We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, not quite excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good, not quite excellent”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The village is simply beautiful. The hotel's restaurant is superb, with delicious creative food and incredibly friendly and engaging staff. We had reserved a double room but received a twin. When we brought this to their attention they said "most of our rooms are twin". Ok but we reserved a double! They then rectified this same day but I'm still unsure of their initial apparent need to defend their mix up. The staff here were all great with the exception of one or two of the front desk staff, who could use some training or exposure to true warm South African hospitality and what this means when engaging with guests. On this basis we would quite possibly try one of the many other good properties here next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    79
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
82
342
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

An absolute privilege to have spent the weekend at Le Quartier Francais. Compromise has absolutely no place at Le Quartier, every ingredient, moment of your time and detail is cared for.
Breakfast is farm to table style and is an ensemble of the very greatest ingredients South Africa produces. Dinner at The Tasting Room is an utter master stroke, playful, genius and elegance personified. Lunch at Bread&Wine with charcuterie, cheese and bubbly was another extraordinary experience.
The whole weekend was magical and the value for time and money cannot be compared.
Thank you to the whole team, proudly South African.
Regards Tam and Fasie

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fasie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulbagh, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We loved your new wine bar - it was such a treat to indulge in such opulence. Sparking wine or cocktails? A difficult decision but we opted for the sparking wine and enjoyed that with fabulously delicious nibbles - get your head around Oreos and Crayfish and then give it a 180 degree twist to get cheesey Oreos and crayfish popcorn - a real quartier francais treat. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rache-Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had an upstairs room with a fireplace. The room was cozy and we had a fire one day it was raining. The staff was quite helpful and allowed us to stay in the room late while waiting for a ride to Cape Town. The breakfast was great and we also ate in the Tasting Room Restaurant. It was a gourmet experience for sure. The town is nice but we were bothered by a couple beggars that were very persistent. The location in town is quite good. Also had a massage in the hotel and enjoyed that as well.

Room Tip: We thought the upstairs rooms were better than the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick63119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Le Quartier Francais in the worst storms and flooding of the winter.
We were welcomed by very friendly staff and were shown to a lovely cosy room.
We had to be at a dinner that evening and discovered whilst changing, that we had no hot water in the room. The lady at reception could not have been less helpful, telling us that the water was hot, when it certainly was not. Having made a huge fuss, and having received no inspection of the problem, and no apology from the staff member concerned, the duty manager finally moved us to another room ( in the pouring rain). We were late for our dinner, and still await an apology from the aforementioned staff member.
The hotel is charming, beautifully appointed, and served a superb breakfast. What was supposed to have been a very special birthday celebration, ended up being a rather disappointing experience at what is supposed to be one of South Africa's best boutique hotels.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We are so sorry this incident ruined your weekend. We did deal with the issue on the evening and tried to rectify it but upgrading you to a suite, but obviously the damage had been done already and we hope that you will return in the future and we will be able to make sure you enjoy your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Le Quartier Francais is a wonderful place with excellent service, spacious rooms and very nice interiors. However, we were very surprised at how the manager treated us. We had booked a room for three nights at their sister hotel Delicious, but one day before arrival we were informed that they had upgraded us to Le Quartier as the Delicious was apparently not finished and opened yet. We were very happy about the upgrade (and yes, we know how to behave in expensive boutique hotels), but every time the manager saw us, we instantly had the feeling that we were not welcome. Her behaviour was simply unprofessional. To give just one example: She would come to the breakfast room, go to every table, introduce herself, shake hands with the guests but ignore us. That really was a pity, because if she wasn't there, it would have been a very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ichpackemeinekoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
We are so sorry the agent had not advised us you required a king bed and that we did not handle the request correctly. We are delighted you enjoyed the rest and when you went to bed you had the extra king bed to sleep in. We have engaged with our staff to be more receptive and interactive to the guest requests. We are sure they will impress you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed at this property in May 2013 in a upstairs room with a fireplace. The room looked like they had attempted but failed at a upgrade, the result was unattractive. The two arm chairs had soiled upholstery and the closet was a small cabinet literally. Both beds were terrible. The restaurant decor was cheep looking, staff lackadaisical, the food inconsistent. A redeeming factor about this hotel is the front desk staff who were excellent and the location. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WiakoloaWahine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Manager at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
We regret that our decor is not to your taste .
We have since your stay completed renovation to all the rooms and bathrooms that are being referred to and they will all have complimentary mini bars and nespresso machines going forward.Thank you for complimenting our front desk staff, they really do a great job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
647 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Property: Le Quartier Francais
Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing