We looked out over the pretty gardens and lovely pool and out across to the mountains that enclose the valley the little village sits in.

The bed was very comfortable; good quality linens on the bed in the bathroom. the bathroom was large as well.

Decent storage space; good amenities in the room.

Wonderful breakfast either in a pretty courtyard or in the casual restaurant. Helpful staff recommended and then booked a good restaurant for dinner our first evening there.

only problem we encountered was that the shower was hard to control water pressure and temperature.

Room Tip: looked to us as though all the rooms were great. we had an upper room which afforded a lovely view...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Had we had the accommodation we had booked we might have felt very differently about our stay. Instead we were lied to and too much time was spent sorting out the problem. Our two night stay was spent in two different rooms and consequently we lived out of a suitcase and never relaxed or felt comfortable about being there. Surprisingly the pillows were foam. We would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Call ahead to make sure that you have what you booked.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Manager at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

We were so disappointed that you did not like the Double Upgrade we had given you to our Premium Suite for your entire stay. As you refused to stay in our Premium Suite we managed to make a plan for the first evening in giving you an alternative suite. We did advise you that we were unable to give the Suite for two nights and that we could move you to the room category you booked the following day. As we realized the upgrade was not for you we did offer you a lunch on a wine farm with our compliments. We hope the rest of your trip was happier!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Le Quartier Francais in Rm#10 Feb 28th- Mar 2nd. Simply put, it was amazing. The service was exceptional, we were upgraded to a junior suite with our own private courtyard. The room was so nicely appointed. It was like being in our own private chalet. :)
We also had the pleasure of eating at their exceptional restaurants, " The Common Room" and "The Tasting Room". The food was presented in a innovative fashion, and it didn't sacrifice taste vs. presentation. The food was local, with an out of this world taste. My meal at the "Tasting Room" was the best i've had in quite some time.

I also can't say enough about the staff. They were extremely attentive to the varying food needs of my sister & I ( Vegetarian & food allergy to tomatoes ). They also went above and beyond to make sure we had breakfast the day we departed despite the fact that we were leaving at 7:00am before the restaurant would be available for breakfast. They also took time to inquire about our trip to South Africa & experiences. We also had the pleasure of meeting the management & social media team. We follow them on Twitter. :)

Again, I can't say enough about Le Quartier Francais. Simply amazing does not do them justice. I can't wait to tell everyone about this wonderful jewel. I also look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Room#10 was exceptional. Also, follow them on Twitter @lequaf to find out great information about up...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is the place to stay! Service and ambiance of the establishment is second to none. Rooms furnished to a very high standard around the swimming pool. Going to this hotel is a very special treat. Local restaurants are surprisingly good value considering the up market area but you should eat in the hotel at least once

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulC2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed two nights here, plus three nights at the Franschhoek Country House. Le Quartier was by far superior. The staff was friendly and engaging, with very personal service (no checking in at the lobby; they take you directly to your lovely large room). Beautiful grounds with lots of flowers and plants, plus an inviting swimming pool. Directly in the town of Franschhoek so you can walk everywhere - shopping, restaurants, wineries. This place is managed extremely well. Breakfast is nicely done.
The restaurant was a highlight, with the South African tasting menu an outstanding evening. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with our one year old. The rooms are beautifully furnished and they really think about all the added extras - different types of pillows, homemade biscuits and smoothies every day. They even provided a welcome baby pack with bubble bath, toys etc. the pool was lovey and the garden area with views over the surrounding mountains. We ate in both restaurants and the food was outstanding and probably the best breakfasts we have ever had. Staff were really friendly especially with our son and they also provide a baby listening service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leeu Estates
Leeu Estates
#8 of 11 in Franschhoek
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £331 - £726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing