We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sausages......So many places create an impression before you arrive and then leave you deflated....this place does not!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

It's the staff....and the breakfast sausage that did it for us!

So as innkeepers from an award winning inn located in Woodstock Vermont, who spend 10 months a year delighting or trying to 'wow' the travelling public, what do we seek when we travel? We seek QUIETNESS and an ability to IGNORE the travelling public. Thus we booked one of their Four Quarters suites and we simply loved it! It was very quiet and we slept well every night.

First off the bed...it was big and the linen crisp on the duvet/comforter/duna depending upon which continent you hail from. The room had space and was spotlessly clean.....I do know cleaning well as I spend 10 months a year cleaning bedrooms and bathrooms! The TV/DVD and hospitality package was great, interesting DVD's and CD's to borrow. I noticed that our DVD player was not playing audio CD's well....in a matter of hours a new DVD player appeared...now that is great service. The lights all dimmed, and there was also a wood burning fire place for the colder months

The bathroom ticked all the boxes of function and indulgence. The complimentary bar and nibbles again had thought and in particular the cider in the fridge needs a mention. Very refreshing!

Outside we had a pool, and another small pool was available in the non exclusive suite garden area. Being upstairs we had a small seating area that was discrete and private and allowed for 'in the altogether' sunbathing....rest assured I applied a lot of suncream!

Moving onto all the staff. They all seem to enjoy looking after clients and the owner Susan is visible about the place, looking, talking and making sure things are going as they should be. The staff take ownership of the task at hand, and there is not a corporate 'marketing management plan' here I feel.

So for breakfast they offer a small menu...but the food....well it reflects the other part of their business. It has been made with passion and the sausages.....oh dear.....they were simply wonderful. Why should you trust my judgement of an 'umble banger??? Well I'm a proud member of the British Sausage Appreciation Society' in fact I like to think I run a distant outpost in Vermont! These small breakfast sausages were packed with prime pork, a little thyme I think, and I would fight you for two or three! I also had a few other breakfast offerings including organic greek yoghurt and the famous 'sticky bun' and all got 10/10. The home baked bread was delicious and the croissants also got 10/10.

My only small suggestion for breakfast....offer some British style back bacon rather than the streaky.

So book and indulge as the place offers a great standard and really does undersell and over deliver.

And another small plus...the whimsical art around the place by a great metal sculptor called Uwe Pfaff was so innovative that we are probably going to order a piece for our place in the US!

You really could not fault the value offered in a very competitive hospitality location. In summary you may gather we were very impressed with place!

Room Tip: The spa treatments offer good value and all the bedrooms seem to be well placed for quietness. Most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Davidbignose!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed 3 nights in March. Hotel is right on the main street, so location s superb. The actual rooms set well back from the street (restaurant area fronts the street) set around a courtyard/pool area, so it is so quiet and provides a lovely feeling of isolation, but then you can still just walk straight out the hotel with everything on your doorstep. Rooms are lovely, we had a garden room with small outside seating area. Pool area is very relaxing and tranquil. We had our 19 month son with us and hotel provided a babysitter (owners nanny) every night (at a cost), and she was so reassuring. The staff could nit have been more friendly to us and they were so lovely with our son. The breakfast is very good, and we tried the Tasting Rooms one night, service was impeccable and the food a culinary delight. Overall, beautiful hotel, fabulous location, and lovely staff made this one of the highlights of our trip. Ps - tip, get a lunch reservation at LE Petit Ferme sat outside if you can, the views across the valley are stunning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chpthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Within 10minutes of arriving, my wife and I felt totally relaxed. I have no idea how they get it so right. Warm and welcoming staff, tranquil surroundings, a lovely garden and pool area, it just all fits so well. The rooms are huge, the beds massive, the decor fun and interesting. We highly recommend the Tasting Room for dinner, simply superb and eye opening to what fantastic creations can be made with food. Cant wait to go back, luckily its a 35 minute trip from Cape Town!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the pool suites before, and if its a special occasion, please try it! Sumptuous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FofBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We were surprised once we entered the grounds of the hotel at just how green and peaceful it was. Oursecond surprise was that we had booked an auberge room but for some unexplained reason we were upgraded to The Pool Suite. this was a fantasic suite with a private pool in a private garden. The accommodation was luxurious with two bathrooms, a sitting room, a beautiful master bedroom and on the first floor another bedroom with three beds for children. This was beyond our wildest expectations and we were very happy with this.
The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We found out that the tasting room restaurant is one of the top 50 in the world and wanted to eat there. We were told it was fully booked but then they did manage to get a table for us. I would advise to book a table ahead of your stay if you ant to eat there. If you do manage to eat in the tasting room you will be impressed and amazed at the fantastic eight course meal. The waiters and waitresses explained every cours and made us feel very special. A fantastic experience.
The hotel is situated in a small village which has a lovely feel to it. Lovely touristy type shops with a quaint quality.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great but The Pool Suite was FANTASTIC. (No idea how much it costs though!!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights at this boutique hotel. We stayed in an Auberge room - the room was amazingly spacious and beautifully furnished. We looked out over the pretty gardens and lovely pool and out across to the mountains that enclose the valley the little village sits in.

The bed was very comfortable; good quality linens on the bed in the bathroom. the bathroom was large as well.

Decent storage space; good amenities in the room.

Wonderful breakfast either in a pretty courtyard or in the casual restaurant. Helpful staff recommended and then booked a good restaurant for dinner our first evening there.

only problem we encountered was that the shower was hard to control water pressure and temperature.

Room Tip: looked to us as though all the rooms were great. we had an upper room which afforded a lovely view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Had we had the accommodation we had booked we might have felt very differently about our stay. Instead we were lied to and too much time was spent sorting out the problem. Our two night stay was spent in two different rooms and consequently we lived out of a suitcase and never relaxed or felt comfortable about being there. Surprisingly the pillows were foam. We would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Call ahead to make sure that you have what you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Manager at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

We were so disappointed that you did not like the Double Upgrade we had given you to our Premium Suite for your entire stay. As you refused to stay in our Premium Suite we managed to make a plan for the first evening in giving you an alternative suite. We did advise you that we were unable to give the Suite for two nights and that we could move you to the room category you booked the following day. As we realized the upgrade was not for you we did offer you a lunch on a wine farm with our compliments. We hope the rest of your trip was happier!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Le Quartier Francais in Rm#10 Feb 28th- Mar 2nd. Simply put, it was amazing. The service was exceptional, we were upgraded to a junior suite with our own private courtyard. The room was so nicely appointed. It was like being in our own private chalet. :)
We also had the pleasure of eating at their exceptional restaurants, " The Common Room" and "The Tasting Room". The food was presented in a innovative fashion, and it didn't sacrifice taste vs. presentation. The food was local, with an out of this world taste. My meal at the "Tasting Room" was the best i've had in quite some time.

I also can't say enough about the staff. They were extremely attentive to the varying food needs of my sister & I ( Vegetarian & food allergy to tomatoes ). They also went above and beyond to make sure we had breakfast the day we departed despite the fact that we were leaving at 7:00am before the restaurant would be available for breakfast. They also took time to inquire about our trip to South Africa & experiences. We also had the pleasure of meeting the management & social media team. We follow them on Twitter. :)

Again, I can't say enough about Le Quartier Francais. Simply amazing does not do them justice. I can't wait to tell everyone about this wonderful jewel. I also look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Room#10 was exceptional. Also, follow them on Twitter @lequaf to find out great information about up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
694 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leeu Estates
Leeu Estates
#8 of 11 in Franschhoek
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £281 - £720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing